Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 2 – Bic, Boh and Pearl Runga

in #music6 years ago

Today, my picks are a bit more recent than yesterday’s, with a trio of talented sisters.

nz-music-month.jpg

Bic Runga would be the best known, as a singer-songwriter, and is the one I’m mostly featuring. Her first album, Drive, was released in 1997. Here’s the title track, which is a delicate, acoustic song.

Also from the first album, but a little more rocky is Sway

Another gorgeous song is Beautiful Collision from her 2002 album of the same name

She released another album more recently, in 2016 – Close Your Eyes. To me, it has a bit of a different flavour to her older works. I can’t quite put my finger on how I would describe it. More uptempo maybe? Until today I hadn’t heard anything from it, so don’t know what my favourites are yet, so let’s go with the title track again.

Her sisters

Boh is another great singer, with more of a rock flavour. As well as a solo career, she’s the singer for Stellar, and here’s my favourite of their songs, Violent.

There is another sister Pearl, who isn’t very well known. But here’s her covering Bette Davis Eyes

She is also part of synth three piece band thE.brOKen. Here’s their song Left To Our Devices

They are originally from Christchurch, with a Malaysian Chinese mum and Maori dad.
If you want to see a bit more of their background, here’s Pearl paying a visit to their old neighbourhood

Featured on the NZ Music Month website today

Jon Lemmon with It’s Gonna Be Alright, which is a very happy boppy song, that I might even choreo for my arthritis oldies. It was released last November, and apparently it’s played everywhere in NZ. Maybe I better start listening to the radio!

The video was shot in Wellington, and although I don’t know who everybody is, I spied Ruth Gottlieb who was one of City Councillors for our part of the city, till she retired. And I spotted Island Bay beach.

NZ website MuzicNet says:

Sometimes the message arrives at the perfect time, wrapped in just the right way, delivered with a beaming smile. Welcome to the world of Jon Lemmon. In a time of growing uncertainty where strange forces work to build walls between us, he makes music to bring us back together. The journey starts here and the word we hear is that it’s gonna be alright.

This music comes bounding out with warm, euphoric tones, bright synths and a futuristic aesthetic. Its core is a creative optimism, an infectious mantra that hope is stronger than fear, and that as humans we have far more in common with each other than we often believe. And this music is all about believing. It’s modern dance unshackled by contemporary anxiety. It's the visionary optimism of a sixties movement. It’s made by a guy whose name really is Jon Lemmon.

Born in California, Jon ended in up Wellington at the age of 19 and quickly found his place in the vibrant underground New Zealand music scene, known for its community-mindedness and D.I.T. (Do It Together) attitude. He found his sound playing underground festivals in the middle of the dense New Zealand forests, a style of music that was intrinsic to the land and the scene he found himself in. Jon Lemmon’s our kind of pied piper and It’s Gonna Be Alright promises to be the start of an extraordinary musical and communal journey…. Leave your cynicism at the door. Let go….

Though the Wellington library website says he has produced earlier music:

Jon Lemmon is an electro-pop singer/songwriter whose work explores community and inclusiveness. His 2016 single ‘When it Came Along’ was funded through crowdsourcing, while his 2011 album Demos/Sketches was released under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial 3.0 licence.

Thanks for listening . If you got through everything, you're a real stayer and I take my hat off to you!

Videos from Youtube. Top image is the official logo and appears everywhere. This copy came from Eventfinda.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I listened to all of them!

Give this lady a prize! Well done!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I didn't know about Pearl. That's a great cover of Bette Davis Eyes!

When Chuck & her husband moved to Chch they were walking down the street and Bic was walking along and said, "Hey Jarrod" and he said hey. Chuck said, "HOLY SHIT! that was BIC RUNGA!" and Jarrod was like- yeah- we went to school together. Chuck was astonished because Bic was a superstar at the time and Chuck was from England.

Like when I first arrived in Auckland and we were having brunch outside a cafe. Across the street, Lucy Lawless was also outside having brunch at a cafe with her partner and daughter. and I said, "HOLY SHIT! IT"S XEEEEEEEEEEEEEENAAAAA!!!!!!!!!"

I didn't even have a tv but I knew who she was, she was so famous at the time (mid 90s). And my Kiwi mates all said, "Yeah, meh. She's just a Kiwi."

You guys.... ;)

Yeah, kiwis know the art of the understatement. That's not quite the phrase I'm looking for, but you know what I mean.

Believe it or not you and your Steemic friends are my connection to New Zealand. I really had no idea about what was going on in New Zealand until I met you. I like all of these and I'm listening on my way home from work.

Ah yes, we're just a little country at the arse end of the world :-)
But I think we produce more than our fair share of decent athletes, musicians and other creative types. Glad we're livening up your journey home.

Brings back memories of downloading Bic Runga's album from Napster..on dial up..LOL
Image result for napster

Oh god, yes, I remember downloading on dial up. But I only tried to download one song at a time. And even one took hours.

Jon Lemmon ? Is that for real or a cute attempt at association or alignment with the Beatle? have not listened to him yet ... I have to spend some time working {smile}

I don't know - there seems to be no earlier info on him than him coming here from California at age 19. Or if there is, I haven't found it. D'ya think that's a bit odd?

Work - the curse of the music listening class...

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52