Monday night Big Band May 6th 2019, Part 10, Rehearsal 11.

in #music5 years ago (edited)
At this point I'm way behind in this Big Band series. I think I have good excuses, but expressing excuses becomes an unhealthy practice. If I practiced making up excuses to explain my musicianship I wouldn't be able to keep up with this Big Band.



4 Musicianship Tips:



  1. Don't create excuses for any aspect of your life. Be honest about your skills and use that honesty to grow.

  2. Always record your musical endeavors. Technology has made it easy for us to record and review our musical skills. You don't need to share it with the world. Review it and learn from it.

  3. Don't let unqualified musicians make you think you're good. Thank them politely for their compliments. Then, review your recordings and see for yourself how you sound.

  4. Don't beat yourself up about it too much. If you think you suck, then you probably do. This is also how we learn to improve.



Random Observations about tipping culture:
We tip cashiers before they serve us. Yet, we tip musicians after we realize we like their music. We also tip waiters and waitresses after they serve us. We tip bar tenders after they serve our drinks. Musicians get tipped at the end of a performance if the client is gracious enough. My point is, that it's weird when we tip cashiers for doing what they already paid to do, before they do it.

Traffic and Parking:


Traffic is congested in the beginning of my trip but then it lightens up near the end. I'm grateful. I arrive early and that is the same as on-time. Arriving with enough time to prepare at a normal pace is less stressful than being late and frantic.


No issues with the parking meter today. The crooked parking meter image above was inspired by my previous parking tickets... also crooked. 😬🐢

I am also grateful for all the students that have dropped out. There are many parking spaces closer to our rehearsal room. I am grateful for this also.


More Random details:

Back in ol' part 7 of this big band series, our friendly Steem neighbor @fraenk asked me a question about the yellow thing that was ontop of my parking receipts.
I'm grateful for his question. His question proves that I take things for granted. We all do. @fraenk's question helped me realize that there are often things worth Steeming about right under our noses. My reply to him was long:
https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/steemseph-re-fraenk-ps7d3r-20190528t153553324z (I used Partiko to reply and then edited the comment afterwards to include pictures. I'm not sure why the pictures appeared sideways.) The collage below features those same images.

Questions about these little decorations came up again thanks to @adenijiadeshina here, and @mathowl here.


Thanks for the questions my Steem neighbors!


Oh, and by the way, there is something I should have mentioned. The popular term "Kaffir lime", is actually derogatory. Long ago, when I first researched those limes, I discovered that the common name for them was a derivative of a racial slur.

🐝🐛🦋🐌🐞🐜🦟🦗🕷= ❤️

I now want to change my practice and call it a "Wild Lime" as suggested in the article. I took a screen shot of the article. Thankfully, I got the source too! You can read more about it here: www.naturalremedies.org

Wow! I took that screen shot back in January 2017. That was when I was making Kombucha with the lemons, limes and blood orange.
Speaking of limes, my current homemade drink is visible in this week's parking receipt image.

It's not homemade Kombucha. It's water with, lemon, lime, ashwaganda, golden milk powder, chia seeds, turmeric, and pepper. Sometimes I add liquid vitamin c and powdered electrolytes to this drink too. I'm trying to cut back on coffee. I created this drink to counter the acidity coffee puts into my body.

Wish me luck!

🍻


Live Broadcast:


Only one live broadcast today, but I moved the camera around more. This might be one of the more entertaining broadcasts to watch. We can see drums and bass together as well as other cool stuff.

Click on this link or click on the image thumbnail below to see it all: https://www.pscp.tv/w/b6GnFTFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MWRSS1ptdk1BcXp4QoQfH2nV3gll8GEtMTMms47P4Kz-91UH7zq9TBHiT89U?t=1m42s


Do you like my broadcast titles? Don't answer that. These broadcasts post to Twitter. The hashtags will apply in Twitter. It's an easy way to create Steem awareness.


The broadcast starts out with a lovely set of solos to the song "All Of Me." The camera moves around more this time. It's hanging from a hook on the music stand next to the drum set. We can see the drummer @steelparade reading his drum chart.

At 5:57 we get a close up view of me playing bass for Caravan. Will I be able to go fast enough for the 12/8 section? Will I remember, to accurately count the number of repeats near the end? Will the weird section/intro sound weird or scattered and tattered? Click the 5:57 to view it on Periscope.

Mehhh... Skip to the next song, by clicking here to see and hear a big band version of "Sir Duke".

We see a lot a Drums and bass in this week's broadcast. Some people refer to the bass and drum set together as "The Engine Room." That could also be said for the entire rhythm section.

A big band's rhythm section helps to establish the rhythmic and tonal foundation for the solo instruments. If you notice in the first song, the rhythm section continues playing during almost all of the solos. The song is called "All Of Me" and it's been arranged for big band. The version of "All Of Me" we are performing was created with a solo section within the sheet music/chart. It's designed to repeat. This allows for the multitude of solos you hear in our version. That's a characteristic of big band music.
Big Band music likes to turn songs into something lots of people can play solos on. Big band will include other sections with figures. It might sound like the entire band is soloing simultaneously.
Sounds easy? We can memorize stuff, but it's important for big bang musicians to read music too.

Pay to play:

Gas prices have gone way up and technically my costs have gone up also.

The total from the previous rehearsal's expenses was $244.30. Add in the currently outdated estimate of $6 for the cost of gas and parking to fabricate a new total of $250.30.

I'm not going to account for the higher gas prices. I'm afraid to find out...

a81a7cd7-215a-4faa-90e1-bf8a27c0e65e

My next post in this series will be titled something like, "That Guy Who Plays Free Big Band Music Part 11, Rehearsal 12, May 13th 2019: Dress Rehearsal for Friday's Second Concert."


🆕 This list of previous posts now includes the payout amount for each post in this big band series. This information was attainable thanks to https://steemworld.org. I'm adding it to encourage user to SwitchToSteem.

List of earnings on my previous big band posts:


1. "2019 Big Band Series Warning from Steemseph" https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon or https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon earned $0.881

2. "Big Band Rehearsals 1 and 2 February 2019 Part 1" https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-rehearsals-1-and-2-february-2019-part-1 earned $12.041

3. "That guy who plays Monday night Big Band bass. Part 2 Rehearsal 3 scrambled and ticketed" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-monday-night-big-band-bass-part-2-rehearsal-3-scrambled-and-ticketed earned $2.022

4. "That guy who plays Big Band bass gives an update. Part 3: Rehearsal 4 is neat and parking tickets suck." https://steempeak.com/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-big-band-bass-gives-an-update-part-3-rehearsal-4-is-neat-and-parking-tickets-suck earned $1.477

5. "Big band Part 4: Rehearsal 5 Fancy Gear goes boink and a percussion lesson." https://steemit.com/steempeak/@steemseph/big-band-part-4-rehearsal-5-fancy-gear-goes-boink-and-a-percussion-lesson earned $1.663

6. "That bass guitar guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 5: It's rehearsal 6. Do We Sound Better?" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/that-bass-guitar-guy-who-plays-bass-in-a-big-band-part-5-it-s-rehearsal-6-do-we-sound-better earned $0.774

7. "Big Band Part 6, Rehearsal 7 for a concert that will cost me $126.30!?!" https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-music-is-big-band-part-6-rehearsal-7-for-a-concert-that-will-cost-me-usd126-30 earned $13.437

8. "Big Parking Ticket Big Band, Part 7 April 2nd, 1st Concert: I get a $100 parking ticket loading equipment for the schools event." https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/big-parking-ticket-big-band-part-7-april-2nd-1st-concert-i-get-a-usd100-parking-ticket-loading-equipment-for-the-schools-event earned $2.751

9. "Really Short Big Band Music Video I made back in 2017" https://busy.org/@steemseph/caka3934 https://d.tube/v/steemseph/caka3934 earned $1.091

10. "Big Band Series Part 8, rehearsal 9 because I skipped rehearsal 8 to do income taxes on April 15th. https://busy.org/@steemseph/big-band-series-part-8-rehearsal-9-because-i-skipped-rehearsal-8-to-do-income-taxes-on-april-15th earned $2.766

11. "Maximizing My Big Band Experience: DIY art used in the next big band post." https://steempeak.com/ntopaz/@steemseph/ntopaz--steemseph--671268189--ntopaz-music-bigband-jazz--2019-05-31-14-11-23--artwork--none earned $1.165

12. "That guy who plays bass in a Big Band Part 9, Rehearsal 10: Grey skies on April 29th and silly bathroom images." https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/that-guy-who-plays-bass-in-a-big-band-part-9-rehearsal-10-grey-skies-on-april-29th-and-silly-bathroom-images earned $1.188

13. "Monday night Big Band May 6th 2019, Part 10, Rehearsal 11." Coming soon!

Series's payout total $41.256


BIG THANKS to https://www.palnet.io/ and the MSP Community. I really appreciate the PALcoin airdrop. I will use your support to help me defend the Steem community from reward pool abuse.



🐙 THANK YOU for reading, leaving a comment, and upvoting my posts! 🐢



This post has been created with https://busy.org/. It may also appear on Wordpress, but rest assured, my links come back to us here at Steem!!!https://busy.org/@steemseph


This post is my entry into the @socalsteemit's contest called , "Show Us Your California Contest." Contestants can win SBI!



AND Another contest!


Screen Shot 2019-06-17 at 4.12.30 PM

https://steemit.com/googlyprize/@googlyeyes/googlyprize-this-week-s-winners-issue-no-89

Look for @GooglyEyes's fun contests on Steem! It's eloquently managed by our friendly Steem neighbor @fraenk! Contestants will Steem and delegations too! I've been missing out. You've been missing out also. Let's get busy will some Googley inspired creative photography.


photo jun 04, 7 18 04 pm


has music on BandCamp here: https://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/music


steemseph bathroom wall 2


Sort:  

Ah sweet... thanks for all the shout-outs!

and yeah, nothing beats the joy of having engaging readers ask the most obvious questions (yes, I'm complimenting myself for engaging with your post that one time, lol).

starting that pscp recording greeted me with a rather hairy surprise... lol... nice and fluffy :P but i opted for just letting the thing play while i comment here instead of actually watching.

on another note

powdered electrolytes

You mean like Brawndo? It's got what plants crave, electrolytes?!

But actually it's just sugar, right?

Ah I just noticed it is powdered not powered >.<

I think by definition electrolytes are positively or negatively powered. A rehydration solution would be packed with electrolytes which according to wiki contains:

salt , trisodium citrate dihydrate, potassium chloride, anhydrous glucose

so it contains sugar

Yeah, sugar, like bananas and donuts. 😬
I make donut juice.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My pleasure!

Yeah the hair ball is probably the drummer. We get a little silly when the camera turns on.

They are basically charged minerals that help us use water... yeah probably exactly like Brawndo.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Now I really get to love the 4 musicianship tips

Thanks! I’m glad you like the tips.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @ayasha-art.

Yum!!! I love chocolate!!!!
Oh and thank you for the upvote too. 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @steemseph, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity! It is a manual curation project from Bangladesh.

If you want to support us, please consider setting us as your witness proxy, or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thanks for the upvote! I appreciate it. Yes, I’m due for a witness adjustment or two. I’ll be adding @bdcommunity asap! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

BDCommunity is not a witness. It asks for witness proxy if you are not actively voting. I am the proxy of BDCommunity. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65