Must Streams of 2019 (Vol. 4) - Ramen Heads

in #film5 years ago (edited)

Ramen Heads

This post about how a little known (outside of Japan) documentary led me to my first authentic bowl of ramen.

We live in an age of super high expectations when it comes to cinema. I'm very guilty of passing by films or documentaries that don't get glowing reviews. As a result I'm sure I've missed some gems.

The truth is some films or documentaries aren’t particularly Earth shattering, they just touch some small part of your soul and you can’t quite explain why. If we're lucky sometimes a film or documentary provides a path that leads you in the direction of something greater. This was the case for me with Ramen Heads.

I was on a plane somewhere over the Caribbean sea with three hours to burn so I began poking around Delta Airlines’ inflight entertainment. I was lucky enough to stumble onto this documentary by Japanese director Koki Shigeno.

You Can Watch the Trailer Here

Throughout my life I’ve taken a deep dive into a few things ~ writing, vintage English bikes, coin collecting, watch collecting, and cryptocurrency (to name a few). I appreciate others who have a focused an intense passion for something that most others would consider a waste of time.

Ramen Heads taught me that there is an entire community of people, mainly in Japan, who are on an eternal quest for the perfect bowl of Ramen and a handful of passionate chefs who have devoted their lives to satisfying their fanbase's hunger. Someday soon I hope to make it to Japan to experience some of their creations first hand.

My First Taste

Ever since I watched Ramen Heads a few months ago my stomach has been grumbling for an authentic bowl full. A few days ago my wish was granted when I found Tori Ramen just a few blocks away from where we live.

I tried the variety called AH SEE YAH (CHIARO TORIKOTSU) which consisted of CHICKEN, BURDOCK, YU CHOY, TOMATO, SOFT EGG, BLACK GARLIC OIL, SESAME, and SCALLION.

Behold...my first bowl of authentic ramen.

If, like me, you ate those sodium laden twenty-five cent packages of instant ramen when you were younger...real ramen is nothing like that. Like so many things in life it’s necessary to experience it before you fully understand. Now I can comprehend what the buzz is about. Words can’t even describe how good this bowl of noodles tasted but I'll make a feeble attempt. The broth was thick, rich, and satisfying and packed full of umami. The noodles are made by the chef, in-house, and the other ingredients were about as fresh as they could be. There was a variety of seaweed in the bowl I tried that tasted almost just like bacon.

I'll be making a few more trips back to Tori Ramen to try all of their different varieties. I think it's safe to say I've caught the fever and I’m well on my way to becoming a ramen head myself.

Did You Catch Volumes 1-3 of the Must Streams Series?

If not, you can find them here (the others are a little more substantive than this one):

Volume 1, Volume 2, Volume 3.

Unrelated News

How about that crypto market?! It sure was a nice surprise to wake up to!

Thank you for reading,

Eric


alt text

alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My book on meditation, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

I'm stuck in Africa, don't know if I'll be having any ramen really, but well the storyline there isn't really mind boggling but honestly it appeals to the emotion and it makes one awake to important things like food

They did a great job in the documentary of showcasing the passion of the chefs and how much work goes into making a great bowl of soup. Which part of Africa are you in @josediccus?

Wow that bowl of Ramen noodles looks so delicious, what a great shot and post, like finding a diamond in the rough! Well done @ericvancewalton , upped and resteemed!🍜😋👍🙋❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! That picture is hilarious! It was honestly so good. I'm going back next week to try another variety.

Haha, thanks I'm glad you liked my bitmojis, that's one of my favorites as well! I'm looking forward to more awesome photos from you!🍜🍜🍜😋👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Am not surprised it's Japanese or Asia food. I've watch TLC and many food channel on DSTV and found out they have the largest varieties of menu on earth, weird and absurd ones, delicious and addicted ones(which your ramen belong to).

Sad, we don't have some of those recipes here in the black continent but we sure have our own foods too.

I can't wait to visit Africa and try some of the food there. I'm sure you guys have your share of delicious cuisine. What foods would you suggest I try when I visit Africa @botefarm?

I'm also a ramen lover, Eric. Indeed, ramen tastes truly extraordinary. Especially if I see your picture. As if my appetite always arises when I see ramen. I have never watched that film. I just heard from you. maybe I should just watch it through the Internet. because there is no cinema in my area. Have a nice day, Eric.

Ah, another ramen head! : ) Thank you, @elianaelisma I hope you have a good day as well.

Excellent review, Eric and I am sure that you have received a special pleasure from this dish, because it looks very appetizing!

I've never eaten Ramen but that bowl of yours looks absolutely amazing @ericvancewalton, glad you found it close to home! You've made me curious now but I don't think I'll find that in many restaurants in Durban.

The broth was like nothing I've ever had and that seaweed tasted so much like bacon that I'm half suspecting that it really was. ; ) Let me know if you find ramen in Durban. I hope you're having a good week @lizelle!

I've been googling and there are a number of restaurants around here that serve ramen, would like to try going to one of them some time:)

I hope you do! I'm going back to Tori Ramen next Wednesday. : )

I will love to visit that ramen one day. probably i may follow you when you are going on a trip to the ramen

Wow really it's looking so testy and delicious that haven't test before even the name knew today from you. Definitely will be sarched online .

Good to see you talking about movies.
My favorite movies are those which are based on patriotism.
I also like comedy movies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37