Show Us Your California - Week 15 - Crunching Some 092283753108’ssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mycalifornia5 years ago (edited)

I had a car payment once, I was 18 years old. Like anyone who’s ever been 18, I was understandably stupid. I used one of my street bikes as a down payment on a 1993 Ford Thunderbird with a supercharged V-6. That car was so fast!! It’s still the fastest car I’ve ever owned. It was black, fully-loaded, moonroof, all of the bells and whistles.

66571B07-8839-4211-872F-B68903B1AA81.jpeg

pixabay

It was my first and only car payment, everyone had car payments. My mother and her husband each had car payments, my uncles, friends, friends’ parents etc. everybody had/has car payments—it was/is nromal. I still remember the book of payment slips I was issued; I would tear the newest one out each month and send it, along with a check for $223, to NuVision Financial Group in Orange County, California. I think I made five payments on that car, six at the most, then I listed it for sale and got rid of it. Here we are, 26 years later, I haven’t had a car payment since. I taught myself at a young age—vehicles make money, not take money. That was roughly 26 years ago, $223 won’t cover registration fees on a new vehicle today and you’re lucky if it affords liability-only insurance coverage for the next 60 days in the states. I have friends who believe a $700/month car payment is nomral.

I recently settled another toll-violation I received in the mail. They’re not called “fees” or “notices” anymore, now the fee/notice is called a ”violation.” It costs $12 in tolls violations to make a 200 mile round trip from Los Angeles to San Diego—$6 each way. What happens is; you drive through a camera booth and, as you pass through, a picture is taken of your license plate and you’ll receive a bill violation in the mail shortly thereafter. I paid the $12 in violations online. Then I thought about the gas, parking, insurance, and everything else required to operate a motor vehicle and the trip from Los Angeles to San Diego is quite a bit more than $12. I’m curious to know how much those three hours cost a Southern California resident. This article has:
266DF5D3-6977-45B2-8F8F-693D01EF5AFB.jpeg

Written all over it!

The vehicle we just traded when we left the US for $USD and 8,837.109 #steem was a commuter, it’s made for long distance driving and gets stellar gas mileage. It wasn’t brand new either so the insurance was reasonable and registration, although increased by $70 in January of 2018 in California, was still manageable. It was paid for too, hmm. 🤔... That car isn’t going to work for this demonstration!

I like analyzing statistics and study type, in depth, figuring stuff out type of research projects anyway, I have an idea. 💡 Let’s take a look at the top selling car and truck from each engine class and figure out how much it actually cost to drive a #new vehicle in Southern California from Los Angeles to San Diego and back—a 200 mile round trip.

31CB753B-A373-449B-87F8-28476AC8AF77.jpeg

pixabay

V-8

According to car and driver, the Ford F-250 Super Duty is the top selling V8 truck in USA. According to this article from US News, the Chevy Camaro is the top selling V8 sports car.

V-6

This Carmax article has the Ford F-150 XLT leading the industry in pick-up sales. This article, written by Business Insider, lists the Toyota Camry XSE as the top selling vehicle in its class.

4 Cylinder

Toyota Tacoma is the best selling mid-size truck in USA according to this article from I See Cars. This article from car dot com lists the Toyota Corolla as USA’s top selling compact car.

Now that we have the makes and models of USA’s best selling vehicles, let’s figure out exactly how much it costs these vehicles to be on Interstate 15 for a maximum of three hours.

A9F8441D-6E31-4336-881C-9E66E0714A83.jpeg

pixabay

For each of these examples I’ll use a 4.5% annual percentage rate (APR) for the interest applied to the car loan. Most Americans won’t qualify under 7n1/4% but, for the consistency of this article, I’ll keep financing at 4n1/2%. Financing extends as far as seven years in the US but 72 months (5 years) is the most common, for that reason, I’ll factor each of these vehicles at 72 months. I’ll link all of the sources I used and explain how I reached my figures on the first vehicle, for the remaining five, I’ll just plug in the numbers. Thanks for stopping by!

V-8:

2019 Ford F-250 Super Duty XLT. $37k x 10n1/4% in taxes and registration fees and the total price of this truck is $41k (37k x 10.25% = $3,885 + 37k = 41k). With an APR locked in at 4.5%, your yearly interest is $1,845. Multiply that five times (72 months) and you’ll reach a total of $9,225 in taxes. The balance of the truck plus taxes and fees is $48,225. The balance of the loan divided by the total number of months (72) required to pay off the vehicle equals a minimum monthly payment of $670. I plugged in my age, the year of the vehicle, my marital status, and everything else required by Liberty Mutual Insurance in order to receive an auto insurance quote:

CC7577F5-C74D-4BB1-9E9C-88DA302E6F8C.jpeg

Liberty Mutual Insurance quote

$670/month + monthly insurance premiums and your new truck payment equals $977/month. Annual vehicle registration for this truck will cost $578/year (or) $20/month for a minimum monthly truck payment of $997 (or) $33/day. Now let’s see what kind of gas mileage this vehicle gets: 10 Miles Per Gallon (MPG) according to the averages located here at fuelly dot com. In order to fill up the gas tank with adequate fuel to reach San Diego and back, we’ll need 20 gallons of gas (200 miles divided 10) at $3.55/gallon in Los Angeles, California equals $36.

Minimum Ford F-250 requirements:

  • Truck - $33
  • Fuel - $36
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip = $116

2019 Chevy Camaro SS Coupe. $41k x 10.5% sales tax = $45,200. $45k x 4.25% APR = $54,605 for a five year monthly loan balance of $758. Insurance required to drive this car is $234/month bringing the monthly payment to $992. A Camaro gets an average of 19 MPG so it’s practically the same amount of gas required to operate as the Ford F-250.

Minimum Chevy Camaro requirements:

  • Car - $33
  • Fuel - $36
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip = $116.

006E8884-69E8-44A1-B8CC-B8367BB669C3.jpeg

pixabay & pexels

V-6:

2019 Ford F-150 XLT. $33,800 x 10.5% sales tax = $37,340. 37k x 4.25% APR brings the loan balance to $39k (or) $541/month. Insurance required to drive this truck is $204/month bringing the total monthly payment to $754 or $25/day. The F-150, averaging 16 MPG, needs 12.5 gallons for the trip.

Minimum Ford F-150 XLT requirements:

  • Truck - $25
  • Fuel - $43
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip - $105

2019 Toyota Camry XSE. $34,600 x 10.5% sales tax = $38,146 x 4n1/2% APR and the loan balance is $46,221 or $640/month. The insurance required on a Camry is $168/month bringing the total monthly payment to $808/month or $27/day. At 30 MPG, the Camry needs seven gallons of gas for the trip.

Minimum Toyota Camry requirements:

  • Car - $27
  • Fuel - $25
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip - $99

0FC49AD4-FA90-4B72-8EDC-F8108E74AABB.jpeg

Motortrend dot com & Toyota dot com.

4 Cylinder:

2019 Toyota Tacoma. $26,380 x 10.5% sales tax = 29k x 4n1/2% APR and your loan balance is $35,160 or $488/month. The insurance required on a brand new Toyota Tacoma will cost $154/month bringing the monthly payment to $642 or $21/day. At 18 miles per gallon, the Tacoma requires 11 gallons of fuel to make the trip.

Minimum Toyota Tacoma requirements:

  • Truck - $21
  • Fuel - $39
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip - $97

2019 Toyota Corolla. $25,500 x 10n1/2% sales tax = 28k x 4n1/2% APR and your loan balance is $33,900 or $470/month. The insurance required on a brand new Corolla is $192/month bringing your total monthly payment to $592 or $20/day. At 32 MPG, the Corolla will require seven gallons of fuel to make the trip.

Minimum Toyota Corolla requirements:

  • Car - $20
  • Fuel - $25
  • 2 hour parking - $25
  • Toll violations - $12
    200 mile round trip - $82

DDC793E2-A313-4E7B-A2FB-CB06EA0F51BE.jpeg

pexels and pixabay

4A7B392C-D29C-4E03-B24C-F99BECFEF904.jpeg
pixabay

I assumed the Toyota Tacoma and Toyota Corolla would be easier on the wallet when making the round trip—I expected that. I didn’t expect the Ford truck with a V6 to cost as much as it does, it isn’t a whole lot less to make the trip as both the V8 Camaro and the Ford truck with a big V8. That makes the Ford F-150 XLT useless to me, I wouldn’t be able to talk myself into buying the smaller engine when, at the end of the day, it’s only $11 less to operate than the big Ford truck with the much more powerful V8 engine.

I expected the Camry to perform better, I thought we would see the Toyota Camry make the trip for substantially less money—that’s not the case. The Camry is only about $20 less to drive than the Chevy Camaro with a V8. I would rather drive the Camaro but the rest of USA disagrees—Camry is the #1 selling car in the country.

The prices continue to drop as we get to the 4 cylinder engines, as expected, but not as much as I anticipated. The Toyota Tacoma with a 4 cylinder will make the round trip for only $19 less than the full size Ford F-250. The Corolla is the most affordable daily driver, the 200 mile round trip costs the least—$82. I’m not surprised by that.

Thanks for following along, I hope you found this information beneficial, like I said in the beginning, I enjoy research projects like this. The initial sticker prices seen on the showroom floor at the dealer aren’t as alarming after doing these calculations. The Camaro and F-250 have price tags that read larger than the other vehicles but when you do the comparisons, they’re actually a better deal than both V6’s. I expected the Toyota Tacoma to make the trip at a more reasonable price than it did—it didn’t. According to my calculations, the F-250 is a better deal for an extra $20/day.

Thanks again for the opportunity @socalsteemit! If you’re unfamiliar with their #mycalifornia initiative that runs every week between Thursday and Sunday, click here and give them a follow. They’re giving away four #steembasicincome every week.

B8419924-9682-4F88-B571-983F721E3C17.jpeg

Original content sponsored by:


6F87F3C5-CACD-4F76-A074-E7F373EE8223.jpeg

Click here for Monday.
72470CAF-EB3D-4145-B23A-3A3C4E22658E.jpeg

Sort:  

Yo, you researching, number crunching, quick as a whip inquirer, where’s the @curie cred? Is @c-squared out there listening somewhere?

It looks as if you put a lot of time and effort into this post, and you did so from a satellite location to your own familiar… Bravo baby! You deserve all the credit in the world. I’m sure a lot of people will get a good read out this one. Rock on @dandays! Heartu all the time.

Thank you, I really appreciate your opinion, especially when it’s in my favor! <—😉

Yeah I don’t know about this one, I had it in my notepad near finished, I posted it last night when you were asleep but broken intenernet took me two hours just to copy and paste. I woke up this morning kind of discrouraged. I really don’t know how many hours I have invested in this one.

Win some - lose a lot I guess. Next time I’ll throw together a couple of B.S. sentences like this and add one image—apparently studying, effort, energy, accuracy, useful information or, my personal favorite: actual-content are hit and miss. But at least he’s consistent.

Thanks for stopping by @puravidaville, you’re beautiful! iheartu all the time.

Maybe that’s why more people aren’t joining Steemit 🤷🏼‍♀️ Whateva

I will second that motion. I can totally see how a new comer can get discouraged and quit when they wonder around for a bit and see what kind of rewards people are getting for little to no effort posts. But hey what do ya do but just keep seeking out those diamonds in the rough and give them a deserving upvote and Resteem. That is why I started the Splatz curation. If you find a post that could use a splattin’ just mention @splatz in your reply then @dandays or I can splat their a$$e$. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s more about who you know, not the effort you put forth or the info you are providing. A photo followed by text about what camera they used and all the settings gets a constant $5....really and something like this with some serious numbers being crunched and helpful info to many people.
Hey what do you do but just keep on keepin’ on

Posted using Partiko iOS

It’s you, janton, Sweed, Lynn, of course Pura Vida, Ed, weird, sive, Nicky, you know the names... it’s all of you guys that keeps this blockchain exciting not the B.S.

Thanks for always encouraging me, Splatts. If you only knew how new all of this is to me an the courage it took me just to open an account. Then it sat there for like 3 months and all I could do was look at it like.. “I dunno about all this......” Thanks brother!

Nice & thanks for crunching the numbers.

Sounds like me, ive only had one truck payment. A 98 f-150 v6. It actually saved me money compared to the gas guzzling 86 chevy Silverado i had. It took me 5 years to pay off @ $235 a month and $135 a month for insurance. Which was very cheap compared to what all my friends were paying. That was my first and last car payment. I used the motto "if it aint cash, it aint for me". So freeing not to have a million bills.

Great post, thanks for the read.

My pleasure @weirdheadaches, I’m glad you liked it. I actually enjoy projects like this, whether it’s a detailed drawing or punching on a calculator, it keeps me busy and I really get into it. Before I know it I’ve vested a bunch of time into it, good times!

$1.05 for what? Surely not gas, could you imagine?! I remember one time the gas prices were $0.71/gallon. The only reason I have that one in my memory is because that was my football number, I was in the back of grandma’s car.. I’m pretty sure the sign was at a 76 station to be exact. 😉

About insurance, fun fact! See, I’m one of those dudes who stopped drinking for a number of reasons, I’d rather not get into the real bad things but one law breaking thing had something to do with a vehicle..... anyway!! Vehicle insurance for myself in LA was $297/month. “I know.. I know.” Eh, we just drove our new vehicle off the lot yesterday and I got insurance, too. $89/month for both of us! And that’s on a 4 wheel drive. I’m like... “uh... you don’t know who I am do you?” Haha.

Thanks for stopping by @weirdheadaches.

“uh... you don’t know who I am do you?” 🤣🤣, i feel ya on that one lol. I use to drive over 100mph everywhere and bragged that i never got pulled over. That all caught up to me eventually. I had to get my driving record printed for a court date once and the handed me a book of pages lol, lots a bad stuff. Now-a-days i follow the rules (for the most part). Thats awesome on insurance. Shoot, wish it was .71 lol, not that i drive much. And also, love my little 4cyl honda, woot😎.👍👍👍

I can’t believe how much some people pay just to drive. Lineman and their diesel trucks, hey we love them. I remember guys getting brand new Fords to haul their 5th wheel campers and they drove them daily. Your talking a price tag of around $75K for a Ford F-350 Diesel and of course leather and all the bells and whistles. That’s over $1,000 a month for payment!! Then registration was over $900 for a single year. Insurance....I couldn’t imagine what it costs these guys. Around $2,200 just to drive and say, “look at me, I have a new truck”

I drove a 1990 Chevy lumina with a multi-port V6 the whole time I worked down there. I would drive from Fresno to Merced going 80-85mph and that beast would get 30-32mpgs. I picked it up at an auction for $1,400 and it had 86k miles on it. It used to be a fleet car at the Utility my old man worked at. He was in charge of their fleet so he knew all about it. Stuff like it had only been driven 500 miles in the last 5 years. Lol. People always gave me a hard time about driving that car but I would just mention that the trunk was big enough to fit 3 bodies. Plus from a dead stop, no powerbreaking, brand new tires, that front wheel drive beast could burn the tires off. Lol. I finally sold it for $500 a couple years ago and now I see it parked down by the homeless shelter with the back of it full of stuff. I’m glad to see it is still helping someone.

I remember seeing gas prices in high school, I graduated in 2001, for 0.89 at the AM PM just down the road from the school. Then fast forward to 2011 and having to pay over $6 a gallon for diesel in Fresno. God Lord!!!

And yes, I am regretting selling the Lumina still to this day. I am half tempted to find another one. I had that beast for about 12 years. We had a connection, especially when the headliner start coming off and slapping me in the back of the head. I reached back, while bombing down the highway, and grabbed that flap and tore the whole headliner out and tossed it out the window. I tried gluing it 100 times so I was just sick of it.

Ok I’m done know. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I really appreciate this winded comment, Splatts, thank you! You and I have been on the same page multiple times. I know that same guy, the dude who think 2 G’s a month to keep their truck shiny in the driveway is a good idea. I can’t make sense of it.

Eh, my last Saturn I sold, that was my third one—count ‘em! Check this out:
My first one, a ‘97 SL2, arguably the second fastest car I’ve ever owned, bro! I put 330k on that paid for car before the ex wife got. I called it the ‘funny car’ because when I went to look at it, a 16 year old girl was the owner and it was blue with blue camo. Seats and door panels (I left it)! And it wasn’t until I left that I turned the volume up and realized it had like 1,000 watts inside the bangin little thing—“funny car.” Well, when the ex wife took it, it only made sense to get another one. 330k, I put one clutch in it one time, that’s it! Regular maintenance is all that car required.

My second one, an ‘03, “Ruby,” because it was burgundy, I put 256k on it when I totaled it out.. dooooood!! Me and a brother of our were on our way home from work and got to a red light, I stopped behind the truck in front of me, the car behind us didn’t stop. Must’ve been at least 50 mph and smashed us, smashing the truck in front of us. The car that hit me and the truck both went home on tow trucks. I had to radiator, the hood went though the windshield and of course the front and rear damage was hideous, they totaled it out. BUT! Who’s the only car that drove all the way home? Oh yeah, the Saturn!

So when I needed another one, it only made sense to get another Saturn—worked out great!

....Fresno. God Lord!!!

(Great timing on the typo!) 👍🏿

Thanks a lot for stopping by @jlsplatts, I appreciate the engagement!

The headliner was just trying to give you some love 😅.

Howdy sir dandays! wow, what a math and numbers guy you are! You could be an accountant,( I know, might be very boring) or some kind of business consultant, that could be big bucks and very interesting! Anyway, interesting to see this test and the surprising results, this is a very cool post! I might have to consult with you then next time I get a vehicle!

Wait a minute! Did I get a sighting from my favorite redneck twice in the same day?! Great to see you again pard’ner!

You know, I’ve never even considered the idea of consulting? Interesting you should mention that, Janton. Is it weird that I actually enjoy manipulating numbers until they’re in my favor?

Thanks a lot for stopping by @janton! Hey, fun fact, this article actually won the competition last week!

Congratulations @dandays, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

You guys are too cool! I really like this initiative, thanks for keeping it running smooth. I’ll see ya’all soon! 👍🏿

Thanks for stopping by @socalsteemit.

It's our pleasure @dandays. Thank you for being a part of our SoCal Steemit community!

Hey @dandays, Your post has been determined to be Splat-Worthy!! Therefore You’ve been Splatted by the Splatz Curation Trail
E4D5E914-6CE9-4EA4-950A-18B199BC20DE.gif
source
Rewarding Your Original Work
With an Upvote
And
Resteem
If you find posts worthy of a nasty Splatin’ feel free and mention @splatz in a Your reply to their post. Call me out!!

Thanks @splatz! You got it goin on around here. The lineman one, the ducks, the diy’s, food fight, the trail, you gettin all this?

Rodger Dodger, coming in loud and clear my Hommie

Ps, i just remembered, gas was $1.05 back then lolol.

Ahh yeah.. 4cyl Honda aka chick magnet! 👍🏿

Is it just me or would that video been the greatest thing of all time if Birdman had two Swatch watches on his wrists instead?!

Oh my goodness. Eh, this is exactly why I’m sofa king intimidated by @comedyopenmic entries because that swatch ish made laugh out way frikkin loud but then I’m like.. “man, am I the only one laughing? Is that only funny to me??” 🤔

Lmao 🤣

Two swatch watches, oh yeah! Im saving up for that lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63