CHALLENGE: The end of the year: Steemit top 50?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I have been meaning to do @verhp11’s challenge for a few days now so here it is.

The end of the year is approaching which means there are going to be all kind of music top-50-100-2000 lists which are played on the last days of the year on the radio or online.
The rules:

• Challenge at least three persons to participate
• Use the tag #steemithitslist
• Select a minimum of 10 and a maximum of 30 songs in your top list
• The Steemit list will be constructed out of the songs that are posted with the hashtag.
• Put a link to your own post in the comments of this post
• The final list, with playlist, will be posted on 31 december.

wq0aa9s9hr.png

Source

I'm only going to do FIVE songs as I have limited time and besides, I’ll be here all day if I do more.

I note that @verhp11 has not submitted any songs himself yet. I’m sure its coming knowing what a music nut he is.

My #alternativeweekend and #focuson series may think you to believe I’m into all this ‘weird shit’ and don’t like any mainstream music.

I may surprise you with some of my choices then. I don’t want to bore you all to tears with strange stuff you have never heard before.


Chops’s top 5 (in unsorted order)

  • Rui Da Silva - Touch Me ft. Cassandra

The nineties had so much great dance music, and this is one of the best.

  • Gorillaz - Dare

I’m not a great fan of this band besides this one that had me bouncing about to that funky back sound. Great video too.

  • Scissor Sisters – Mary

This is another band that I’m not a great fan of besides this one and Laura. Is it something to do with female names I like?

  • Daft Punk - Get Lucky

The mastery of old timer Nile Rogers with his 'Chic' sound and the vocals of Pharrell Williams do it for me. Nile just keeps going doesn't he?

  • Bruno Mars - Locked Out Of Heaven

OK, my 'like' seletion of new music is very small but I'm just making a point here. I do actually like this song though I hear it far too often on the radio.

I nominate:

@catweasel – As he hardly ever posts but is a bit of a secret music buff.
@katharsisdrill – Who I found out recently, is into head banging music.
@natubat – Who has heard of Porcupine Tree, that deserves a mention in itself?

There you are, my FIVE and I bet you are shocked aren’t you? What’s with all the new music shit?

There's music here from the current century! I’m here just to say there is some newer stuff that is worth listening too.

I won't discount anything just because its new and that nothing is good anymore. My father used to say that, and I'm not the 'stick in the mud' like he was.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

This list is indeed a surprise, I did expected more rock/prog :) But nevertheless a great list of songs.... Mine are on their way :)

I like to keep people on their toes ;), my tastes are varied to say the least. Looking forward to yours.

I was enjoying that - and then I saw my name at the bottom! So I'll take you up on the challenge in a day or two. Should be fun :)
The first three tunes I had completely forgotten about - and I love all of them. I slightly prefer "Feel Good Inc" by Gorillaz, because I like its melancholy undertones. I'd forgotten about that one too.
I like Dare because anything with Shaun Ryder has to be good. I was on a hillwalk recently and for some reason we started singing Kinky Afro. They don't make tunes like that these days!

Bruno has a great throw back sound that is really something special. His latest album is just some good fun music to get you moving. It is hard not to dance when a fast Bruno Mars song is on. Nice selection of songs!

Oooh yes I want to play at this, awesome idea will bang out a post over the Weekend - so many top tunes though it's going to be hard to limit them!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @slobberchops!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.238 which ranks you at #2749 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 236 places in the last three days (old rank 2985).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 239 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79