Travel Tunes Tuesday- Germany

in #music6 years ago

About 6 years ago, I I quit my Spanish teaching job and decided on a whim that I was going to travel to Europe. Smart, considering I wasn't going to have a paycheck anymore. Obviously spending money on travel was the reasonable thing to do (note sarcasm).

I don't know why I thought this was a good idea, but I think a lot of my ideas are good until I realize ultimately that they're not.

Sometimes my "bad" ideas turn out alright, though.

Quitting that job and traveling to Europe was the best "bad" idea I've ever had, but that story is for another time.

I was dating a guy from Germany (Ich hatte einen Freund aus Deutschland), and he was one of the main people I was going to visit after quitting.

I got lucky and also had the chance to visit a friend girl I had in Germany who just happened to only live half an hour from him, and also one of my best girlfriends in Belgium and another friend I had in France.

So hey, even though traveling with no paycheck is pretty irrational, at least I saved on hotels!

Since I was going to be staying at the boyfriend's parents, I wanted to learn German so I could speak a little bit to them.

They live in East Germany in a town that tourists never visit called Jena. A lot of the "older" generations in East Germany don't speak English because they were forced to learn Russian instead. So as a result, I had to come prepared.

I have to say, the tourists are really missing out. Jena is a gem of a town. I freaking loved it and thought all of the architecture was great, the food was wonderful, and the bread was out of this world good.

Anyway, to prepare for the trip, I stocked up on lots of German songs because I've found that one of the easiest and fastest ways for me to learn a language is by translating song lyrics and studying the grammar patterns like a nerd who stands by the punchbowl during the school dance.

Some of these songs were recommendations from the German, and others I just found on my own through youtube or through my girlfriend from Germany who lives in Kassel.

Culcha Candela - Monsta

This one makes me happy! I can't help but dance!

Seeed- Augenbling

This makes me laugh because it basically says "Your eyes make bling bling and all is forgotten."

Sounds like a cool trick! I need to teach my eyes how to make bling bling, haha. Even though my eyes don't make bling bling, all is forgotten anyway. I forgot where my keys are, so I can't lock my room. I forgot to do my laundry today, so I have to wear dirty pajamas to bed. No bling bling here.

Laffee - Danke

I love this song because it’s dedicated to her parents. I wish my parents could understand it, because I want to dedicate it to them!

It’s so beautiful. Most songs are about romantic love, but I think this is equally as powerful. Love for parents and vice versa is some of the deepest, strongest, and most unconditional love you will find in the world. I feel SO grateful for my parents every time I heard this song.

She says this:

You're my life, you're the world for me. I love you unendingly (infinitely).

Thank you for every word you spoke when I was sad.

Thank you for every day you were by my side.

Bushido- Du Bist Immer Noch Hier

This one just makes me think of being in the car driving from Jena to the Czech Republic. It's just maybe a 2-hour drive, so if you're ever in East Germany, you might as well pop over to Prague if you can.

There's actually a really cool rideshare app/website in Germany called carpoolworld.com that you can use to ride in a car with someone who is already traveling the same direction!

These are the things I love about Europe/ Germany. Germany especially is very efficient. This app is the perfect solution for cutting down on traffic and pollution. Plus it allows people to make a little extra money just by taking passengers to a destination that they were already driving to, anyway.

We took a rideshare to Prague and had about 8 rides to choose from, so there is a LOT of supply on the site. It's totally awesome!!

I really loved Germany. Every city is clean and nature is beautiful. I took a train from West to East, and then another train from East to Belgium and I just remember being completely enamored with the beautiful views out my window.

I also had so much fun with people that I met there and if you have a chance to go, you definitely should!

What are some of your favorite tunes that you've heard while traveling, or that make you think of travels?

<3, @nomadicsoul

P.S. If anyone who is German sees this, feel free to sprich bitte deutsch mit mir! Ich möchte mehr Deutsch lernen und sprechen!

Sort:  

Waaaas? Du warst in meiner Heimatstadt?? Did we talk about this when we met? I don’t remember. But now you’re an extra special friend since you know Jena!!! :) It’s pretty isn’t it? And can you believe I’ve never been to Prague even though I lived so close to it.

Here are some more German songs for you


(Most famous East German song ever - don’t worry about the lyrics, even we don’t understand them).


For when Germany wins the World Cup (or anything else that’s worth celebrating in Germany 😄)


Just a random one from more recent years that I like :)

Joa,Jena girl! :) Ich vergesse auch, aber iche denke uh...I think we did haha.
Viele danke für die Lieder! Du bist toll!!

Oh, man, I could be up all night dropping links for songs that take me back to wherever/whenever. These two songs popped into my head first, so will stop at these and go to bed!

First one is from Maná from my time in Latin America:

Second one is from Nidji from my time in Indonesia.

Ha! The cheese is thick on some of these old songs, but I love it! It's all tied up to the experience and probably not easily understood if you weren't then and there. It's amazing the power of music to bring you right back, belting out the lyrics with friends....

omg I LOVE Maná !!!!!! Look at you, even putting the accent mark in there! lol YAY I'm so excited about the second song because I've never heard it and was looking for new Indonesian songs. This is perfect. Thanks for droppin' these links @eoj!

That whole Nidji album is fun, look it up. Not sure they're even a band anymore!

Oh yeah, forgot to mention: I was a Spanish teacher too :) And we're hosting yet another Spanish teacher and her family this weekend in Bangkok! Orale!

Hahaha I'm cracking up on this!

I was dating a guy from Germany

That was like one of the reason I want to visit a place xD and song like breakaway from kelly made me want me to just always be on the road.

Haha @macchiata you're so much fun, do you know that?!

LOL 💎 💎 let your eyes shine on girl!

Hahaha I imagine them like diamonds or something if they're blingin' like that!

I definitely know a way to make your eyes bling bling

hahahaha @goldmatters you would.

Hallo @nomadicsoul, herzlich willkommen auf Steemit.

Wenn Du Fragen zu Steemit hast, oder Dich mit anderen „Steemians“ austauschen magst, schau einfach mal auf unserem Discord-Chat unter https://discord.gg/g6ktN45 vorbei. Mehr Informationen über den deutschsprachigen Discord-Chat findest Du in diesem Beitrag.

Wenn Du auf Deutsch schreibst, verwende immer #deutsch als einen der 5 Hashtags, um Deine Reichweite zu erhöhen.

Unter dem folgenden Link findest Du einige Anleitungen, die Dir den Einstieg in das Steem-Universum deutlich erleichtern werden: Deutschsprachige Tutorials für Steemit-Neulinge: Ein Überblick

Vielen Dank für all diese Informationen! Danke für die Hilfe @neuvorstellungen

I loved your post. I really want to live life like yours and maybe someday i will. My favorite travel song is "When your mind's made up" - Glen Hansard Marketa Irglova . I knew this song from a movie named Once. Have a go at this song. Its great.

Thank you @cave-man! Yay thanks for sharing a link!!! Listening now...it's awesome! It makes me smiling knowing I'm discovering new amazing music that is special to other people just because of steemit

great! the entire playlist of the movie is great btw.

Haha songs are how a lot of people learn another language. I am listening to Persian songs to learn Farsi cause I have a lot of Persian friends lol !

@ttanarcy ok that's super awesome and unique!!! Why do you have a lot of Persian friends? A lot live in your area? I've only ever had one Persian friend and he was so much fun. He said things like "turn off the candle" haha

Haha yeah they call lights candles because their language is older than electricity. I live in san Francisco and a lot of Persians live here. This is the most diverse place I have been. I have literally met people from all over the world

Sehr interessanter Beitrag! Danke dafür und es gibt einen Follow + Upvote. Beste Grüße aus Paderborn

wow! Indeed your trip is wonderful, I also wish in the future will travel to many countries. At first I looked at the background image, I thought you gave the flag of Germany and talked about the German team that is in the world cup. kaka

hahaha everyone is watching the world cup now!

oh yeah! World cup is the place to connect people

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94