Tune Tuesday: What You have to Call it When You Miss Music Monday

in #music5 years ago

Dammit! So I was in the middle of uploading a dtube and realised it was Monday and I forgot to do my Music Monday! Never mind, the power of alliteration will save me, and I'll just smash out a Tune Tuesday instead!!!

Untitled 1.jpg

If you're a fan of reggae, I highly recommend Scratch Radio. I usually shout at our google home robot thingie: 'PLAY SCRATCH RADIO ON TUNE IN' on Saturday mornings, as we love us a bit of reggy on the weekend, but seems I've just extended the reggae vibe through the week. We've got tons of it on vinyl, but rarely get chance to break it out. It's remarkable how these days you just shout at something and music happens. You can play Scratch Radio here and they even have their track listings too.

image.png

What is also cool about it is this little map where you can see the concentration of those listening to reggae on this radio station! @phillyc, where's New Zealand gone?

image.png

So, my three tunes for this week are:

1. Johnny Clarke Declaration of Rights

We saw Johnny Clarke in Melbourne a few years ago and he was freaking awesome. Still rocking the dreads, still bringing the dread sound. Love love love.

2. Lee Scratch Perry - Chase The Devil

Never get tired of this one. First heard of Lee Scratch on a Beastie Boys tune, being the ignoramus person I am with no background in reggae, and was so enamoured I went and saw him in Melbourne with a total random guy I met at a party who actually knew a heap of stuff about reggae and had a huge stack of vinyl, so I invited him to come and it was awesome.

3. The Aggravotors

And number 3 is just a super chilled sweeeet tune from the Aggravotors - they brought Johnny Clarke's sound alive - this just makes me wanna melt in the way dub only can melt me.

@perceptualflaws, here 'tis, love ya, thanks for your tunes this week and sorry I missed Music Monday. I appreciate that you came looking to see if I had. YOu are an inspiration to me - music every day of the week yeah, not just Mondays.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

Sort:  

Lol, was it just another manic Monday 🤗 I've shared a jam I love to blast loudly when feeling lifted. The bigger the bang the better on this track!

Posted using Partiko Android

This is awesome, and bloody perfect for my crazy Tuesday. There's thunder and lightening and we just had a bottle of wine, so this totally works well. Love the title of this band!

It's beer30 in my neck of the woods, I had a hunch u might just like this moody banger. I can't quite classify it, which is generally my favourite musical taste. Cheers 🍻🍷🍾

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha, I'm terrible at identifying genres, especially these days, it used to be Dad's music and my friend's music, now there is 89564387.9 genres to choose from.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Some great choices this week @riverflows .. Lee scratch .. The Upsetter, what a crazy genius (song hook stolen by the Prodigy) .. I've also seen him live and he is excellent. Not seen the Aggravotors or Johnny before .. but they are still awesome! :D Your choices reminded me that I saw the Mad professor a couple of years back .. then I remembered I'd seen Jah Wobble over the summer (my mind works in mysterious ways lol) so here you go .. hope you enjoy :D

Ah love cognitive music leaps. Know Jah Wobble .. what was he like live? Great song and awesome film clip. How exactly does one become funicular??? Lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @riverflows .. sorry haven't been about for a couple of days .. yeah he was really good, far better than I expected .. very much a pleasant surprise. He is quite the geezer! lol

And yeah saw Mad Professor too....

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01