Watch Two Rock Drumming Video Clips From My Live Shows!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

I let someone talk me out of drumming for 6+ years while only playing ~3 times during that span, so I'm making up for lost time. I usually want to be out of the spotlight with my drumming, but it's time to change that and share what I can do. I'd appreciate your time to hear me out below! The clips are short, but I'm confident you'll like what you hear.

These clips are to give a better idea of my acoustic sound since play my Open Mic entries on my electronic kit. The electronic kit doesn't let me to show much emotion, given that my back is to the camera and I'm facing a wall. It's also not as natural to play as most triggers have 2-3 unique zones, so it requires lots of focus for stick accuracy. The playback audio on the electronic set also sounds terrible without good headphones or speakers for bass (which then makes it sound awesome).

On to the live stuff! Enjoy the show!!

This first softer clip is a basic improvised interlude during a guitar change. Never practiced, never done before, just made up! The lead guitarist and I have played together on and off since college, so we can read each others' minds. It's a rush to jam on stage in front of a live crowd without having any direction. The lead singer was pacing around waiting for us to wrap up, but we didn't feel like it. The secret to taking over... don't make eye contact with the front man and simply follow your guitarist!

This next heavier and more complex clip is from last last year when we opened up for Sponge (90's hit called Plowed). I got to meet the drummer and get a picture with him. We also got to open up for Hinder at a famous venue another time. My favorite fill is a double bass drum burst with splash cymbals at 2:03, which I repeat on the larger cymbals shortly after. It's subtle on the clip, but it's powerful blasting it out live. I'm not a big fan of the song writing, but all of the drumming is my original stuff.

Bonus: My first Open Mic entry in case you missed it. Please listen to it with headphones/speakers with good bass to get all of the proper sound.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@steemmatt/steemit-open-mic-week-59-drum-cover-of-red-hot-chili-peppers-dani-california

Please resteem if you don't mind helping me spread some drumming around the community.

Thanks to @luzcypher and @pfunk for Open Mic night giving me an outlet to dust off the electronic drums again (literally), as well as @verbal-d and @passion-ground for their constructive feedback.

Thanks to all for listening. Please comment with your thoughts!

@steemmatt

Sort:  

So cool to see some of your live performances! Glad to hear you’ve been playing more lately too. Three time in six years is a real tragedy considering your talent.

Are you playing any gigs these days?

Thank you! I did a lot of tapping on the subway, work desk and dinner table, so that gave me a small outlet. Music is inside, so I visualized a lot and actually kept sharp enough that way.

Haven't gigged since around Feb/Mar this year since I couldn't mesh well with the singer "boss" of that band and let the relationship fizzle. I'll be only playing local shows in my city when they get a set here if I want to. They're from the neighboring state and prefer someone who doesn't have to travel for their home base. It was too much of a pain to pick me up from a train station/drop me off after hours of commuting with tons of gear. Real nice of him.

I've been jamming in the studio with some friends and working on some original material, which I'll probably post in the near future. I could easily gig around or be a hired gun in my city, and I'll get back into that once I hit some other goals first.

It's cool to see you playing in some live performances. I got a crack out of the lead singer having to pace a bit while you and the lead just did your own thing.

Cool that you got to open for Sponge, I imagine that was a pretty cool experience.

Thanks a lot. The lead singer was not the right match for me for many reasons I couldn't pretend to like, so we parted ways recently. I'll still be able to drum on local gigs in my city for them, but not do any touring, which I don't want to do anyway.

We also opened up for Hinder last year which was pretty fun. It was at a famous venue that was packed. A big rush to open up the entire show and get the crowd rocking. There's video of a bunch of my gigs and a radio show performance on YouTube, as well as two music videos I hate, but those will be buried forever.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47