This Year, a DJ's Saving My Life - Meet David Olam

in #music8 years ago

I'm a writer. My super power is sitting in front of a keyboard for days and never move anything other than my hands. It'll kill me if I'm not careful.

enter image description here

It's not that I don't like to exercise. Other than being really uncoordinated and all, it's alright and all, once I'm doing it. If I'm in a climate controlled space... and I've got my water, ate right before starting, and have my good shoes on.

enter image description here
OK, yeah, kind of high maintenance in this area of my life.

But if all the stars align, I'm fine with getting some exercise. The thing is... that's not enough.

It's really not enough to go for a walk. Or even to bring the treadmill tray/desk my husband-like being made for me so I can walk while I work (although I can go at about 2.5 mph without too many typos).

Each day at the gym, I need to spend some time SWEATING. Hard. Like to the point where there's sweat dripping into my sox. It's like shifting into overdrive, and it doesn't come naturally to me.

This Is the House of David ... Turn It UP!

A few years back, I got to work with this guy who goes by the name of David Olam. Our work had nothing to do with music - so this was one of those incredible discoveries we sometimes make among our acquaintances. You know, hidden talents that leave you going, "HUH? You can do THAT???"

I started listening as he'd make these new EDM mixes, and they GOT TO ME. In the car, sometimes while I work, while I do household chores... but especially, at the gym.

Put one of these mixes on, and BAM - it's almost like I think I can dance, or at least move somewhat rhythmically. The time flies - and before I know it, 70 MINUTES of hard cardio later... I've had the best workout ever. And it works every time.

enter image description here

Are You Sitting Too Much Now that You're on Steemit, Too?

How are we going to use all this Steem if we're DEAD? Granted, the lovely @mrs.steemit has started a fitness series specifically for Steemians. @sirwinchester has posted some pretty amazing dance vids. That alone should get us up and moving a bit.

enter image description here

But... if you could use a little something something to download, stick in your ears, and get your butt in gear, try any of the mixes here.

Meet David Olam

David Olam

I caught up with him, told him I'd like to do a piece about his mixes here on Steemit, and asked some questions I thought might interest you.

How long have you been doing this?

I started attempting to mix music in 2001.

How'd you get into making mixes?

I was introduced into the Rave scene in 1999 and fell in love with the music. I wanted to create my own “mix tapes” and started using software to cut and paste/mix. It was horrible but I was high at the time so I didn’t care.

How long does it take to do a new mix?

The process really starts with track selection and this can take quite a while if just browsing all the new tracks out there. I also listen to my favorite DJ’s and find tracks that way. The next process is to figure out how to arrange the tracks so they flow and are as close to “in key” as possible. Once you have your set down, it takes 1 to 2 hours depending on the set from start to finish. Before, I would do it over and over again to try and achieve the best mix. Now it comes much faster and easier.

What do you do with mixes you make?

I brand them and upload for the world to hear as well as add them to my phone so I can listen any time I want.

Tell me about the events you DJ

Before my son was born, I would get gigs at some of the biggest venues in Atlanta. I’ve had the pleasure to open up for some of the biggest names in the EDM industry. Of course, this lifestyle can be rough when you have a tendency to partake in the party favors so I got myself out. Now I look to partner with other Christian artists who are in the clubs bringing a message of love and hope.

What kind of feedback do you get from listeners?

In the beginning, I think people were being nice even though my track selection was always on point. As I started to learn about phrasing in music and beat measures/timing, my feedback has been very positive, even from those who don’t usually listen to this style of music.

What do you love most about this?

Putting together the perfect set that takes my listeners on a journey and watching the dance floor move.

Anything else you wish people knew?

Everyone deserves a story of hope and that hope is found in a personal relationship with Jesus Christ!

Where can people learn more about you and your mixes?

They can tune in here: http://www.mixcrate.com/olam

And reach me at [email protected]


If you like this post...
enter image description here
SteemitPatina

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Hello steemitpatina, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave.

More about robin hood whale

Nicely Done - Keep on Steeming!

Oh , wow! Thank you! That's exciting!! (and now I can't seem to stop !!!!'ing!)

You dont need to hang out with christens to not partake in "party favors"...you make your own path, god is with you. So is jesus and A few others hehe. What the heck is edm?

Electronic dance music xD there are many sub genres to distinguish styles, like drum and bass etc, so many i lost track long ago. My fav was acid trance, a "hardcore" style

A couple of examples from You Tube would have made it better. I've been told that it's OK to use other people's videos, so long as we attribute it to them.
Yes, I am sitting a lot. Maybe that's the plan. Half of all steemians die and help them to fund the out-of-Beta-phase. Are those really your high heels?

haha - No. I don't typically go much higher than flip-flops anymore without complaining.

YES! A YouTube video would be icing on the cake with this... unfortunately he doesn't have any that I could find even with my half-professional mad sleuthing skills. Worth the trip into Mixcrate to give a listen.

A couple of examples from You Tube would have made it better. I've been told that it's OK to use other people's videos, so long as we attribute it to them.
Yes, I am sitting a lot. Maybe that's the plan. Half of all steemians all die and help them to fund the 'out-of-Beta-phase'. Are those really your high heels?
I think that cat is about 80 words per minute isn't it? lol

Thank you for letting us know about DJ David Olam. I like this type of techno dance music while I am working. This was a great find, and I am excited to hear more of his mixes!

Enjoy! Let me know if you experience a sort of time warp while you listen, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50