On My Turntable Today - Series IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

OnMyTurntableSeries.png

Please join me in this new daily series as I discover new records and crate-dig for some older classics.


I'm Mike Bryant, AKA: @rebele93, and one of my very favorite things in life is listening to music. I love to go out dancing!

I started hitting nightclubs back in Houston around 1987. Fake ID in hand, we waited in long lines to get into our favorite clubs. N-R-G, Club 6400, Power Tools, and Later Club Some, and my all time favorite Numbers Nightclub. (Proteus in Austin gets a nod as well) The rave scene was alive and well across Texas and we often traveled to hit huge raves in Austin, Dallas, and even up to Oklahoma City on occasion.

MeandRende.jpg
Me and a close friend about to hit the clubs. (Likely Numbers, then Club Some circa 1995. I was super skinny back then!)

DJRoom.png
My listening room.

I always hated hearing a great song in a club and then not being able to go home and hear it again. I would ask the DJ for the track-name and artist, then go and seek out the record. The first vinyl I ever bought was C.C.C.P. - American Soviets. I still love that song.

I got my first TEAC belt-drive turntable from my father. This suited my purposes for a while as it did what it was supposed to...play records. I started collecting vinyl randomly in highschool and college. After i graduated I was working at a giant athletic club in downtown Houston. W were cleaning out a closet and I found an old dusty Technics 1200 turntable. Told me I could have because the club had just upgraded all of the aerobics rooms to use CD players instead of vinyl! (I’m old really old) Before anyone could say no, I’d loaded ‘my Precious’ into the trunk of my car. Once I had both turntables at home, the next logical step was to hook up a mixer. All of the records I’d collected could now be mixed together! Brilliant!

It wasn’t long before I was looking to replace the TEAC belt-drive turntable with another Technics 1200. I never really had the money, and when I moved to Dallas after a few years, I sold my gear to help pay for the move. My first paychecks were spent on two brand new black Technics 1210 MK2s which I still use today.

My musical taste would be mostly electronic music, but I like most kinds of music. I don’t tend to follow Rap, Hip-Hop, Soul, or Country Music, but there are exceptions to every genre. There are other genres I enjoy if the situation is appropriate, but I don’t follow quite so closely such as bluegrass, and metal. I tend to stay closest to deep house, tech house, and minimal(which my wife hates!). I also like 80’s dance, Industrial, Dark-wave, Drum and Bass, EDM, Dubstep, Trance, and Trip-hop. I’m sure I’m leaving some out.

I love getting new vinyl and I am a sucker for colored vinyl and rare or hard to find records.
I hope to feature some of my new and old records in this series to introduce people to some new music and also remind people of some old classics. I’ll give some reviews and impressions along the way, and spotlight cool records that people should seek out.

I’ve DJ’d a few weddings(my daughter’s included), but it’s really not what I enjoy. Music and DJing has alway just something that I’ve done to add personal pleasure to my life. I enjoy getting together with old friends and playing records until the sun comes up while consuming copious amounts of high gravity alcohol (or until one of us passes out.)

lasers wide.jpg
Numbers Nightclub - Houston

I have a special place in my heart for Numbers Nightclub in Houston. I've been going there for 25+ years now. I took over as their primary webmaster a few years back and I also provide the club with trippy videos that they play between songs and while they play music with no accompanying videos. http://Numbersnightclub.com

I have been inspired to learn how to produce music as well and have been working in Ableton live and experimenting with synthesizers for about 5 years.(That’s a whole other conversation)

If you like this series, please consider giving me a follow to see all of my future music posts.

First up in the series:
On My Turntable Today - #1 - LCD Soundsystem - American Dream
https://steemit.com/music/@rebele93/on-my-turntable-today-1-lcd-soundsystem-american-dream

Cheers,
Mike Bryant (AKA: Rebele93)
https://steemit.com/@rebele93

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Wow, your listening room is epic - that was some serious investment into sound appreciation! looking forward to more in this series, especially because we definitely have similar tastes in music

Thanks. I'm trying to post daily, so check back often! BTW, your intro post has gotten quite a lot of attention. Nice job! The video you put together was awesome. Cheers! Rebele93

Thanks, I put a bit of work into my videos so it's nice to see they're being received well so far. I will indeed check back often! D

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70