Big Band Rehearsals 1 and 2 February 2019 Part 1

in #steempeak5 years ago (edited)

First listen to me struggling here at 19:54. (sneak peak at rehearsal 3)



Continue reading if you wanna hear me ramble on about getting myself as far as the second rehearsal.

Rehearsal 1:


I missed it! I canceled three hours before. That's not a good practice, but I had to cope with an environmental hazard in my home. (long story)

I didn't feel bad about missing the first rehearsal because a new bass player was planning to be there. I'm happy to share the responsibility with another bass player who is serious.

Rehearsal 2:

This is my first rehearsal and the band's second.

Thanks to a recording the drummer put together for everyone in the band, I heard some of the first rehearsal. I'm grateful for it and I hope everyone takes the time to record themself regularly. ☺️

Parking and traffic:

I start many SoCal blog post talking about traffic because it's almost unavoidable. It's on my way to anywhere.
Hey SoCalSteemit crew! Do you know this freeway?
It's the 405 and 22. The OC bro!!! We use numbers as names for the freeways here in California. It's not real math (more posing-out). I'm sure people in other cities talk like that too, but it reminds me of that one episode of SNL where they mock this usage of numbers to identity freeways? It's fun:
(not my video)
Maybe my tolerance for traffic will grow stronger as I imagine monetizing my freeway images on my Steem blog posts.
img_3089-1

Speaking of stupid, parking cost two dollars for students at the college. Students need to be there. Why the f?ck do students need to pay for parking? What the fu?k is wrong with us?

I paid to play, but I guess it's acceptable because this is an education too. I pay for an education and a place to practice my skills. Like a gym for bass muscles.

Hey, musician! Get paid for your perseverance. It's not talent it's practice and patience that make you a musician. Make them pay.

Past images::


gif1-31GIF By Steemseph Music Doesn't Grow in TreesSteemseph Big Band GIF 04302018

gif1-17

Big Band expense estimates:


💴 $2 per rehearsal/appearance and there are an estimated 16 rehearsals/appearances. That adds up to $36 for the semester's parking.

⛽️ Gas is probably about $4 per appearance. So, that's about $64 in gas.

I estimate my total to be $100. I didn't plan that number.

🍩 The cost of donuts and coffee is gonna bring my total to about $200!

Aww, is't that cute? I said that last time, but this is the current total:

$6 for parking and gas. I ate at home, so rehearsal 2 costs about $6.


Homework:


1. Make copies of the bass charts and practice.

2. Find a new bass amp on B&H. The big band director asked me to find a new bass amp for less than $1000. I said "that's easy!" I'll talk about that later.

3. Actually practice some of the difficult parts in the morning after feeding Dirt the fish.

img_2728



Broadcast:


Sorry, no broadcast of the second rehearsal. I was too busy adjusting the amp for the two different types of basses we play. I play electric bass. The other bass player plays a stand up bass/acoustic. It creates a lot of feed back. It's a distraction, but I can tell she is working on it.

What just happen?


Bass charts:


I took pictures to have something to practice with at home if I make copies. The entire band sounds better if the bass player can make copies. Don't ever take the original charts home. You don't want that liability and if you need to call a sub, they wont have the music. Take pictures and then study it. (By the way, the term "charts" is used to describe the sheets of music each instrumentalist uses. I have bass charts because I play the bass.)

Making copies shouldn't be so difficult. I'm now at FedEx store trying to access Dropbox. The location is known for having intermittent Dropbox connectivity. I hope the next FedEx/Kinko is better. I have 5.25 on my card ready to go. Should I add that cost to the rehearsal 2 bill or rehearsal 3? I think rehearsal 2, because that's when I received the music.


This second FedEx/Kinko's store has a broken connection to Dropbox also. Wtf...

FedEx/Kinko copy trick:


After a donut, 3 donut holes, a small coffee, and part of a jalapeño ham and cheese croissant, I found a work around. Email small batches of the images I need to print to the FedEx self serve print and go service. FedEx will reply to you with a specific code that you can use on the print/copy machines.

UPDATE: Big Band expense estimates:


$6 for parking and gas plus the money I use for FedEx/Kinko. I used $3.15 on the FedEx/Kinko card, so rehearsal 2 cost about $9.15 total. (I have $2.10 available on the card for any new songs the director throws at us i the future.

My grand Total is $9.15 after rehearsal one and two.

Sponsorship:


Thank you for our continued support. I'm teaching the other bass player lots of stuff and some nice guys in a pinball league are teaching me lots of stuff. It's healthy for us.

If you wanna support me, big band, music, pinball, and other decaying art forms, upvote this post...

OR

Consider purchasing this music on BandCamp. I know, most music is free, but this goes to an almost good cause. (Sneak peak: I need 45 of that fiat for a parking ticket too.) 😬

New music from Tetrahedroseph is coming soon. http://tetrahedroseph.bandcamp.com/music sooooon, real soon.


To be continued: Look for Part 2 featuring Rehearsal 3 and how the next picture got me in trouble!


Next:

• That guy who plays Big Band bass gives an update. Part 2: Rehearsal 3 scrambled.

Previous posts in this series:

1. "2019 Big Band Series Warning from Steemseph" https://steempeak.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon or https://steemit.com/music/@steemseph/caution-2019-big-band-series-from-steemseph-coming-soon

FIGHT SPAM!

Thanks for the support!

Look for other Steem neighbors on Twitter too! We must spread the word about Steem on the other social media platforms.

https://twitter.com/tetrahedroseph

Show the world that Steem is more than Steemit.com.


This post has been created with Steempeak (https://steempeak.com/@steemseph) it may also appear on Wordpress. Rest assured, my links come back to us here at Steem.

Hey, look! Free Music:


https://bandcamp.com/tetrahedrosephjosephperry




Sort:  

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49