On My Turntable Today - #3 - The Flaming Lips - Stardeath and White Dwarfs with Henry Rollins and Peaches doing Dark Side of the MoonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

OnMyTurntable-Flaming-Lips-DarkSideofTheMoon.png

Life with no music is no life at all. Please join me as I discover new records and do some crate-digging for the classics.

I'm brand new to the Steem community and I'm eager to meet new people. Please drop me a note to say hello! Thanks you so much for visiting my new music series! - @rebele93

If you are just getting started with this series, please check out the Intro post here: https://steemit.com/music/@rebele93/on-my-turntable-today-series-introduction


IMG_2227.JPG

IMG_2228.JPG

This record is one of my favorites in my entire collection. Before you ever even play the record, the artwork will catch your attention. Babies shooting Pink Floyd rainbow lasers from their eyes? Come on...how can we go wrong from here.

I got this record a few years back, and no matter whom I play it for, I always get a great response. I grew up listening to The Dark Side of the Moon. Before I got this record i didn’t know much about the Flaming Lips. I will be getting more of their music, so if anyone has a recommendation on what I should get next, drop me a comment below.

My wife and I saw them at Red Rocks with Primus. We were dead center about 30 rows up. (Perfect night...downtown Denver skyline visible... sun setting over the mountains…) After Primus came out (and absolutely killed it), the Flaming lips started up. When they did Race for the Prize, Wayne Coyne rolled out into the crowd in a giant hamster-ball and sang from the stands, almost right in front of us. Awesome!!! Red Rocks may be the best concert venue on Earth. At least the best that I’ve seen anyway. They were wonderful in concert, and I'm looking forward to my next opportunity to see them again.

IMG_2229.JPG

IMG_2230.JPG



The Flaming Lips - Money (feat. Henry Rollins)



The Flaming Lips frontman Wayne Coyne (in a giant hamster-ball)


It takes a lot of balls to re-record and release a new version of a classic like Dark Side of the Moon. These guys put together another, altogether different version of the songs that many of us grew up loving. To top it off, they added in Henry Rollins and Peaches? Are you kidding me????

Rollins starts off the album already angry…”I’ve been mad for fucking years...” Perfect.

You must add this record to your collection if you consider yourself a Pink Floyd fan. They somehow stayed very true to the original while giving the record an altogether fresh spin. Bravo. Listen and repeat.

There is a new album available on their website, but i have not purchased it yet. I’ll likely do a review of it once I have it.

IMG_2231.JPG
Look how beautiful this record is.

IMG_2232.JPG


The Flaming Lips on the web:


Next up in this series:
On My Turntable Today - #4 - Stranger Things -Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein- Volume One and Two

If you liked this post, please consider following me at: https://steemit.com/@rebele93

I'm brand new here and could use all the support I can get! Here is a link to my introduction posts if you'd like to learn more about me: https://steemit.com/introducemyself/@rebele93/another-minnow-learning-to-swim-in-a-very-big-pond

Cheers!
Mike Bryant (AKA:Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52