Music of the Day : Big Star - September Gurls

in #music17 days ago

musicdays.jpg
Source

"September Gurls" is a song by American rock band Big Star, released in 1974. It was first released on their second studio album, Radio City, released on February 20, 1974. It was also released as a single in August 1974. It was written by Alex Chilton and produced by John Fry and Big Star. Source

Big Star - September Gurls

Lyrics

[Verse 1]
September gurls do so much
I was your Butch, and you were touched
I loved you, well, never mind
I've been crying all the time

[Chorus]
December boys got it bad
December boys got it bad

[Verse 2]
September gurls, I don't know why
How can I deny what's inside?
Even though I'll keep away
They will love all our days

[Chorus]
December boys got it bad
December boys got it bad

[Bridge]
When I get to bed late at night
That's the time she makes things right
Ooh, when she makes love to me
(Ooh)

[Guitar Solo]

[Verse 1]
September gurls do so much
I was your Butch, and you were touched
I loved you, well, nevermind
I've been crying all the time

[Chorus]
December boys got it bad
December boys got it bad
December boys got it bad, ooh

[Guitar Solo]

Songwriter : Alex Chilton
Source

"September Gurls" in the lyrics is written as "September Girls" in some places, but as far as I know, the original is "September Gurls" as in the title. Anyway, the song was named in tribute to the Beach Boys' song "California Girls", so both are considered correct. It was released by Ardent Records, but due to lack of promotion and Ardent Records' distribution problems, "September Gurls" and their album "Radio City" did not achieve commercial success, but they became a milestone in the history of power pop music.

The Big Star band and their albums were ignored in the 70s, so their albums and singles did not achieve commercial success, but even though it was ignored at the time, "September Gurls" is one of the legendary songs and I think it still is. Big Star was a very successful band and they inspired many other bands.

"September Gurls" is one of the best power pop songs, and still is, even though it was released half a century ago. Although it was not a commercial success and did not chart, "September Gurls" is one of the biggest number one songs. It is a truly artistic work, especially in terms of chime melody and musical structure.

Enjoy the music and stay with Love

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52