You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Band Series Part 8, rehearsal 9 because I skipped rehearsal 8 to do income taxes on April 15th.

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the advice. I hear ya. It’s a cheap education and an inexpensive bass gym.

Yes, it’s a petrified kaffir lime. (https://duckduckgo.com/?q=kaffir+lime&t=iphone&ia=about) Well, almost petrified. It’s not a stone yet, but your giving me some ideas. 👀

Anyway, I had to double check my picture because I’ve created lemons like this too. Do it! To make one, leave it in your car (on a piece of paper, incase it stains/burns the surface) and then park your car in the sun for a few weeks. Just leave it in there and be normal. It dries up like potpourri ingredients.
For a while I was convinced that it helped my car smell fresher. I haven’t started a new one in a long time. That one in the image above is a few years old and comes from a time when I was using kaffir limes to flavor my Kombucha. (Yum, typing that made my mouth water.)
I usually use a lemons in the car. After it dries, they smell really really good when you scratch the skin with your finger nail. It’s good at balancing my phone while I drive and collect Partiko points, but the scratch n’ sniff part was my main motivation. It’s like aromatherapy.
I have more. I’ll show ya...

That’s my entire collection. The ones on the right are lemons and the ones on the left are kaffir limes. The lemons are easily over 5 years old. I started this little habit back in ol 2009, but I think I’ve tossed some out since then. I even cut one open to see what was inside once.
The texture is fun to look at too:

and the kaffir limes too:

Sideways pictures hmm...

Anyway, thanks for asking. Try it.

Sort:  

Good advice coming full circle... the alpha, the omega, the tetrahedroseph.

I think I haven't tasted any kombucha since the 90s, but I can imagine that lime would help ;)

🔺😁
Lemon, lime or blood orange are my two favorite flavors to work with when making Kombucha. Wow the 90’s I would have loved to try kombucha back then. I didn’t learn about it until I started making it in 2016.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I had no choice back then, my mum was "brewing" that stuff in huge jars, tucked away in the kitchen closet...

I was pretty fascinated about the growth of that gelatinous alien on top of the "tea"...

but dang i hated having to drink the final product!

I'm not even sure if it had anything to do with the taste, or whether that was more of a mental thing because the stuff "grew" in our own kitchen?!

Wow, she sounds professional.
It takes getting used to. Especially If we don’t flavor it with something. Without a yummy fruit flavor or ginger flavor, a vinegar-like taste becomes obvious. Also, it develops a more vinegar-like taste if its been fermenting/ brewing for a long time. The stuff in the stores will rarely taste like vinegar. Try a ginger combination if you ever get curious about trying it again.
That gelatinous thing on top is a SCOBY (Symbiotic Collection Of Bacteria and Yeast). Some people make dog treats, bandages, and cinnamon pieces when they bake it. When it’s heated or dried it turns into a hard leathery type of thing.
The thing on top is weird. My finger tips feel softer after I handle a SCOBY. It weird. I eat it. 😁🍻

Posted using Partiko iOS

That would be perfect in a desert!

I can just leave a lemon in my car and let the extreme sun and heat dry it up.

Yes, a red rock desert would be awesome. 😊 Los Angels is like a desert, a cement desert.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57912.63
ETH 2348.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37