You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Show Us Your California - Week 15 - Crunching Some 092283753108’s

in #mycalifornia5 years ago

I can’t believe how much some people pay just to drive. Lineman and their diesel trucks, hey we love them. I remember guys getting brand new Fords to haul their 5th wheel campers and they drove them daily. Your talking a price tag of around $75K for a Ford F-350 Diesel and of course leather and all the bells and whistles. That’s over $1,000 a month for payment!! Then registration was over $900 for a single year. Insurance....I couldn’t imagine what it costs these guys. Around $2,200 just to drive and say, “look at me, I have a new truck”

I drove a 1990 Chevy lumina with a multi-port V6 the whole time I worked down there. I would drive from Fresno to Merced going 80-85mph and that beast would get 30-32mpgs. I picked it up at an auction for $1,400 and it had 86k miles on it. It used to be a fleet car at the Utility my old man worked at. He was in charge of their fleet so he knew all about it. Stuff like it had only been driven 500 miles in the last 5 years. Lol. People always gave me a hard time about driving that car but I would just mention that the trunk was big enough to fit 3 bodies. Plus from a dead stop, no powerbreaking, brand new tires, that front wheel drive beast could burn the tires off. Lol. I finally sold it for $500 a couple years ago and now I see it parked down by the homeless shelter with the back of it full of stuff. I’m glad to see it is still helping someone.

I remember seeing gas prices in high school, I graduated in 2001, for 0.89 at the AM PM just down the road from the school. Then fast forward to 2011 and having to pay over $6 a gallon for diesel in Fresno. God Lord!!!

And yes, I am regretting selling the Lumina still to this day. I am half tempted to find another one. I had that beast for about 12 years. We had a connection, especially when the headliner start coming off and slapping me in the back of the head. I reached back, while bombing down the highway, and grabbed that flap and tore the whole headliner out and tossed it out the window. I tried gluing it 100 times so I was just sick of it.

Ok I’m done know. Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I really appreciate this winded comment, Splatts, thank you! You and I have been on the same page multiple times. I know that same guy, the dude who think 2 G’s a month to keep their truck shiny in the driveway is a good idea. I can’t make sense of it.

Eh, my last Saturn I sold, that was my third one—count ‘em! Check this out:
My first one, a ‘97 SL2, arguably the second fastest car I’ve ever owned, bro! I put 330k on that paid for car before the ex wife got. I called it the ‘funny car’ because when I went to look at it, a 16 year old girl was the owner and it was blue with blue camo. Seats and door panels (I left it)! And it wasn’t until I left that I turned the volume up and realized it had like 1,000 watts inside the bangin little thing—“funny car.” Well, when the ex wife took it, it only made sense to get another one. 330k, I put one clutch in it one time, that’s it! Regular maintenance is all that car required.

My second one, an ‘03, “Ruby,” because it was burgundy, I put 256k on it when I totaled it out.. dooooood!! Me and a brother of our were on our way home from work and got to a red light, I stopped behind the truck in front of me, the car behind us didn’t stop. Must’ve been at least 50 mph and smashed us, smashing the truck in front of us. The car that hit me and the truck both went home on tow trucks. I had to radiator, the hood went though the windshield and of course the front and rear damage was hideous, they totaled it out. BUT! Who’s the only car that drove all the way home? Oh yeah, the Saturn!

So when I needed another one, it only made sense to get another Saturn—worked out great!

....Fresno. God Lord!!!

(Great timing on the typo!) 👍🏿

Thanks a lot for stopping by @jlsplatts, I appreciate the engagement!

The headliner was just trying to give you some love 😅.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62