Must Streams of 2019 (Vol. 6) - The Peaky Blinders

in #muststreams5 years ago (edited)

Can you believe that 2019 is already winding down to a close? It’s been an interesting year of ups and downs to say the least.

With SteemFest 4 already right on our doorstep many of you are (or soon will be) Bangkok-bound, confined to your uncomfortably cramped plane seats, with long hours to spare. There’s nothing better to take your mind off the claustrophobia and boredom of air travel than something good to watch.

When the idea for this Must Stream series came to me earlier this year the goal was to share series, films, and documentaries that really resonate with me. It didn’t matter to me how obscure or well-known the productions were but they just had to make some kind of an impact.

For those who missed them, here's a recap of my previous Must Stream picks for 2019:

  1. The Bill Murray Stories: Life Lessons Learned From a Mythical Man ;
  2. Heal;
  3. The Kindness Diaries: Season Two;
  4. Ramen Heads;
  5. Anthony Bourdain's Raw Craft.

Must Stream of 2019 Pick #6 - The Peaky Blinders

I knew after watching the very first episode of this next recommendation that I had to include it in my list of Must Streams for 2019. The writing, acting, and cinematography of The Peaky Blinders is absolutely phenomenal, probably the best of any series I’ve watched to date.

Season One Trailer

That said, the series won't be for everyone especially not for children. Peaky Blinders is unabashedly raunchy and violent but balances the harshness with a liberal smattering of vigilante justice and even the occasional act of kindness.

Although there was an actual gang called The Peaky Blinders that reeked mayhem around the turn of the last century in Birmingham, England the plot of this Netflix series is fictional, loosely based on facts.

Netflix's description sums up the series very well, "A notorious gang in 1919 Birmingham, England, is led by the fierce Tommy Shelby, a crime boss set on moving up in the world no matter the cost."

My wife and I binge-watched all five available seasons in the course of about a month and a half. We found ourselves trading memorable lines from the series throughout the day and couldn’t wait for the day to wind down so we could see what happened to our favorite characters every evening. When I finished the last episode a few days ago it felt as though I was saying goodbye to old friends. By any measure this is the mark of good entertainment.


"Whisky’s good proofing water. Tells you who’s real and who isn’t." ~ Tommy Shelby


Peaky Blinders has been renewed for another season but we have a long wait to be reunited with the Shelby's, season six won’t be aired until sometime in 2021.

Oh, and one little tip...we had such a difficult time understanding the heavy English accents that we turned on the closed captioning (subtitles) on our AppleTV. Once we did this we realized we were missing about twenty percent of what was being said prior to that.

The Peaky Blinders can be found here on Netflix:

https://www.netflix.com/title/80002479

Happy Streaming,

Eric

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Hi Eric, how are you doing? True to your word, 2019 is slowly leaving us and 2020 will soon be approaching us. Many things happened in 2019, for example steem prices are getting lower without any significant increase. I hope that in 2020 steem prices will rise. Hopefully. I think the film you watch is an interesting spectacle. Unfortunately I have never watched it. Have a nice day, sir.

Hi Eliana, the week is going well so far. I hope it is for you as well. Yes, I was convinced that Steem had broken its stagnation and was going to start moving upwards a few days ago but it has settled down into the previous price range again. I'm not ready to give up on it yet, hopefully things will improve soon. Enjoy your day!

Huh got some catching up to do...I think I left it in the air at about the third season, don t really know why. Yeah, the accents take some getting used to, don t they? And it has such a good soundtrack...nice recommendation!

The fourth season was the weak link, IMO but it picked up again with the fifth. The soundtrack is awesome. I bought the theme song off iTunes. What was tough for us, accent -wise, were all of the different kinds of English accents in the same scenes. I enjoyed it much more with closed captioning on. I hope all has been good with you!

Now that is something i should be waiting to see soon thanks for sharing

Now that is something
I should be waiting to see
Soon thanks for sharing

                 - blazing


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You're welcome!

It looks really great and the picture quality and professionalism in special effects

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68845.40
ETH 3281.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65