A discovery while fumbling about Steemit this afternoon - This Post is Sponsored by Wine

in #musing6 years ago

The fumbling may have been sponsored by one or 5 fine glasses of red wine


I was fumbling about Steemit as I sometimes do during a quiet moment today/ this afternoon.

And my fumbles lead to the trending page, which I like to inspect from time to time to see what disasters people have spent hundreds of Steem to get in front of the people who haven't yet recognised how worthless the trending page is.

But, much to my surprise, I actually learnt something of value on the trending page today.

@musing or musing.io has received a hefty delegation from Steemit Inc. A 1 million SP delegation in fact. My first thought was:

what the hell is this insanity?

But, if I'm honest, I'd spent all of 1 minute looking into musing.io when I heard about it for the first time a few months ago. But, if they're going to receive such a hefty delegation they're certainly worth looking into some more.

So off I went to take a look at their offerings


And you know what? musing.io is actually a pretty cool platform. Of course, the news of their delegation resulted in an insane number of questions being listed. But if you do a little digging, you'll find some excellent questions, and some incredibly detailed answers.

So then my next question was:

what does @musing look for in an answer when deciding to dish out those newly minted insane upvotes?

Well the only way to answer this question is to start answering questions.... on musing.io.... surprising, yeah?

I discovered that the answer to this question is pretty simple and really kind of obvious. If I answered questions with good quality and well constructed answers, I would receive some decent upvotes. You can see the results for yourself:

That's pretty impressive in my books. I answer a few questions that I find interesting and... can actually answer, and I get a nice reward. It's pretty awesome. And in total I earned around $20 worth of Steem for answering a few questions. I'm happy with that outcome and it was quite enjoyable at the same time.

What's even better is that the rewards are earned via comments. Which means that (unless something changed when HF20 landed) 100% of the rewards go to me rather than losing curation rewards. This is bloody awesome in my books. Not that I'm dark on curation, that certainly has its place. But receiving rewards from a dapp via comment votes? That's pretty bloody awesome.

So... go check out musing.io and see if there are any questions you can/ want to answer. It's a neat platform, and definitely one that I'll be spending some time on.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I used to answer questions about vermicomposting on Quora and was hoping something like this would come on Steem one day. I tried Musing in the past but like you I didn't stay very long. Will give it another chance. Thanks

I'm glad you took another look, @mazzle. I did the same thing a while back and wasn't all that impressed. I'm not sure I still am, but I think I will try to answer some questions this time and see how it goes.

I can definitely offer opinions on many things. Not sure if that counts as answering the question. Guess the only way to get a feel for what they're wanting is to try it, right?

Give it a shot. I was pretty impressed to be hit with a $7 upvote on an answer.

I did. I like how the idea of someone going through and manually reading the answers, and I also like the ratio that they're upvoting at. They're not voting at 50% or higher from what I've seen, but are applying the votes in a more judicious manner, one, I'm sure, to spread them out, but two, hopefully, to not max out expectations and to keep a perspective on value.

I've seem dApps dole out upvotes before, and I don't think they were proportional in many cases to the value added by the poster. So, hopefully, musing will not only be able to keep their newfound delegation, but use it wisely, to the benefit of all those who use their platform correctly.

There appears to be some people trying to game the system with plagiarized material, though, so hopefully they can discourage that.

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.238 which ranks you at #2765 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2759).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I think I answered a few time when it first started. The only thing I didn't like was, every question I answered make the whole post on my Steem feed. That's a bit over whelming as I usually don't do micro posts (at least, not often). Is it still the same way you know? I would totally give it a try again and see how it goes. Thanks for sharing man! :)

They must have changed that. Everything, including questions, goes to your comments feed now.

I submitted one answer just now. Thanks for the info! :)

Congratulations @mazzle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3500 replies. Your next target is to reach 3750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50