The making of: Nemesis

in #music7 years ago (edited)



Every once and a while you meet someone that you are in awe of. You are in awe of how much they know. How much they share. How brilliant they are in all the things that they do. Sometimes you hit the jackpot and this brilliant person happens to be very cool and nice too.

Being on Steemit for 195 days I'm finding out there are so many people that fit into this category. I am always amazed by what I read, hear and see when scrolling through Steemit and my feed.

One day you decide you are bored and ask someone, @intheknow, if you can play with some music that they just wrote from scratch. Thinking back, this could have gone very badly.

Messing around with someone's original music.......thinking back......yeah, could have ended up very badly but it didn't and the first collaboration between us was made into a song called Sizzle - A Collab!. I love how it turned out. The energy of freedom he gave me when I asked to use his song gave me such freedom to try anything I wanted.

Growing up in a family where singers, musicians, and orchestra Directors were always around, hmmmm......let's just say I'm surprised I even asked. My only defense was I was bored and could not get his song out of my head because it was so good and then the scary thing happened to me.



Yup, I had an idea



@simgiel and @inthenow are both on a mission to see my music range broaden just a tad and my vocabulary too. Yes, the Urban dictionary now has a permanent place on my screen but I'm not that fast looking things up. If you use a word I don't know, you will 99% of the time, get back, "WHAT?" from me so you really could save yourself time and just write out all the words in the first place. 😂

Late one night I was on Soundcloud and came across this song.





It is beautiful, sad, and made me cry.

I think I listened to it 5 times that night.

The song 'Broken' is still in my head.

It is that hauntingly beautiful.



Fast forward to my last post and the newest video I have done with the help of @brisby, @inthenow, and from very long ago @simgirl.

I finally made a rap song. Kind of. I think it needs work but I'm only a human with idea's that sometimes drives others a tad batty. Anyway........

I am trying to learn to speak/sing rap, as I had said before, but really needed some words to get my head around. I had found a really great rap song written but it had a ton of swearing in it. Swearing is fine but I kept giggling while trying to say the words out loud. A giggling rapper? hmmm.......I don't think the world was ready for that yet, from me anyway.



Sooooooooooo...........



Yup, I knocked on Inthenow's DM door and asked if he might happen to have a rap song that didn't have that much swearing in it. It so happened he did. This rap song had no swaering in it at all. Nope. None.

What it did have was a lot of killing and kind of a lot of CREEPY in it.

BUT........I had asked!



Askers can not be choosey!

What's a little killing among friends?



I then recorded my voice a bunch of times trying to rap the newest killing spree song.

I was.........yup, you guessed it.......

I then asked @inthenow (Yes! he has now reached Sainthood!) if I could borrow a copy of Broken.

I handled it like glass. I knew I was asking to use a Masterpiece. I felt the weight of the responsiblity of all I was about to do. I put my big girl bra on, took a few deep breaths and tried out my idea.

I started to play around with my voice recording and part of the song Broken. I tried hard to make it sound good enough to send it back for Intheknow to listen to it.

Why? I know your wondering so I will tell you. The Ripper song was meant to be with part of the broken song. This I knew. Now to try and prove it to the person that wrote the song(s)



Let me make one thing very, very clear here. Playing around and trying new things is great and Steemit and the comunity have been mind blowingly nice to me when I have ever had an idea. Some idea's turn out cool, some so-so, some never see the light of day.

Saying that, IF the person I have borrowed from doesn't like what I have done for any reason I will never post it or share it..



The coolest thing then happened when I sent him the MP3 file. Intheknow hated it!!!! 😁

BUT!

He then got an idea!

He then made the beautiful song found here called Nemesis It's beautiful and haunting and creepy and wonderful. I don't know how he does it but he just keeps doing it and every time I am amazed.



YouTube





I was so amazed by the song, I had it on instant replay for about 30 minutes 😎

I jumped on my game Rift. I had a ball shooting a bunch of film in one of my favorite dimensions I had made long ago.

The rest is history!

I hope you enjoy the video as much as I did making it!!

Thank You @inthenow for being you!



Love,

Snook






Sort:  

e6ba1bc9-dfff-4fe4-a031-fb06b95af00f-91c92ae6-0714-4639-8804-1e37acfe8e4e-v1.png
You do know that you are super awesome.. right? Wow, this is a great post, and I am honored to know you. And I love that you are branching out into different things that most other people would be like... hell nah! :-D

And yes, @simgirl and I will get you up to speed on your urban dictionary translations, you can bank on that LOL. :-) So keep doing what you are doing, and that is being yourself and having fun!

And thanks for sharing your ideas about the music and the collaborations it is very cool. And it makes me very happy that you are digging my music, that is just plain cool and I appreciate it more than you know.

Have a great day my friend!

I'm so happy you liked the post!! I have been having so much fun learning new things and yes, some frustration too LOLL

You are a great teacher and thank You for that!!!

More people need to know how great your music is!

and now I really need sleep :D

Very cool video and song! Love the dimension and the colors!

I don't know how you find the perfect ones but you always do LOLLL

You have come far, oh padawan. Give it time, you will see. The soul of a rapper you will be. Play nice with the music man. He will train you, fast as he can. The heart of a rapper you must take. Soon, the attention of others, you will make.....That first video had me all alert. It's truly beautiful and sad indeed. And now I am off to bed. Assuming I shake these troubles from my head. So, I bid you @snook, a peaceful goodnight. I shall return once again, upon my last freedom of daylight, before my daily work week begins.

The Force is Strong with You @pixiehunter @snook is on her true path, and is learning the Ways of the Force. With proper guidance she will realize her true potential. Do, not try.. will take her far.

Lol, indeed :-) She has a very strong force.

Assuming I shake these troubles from my head.

I hope you slept well hugs and yes, that song is very haunting but I'm happy :D you felt it too!!

Thank You for being you and your beautiful comment!

Sleep did not come easily last night. After 2 hours of tossing, I got up. Finally a little after 8, my wheels quit turning. I was able to sleep a solid 6 hours.
I'm glad someone likes me :-) I like that I have new friends here. Keeps me somewhat sane. Hugs to you my lovely talented friend.

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thank you for the upvote and I do vote for curie as a witness :D

I am very happy you liked this music too!

Super; Thanks so much for your support. Keep the interesting posts coming to us :)

Amazing.. I was particularly intrigued by Nemesis!

Thank You!! yes @intheknow writes great songs and music!! I'm just lucky to be a part of it all :D thanks for watching!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 137 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61