Shows Your Kids Should Watch! - Wild Kratts

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Dadviews Picks

Shows Your Kids Should Watch!

As a parent of only one child, I feel it is a lot easier for me to keep an eye on the shows and games that my son is watching and playing. Over the years we have really tried hard to mostly watch age appropriate and educational TV shows. As many you know, this is not always an easy task. With so many adult cartoons on the air now, you do not always know at first glance that a show is for kids. And with so many channels, shows like The Walking dead, CSI and other adult geared shows could be on at any time of the day. Not just on prime time like when we were kids.

I get off work daily at 3:30pm. So Luke and I are home alone. Often we leave the TV off until after dinner, but when the TV is on I have a great opportunity to hang out with my son and help gear his interest in shows that I approve of.

With the ability of streaming devices we often pick to watch our shows at any time of the day. With so many shows out there it is hard to know what to put on. I thought that I would share some of the Dadview approved shows that are also a hit with Luke. Hopefully this will help some of you choose which shows your kids may watch.

Wild Kratts

Our current favourite show on TV is Wild Kratts. In Canada this show can be found on TVO kids but is also found on PBS in the States. Below is the description of the show found on IMDB.

Chris and Martin Kratt are brothers who explore the wild throughout the world to learn more about animals and share conservation information. They have three friends who travel in the Tortuga HQ with them named Aviva, Koki and Jimmy Z. The brothers have creature power suits that allow them to experience what it's like to be the animals they find. The team helps them by creating power suit creature disks for each animal they study. They also bring them supplies and help them out of tricky situations when their adventures get dicey. The group has to overcome villains as well, like a chef who wants to serve endangered species on his menu, or a clothing designer who wants to trap and use live animals to make her clothing line, or a tech villain who wants to turn animals into robots to do his bidding. All of the villains have no regard for nature or conservation. Wild Kratts is a great cartoon adventure show for kids where they can learn about new animals and why conservation is so important!


Now depending on your age, you may have seen the Kratt brothers on TV in the past. They used to have a kids show back in the 90s called Zoboomafoo.

The brothers take the opportunity to teach kids about wildlife. If the Wild Kratts they teach kids about different animals each week. They spend time explaining the different habitats and how animals have evolved to live in certain ones. They teach kids about conservation and how to protect these animals and their habitats. They also teach kids about the food chain and the differences between predators and prey.

My son Luke loves this show and since he has learned how to record shows, this is one that he records every day. Back in May of 2017 they came to town with a live version of the show that Luke and I went to see:

Luke Says:

"I love all the animals and the power suits"


image

Darryl (@dadview) is a loving husband and father who enjoys spending time with his family no matter the activity.
He is an active member of The Alliance and teamcanada
Check out one of my Recent Blogs


If you enjoyed this post, please up-vote and/or Follow @dadview on Steemit

Sort:  

Will suggest Wild Kratts to my small cousin

Hopefully they can get it. It is a fun show, and educational.

Well have to check this out, we usually watch YouTube or Netflix. Its sometimes easy to find some eductional stuff on YouTube but also a lot of trash

I would have to double check... but them may have some episodes on the TVO kids website.

My younger brother loves watching widelive, I will suggest wild kratts to him... Nice post friend.. It's been long on here, I guess you are busy hmm

Yes, it has been a busy week for me!

I thought as much

Caleb loves the Wild Kratts! I remember watching them as Zaboomafoo....if that doesn’t show my age. 😂 Zaboo will always be my favorite.

I have a hard time finding a good stream for Zamboomafoo. I may try to order the DVD set.

It's an endless loop of Thomas the Tank Engine reruns for me lol. I'll try to look that show up on YouTube and see if they'll like it! Thank you.

Yes, I remember the Thomas days.....

Man my kids love Wild Kratts and thay learned all kinds animal abilities. It's a good show I also recommend too others her in Croatia.

Thanks for stopping by!
Glad to hear someone else loves it too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40