Sort:  

I don't anymore but I used to. The memories alone could make me feel anger rise.

It was a compound where we stayed for more than fifteen years. We grew up to meet this people who had a knack for troublemaking.

They quarrelled with virtually everyone in the compound except us. We never stoop so low as to having exchange of words with them. That's one thing about my family that I like.

Here's some things they did that would tell you how troublesome they were.

We lived in a very small house with just a room and parlor(face palm). It wasn't the most comfortable of states. We had to constantly have people in our lives and within our views at all times because of where we were at that point. We shared toilets and bathrooms which were outside the house.

Now, these people in particular were every shades of nuisance. Where they lived in the compound was at the extreme end and we were at the other end. Yet, these people came to build a kitchen close to our side. They did this immediately the other people who were staying where we were left. We came when they'd just built it. We couldn't say anything about it because it would be as though we were flogging a dead horse.

Now, this woman, the mother of the troublemakers would wake up as early as three a.m and start pounding cassava. You can imagine and this was very close to our window. You couldn't sleep when she began and she did it without considering the fact that people were still sleeping.

Another thing she was fond of doing was pouring the water from her fermented cassava on the floor close to our house. The smell of that thing can wake a dead corpse.

I remember the only time my dad talked to these people was one of those occasions. He couldn't sleep because of the smell and had to go tell them to move.

These people were doing 'colonizing'. They took up every little space they could find in the compound and anyone that complained got to quarrel with their whole family which had more than ten people; father, mother and eight children.

They didn't have much but would rear every animal they could afford to buy (surprisingly they could afford goats, turkey, fowls).

Their animals were usually as troublemaking as they were. The owners would be there and watch as their animals overturned people's garbage dump and ate people's food items they had left to sun-dry but would do nothing.

The day we finally moved out of thats yard remains one of my happiest days till date.

Yes, I do. I have a neighbor who is very suspicious of everyone around her. 

The biggest incident we experienced was when she got a new car and every time her bumper or paint job gets a scratch, she has the terrible habit of blaming it on people in the neighborhood, as if everyone was out to get her and we scratched her car on purpose. She would go to people's houses to complain and accuse everyone from the kids to the cats of being the culprit. She even made a few official complaints, but since she can't prove anything, nothing came about it. 

Then, one day, out of the blue, she installed three security cameras. She had the cameras positioned so they could see all side of her car clearly. They were only meant to catch the vandals who "scratched" her car. In fact, it even came to the point that whenever people stop to talk near her property line, you will suddenly find her out and about, as if she was on a stakeout and constantly watching her video feeds. 

This went on for a while. Then after sometime, she suddenly had the cameras removed. We only  found out recently that she realized, with the help of her cameras, that the scratches on her car were all accidental. They were the result of her kids and their friends bumping into her car with their backpacks. The backpacks have a lot of metal hardware in them and that's what has been causing the scratches. So, now they're not allowed to hang around it, anymore. 

It was terrible dealing with a neighbor that suspicious of everyone. Mostly, we just ignored her and tried to stay as far away as possible. Given her irrational behavior, we felt that it was best to just avoid conflict. She's not the type to listen to reason once she had her mind up, anyway. And since she wasn't being violent, just annoying, there was no reason to make things worse by retaliating.

I feel this is the best way to deal with annoying neighbors. Getting into a fight with someone you live so close to will only make things worse. By avoiding them, you avoid any conflict. And who knows, maybe they were just going through something and they were taking it out on the neighborhood. This way, once they get over their problem, this gives everyone the chance to still be good neighbors. 

There are, a lot.

But it's all about how you take things in your mind. At first, I became very annoyed in everything that they do. I became so stressed to focus on what they do that makes me annoyed. 

Until one time I realized I should not dwell on it too much. I'll be stressed to think of their doings. Instead, I shifted my focus on to something that helps me grow. Like everytime they do things like that, I also focused myself onto other things like cleaning the house, etc.

It is all about how you absorb everything and respond to it.

No, I don't. I have neighbors who SOMETIMES annoy me.  And I think everyone has, as living in each others vicinity isn't always easy.
However, whenever there are times my neighbors annoy me, or when I annoy them, we try to communicate about it.
Communication is key. In every relationship, also the ones between neighbors.
Quite often it can occur that I'm doing something that, without me realizing, even knowing about it, annoys my neighbor. When he/she doesn't discuss this with me, I will never know, and perhaps also never stop doing that specific thing. And my neighbor will get more and more annoyed. And also other things, that were not annoying to him/her before, will start annoying him, and the whole situation will escalate. When he/she tells me about my annoying behavior, I will be able to change it. Or, we can discuss about why or how that behavior is necessary for me.
Communication is key.

I've had a plethora of annoying neighbors but there was one apartment I lived in about 2-3 years ago that without a doubt takes the cake. Not only because it was one neighbor that was annoying- but that throughout the years living there we had SO MANY awful neighbors. 

So we lived in a 3 bedroom apartment on the base level of a large historic house on the corner of a busy street. The guy who owned the building was a over privileged, entitled, illiterate piece of trash, to put it nicely. One of his workers/kids lived across the hall and would constantly blast movies at full volume. That didn't bother me so much, because it kind of gave me permission to do the same thing, but he also sold pills out of the building and would wander into our apartment at random times during the night for "maintenance checks". Things went missing a lot. 

Above him was a young couple with a daughter. The daughter was as sweet as could be, and I truly felt terrible for her because all the couple did was fight over drugs. Loudly. Like, screaming matches. All day, every day. I never even met them. I just knew what the arguments were about because they would scream at the top of their lungs about it in front of their 5 year old daughter. Sometimes with the hallway door open. It was just awful. 

There were a few more annoying ones in the building but this is all build up for the family across the street. Across the street was a family with drug problems and 3 kids. The father, as far as I know, wasn't in the picture. I believe he lived a few towns over and would take the kids for weekends here and there, but he never helped with the BS going on in the city.

The mom was a train wreck. I don't know what her deal was. She never seemed too messed up or strung out so maybe she was just lazy and careless. I don't think so though. 

The kids were crazy annoying. It was a really tough situation because I genuinely liked the kids and I really felt for their situation. They had no supervision and at the ages of 5, 7, and 10 were given free rule to run the streets at all times of the night. They would come over to our apartment sometimes at 2 in the morning demanding to play N64 while we were all stumbling around after the bars. The two younger girls kind of found other part time homes but the 10 year old was obsessed with my dog and would never leave.

I love Anel(that's his name). And I always will. But damn the kid couldn't have found more annoying times to show up. As previously mentioned, he would show up at 2 in the morning, or later. He would show up during romantic evenings with my ex. He would show up when I had a large group of friends over. He would show up when people were really messed up. He would show up and cause drama and mischief. He would try to set my dog free. He would show up when I was trying to work or my ex was doing schoolwork. 

It was a nightmare 2 years in which I never had any peace. On top of all the neighbors, even our room mates were horrible. I think the most solitude we ever had was one Christmas day there.   

Yes i have neighbours who annoy me and I think everyone does. It is not easy for humans to co-habit peacefully because we have different beliefs and upbringing. This is why in a compound you have different types of neighbours. You have the loud ones who is always shouting and playing loud music, you have the meddling one who will never mind their business, you have dirty ones whose environment is always unkempt and the uncooperative neighbour who never cooperates with the rest of the neighbours. Having these neighbours can be very annoying especially when you want some peace of mind or things done quickly.

If you have an annoying neighbour, it will be wise to talk to them about what they are doing politely not aggressively because aggression has never resolved any issue. It could be they are not aware of what they are doing, bringing it to their knowledge can help them watch it and be more careful.

Again it could be they are going through a stress at the moment and talking to them can help you figure out what the problem might be and it won't be a bad idea to help them keep the lawn clean, walk their dogs eye.

It could also be that what they are doing is within their rights and so you really can't do anything about it but in a situation where it is not and they have refused to listen then you can bring in the attention of the landlord to mediate in the matter After All you are paying rent and so your comfort is important.

Yes I definitely use to have, I had neighbors who used to litter the compound and surroundings with food matters, particles and play excessively loud music.

The truth was if it was in a country like the United states I would've had to report them to the authorities but in my country there easy no constitutional law that prohibits against excessive loud music and constituting noise polution to the environment and even if there was it wasn't enshrined and not sacrosanct and as a result of this I was entirely powerless to stop this and it prevented me from sleeping well in the night.

I tried to be peaceful by gently asking them to reduce the time factor and stop playing music during midnight hours but it fell on deaf ears and they even threaten to beat me up if I kept bothering them to stop the music.

I had to endure this for a long time and it was annoying, however in other not to damage my ears I had to leave the apartment and get some place better to live, they were annoying and it nearly harmed me medically

I do not have neighbours that disturb me because they are peace loving neighbours and we communicate alot and we understand each other better,but it is also not

unusual for someone to have an annoying neighbours because everyone have their own attitudes and there

would sometimes be clash in agreement which could make us see our neighbours as been annoying but we need to be able to tolerate each other in our community...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58925.39
ETH 2498.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48