You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Celebrating NZ music throughout May: 2 – Bic, Boh and Pearl Runga

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I didn't know about Pearl. That's a great cover of Bette Davis Eyes!

When Chuck & her husband moved to Chch they were walking down the street and Bic was walking along and said, "Hey Jarrod" and he said hey. Chuck said, "HOLY SHIT! that was BIC RUNGA!" and Jarrod was like- yeah- we went to school together. Chuck was astonished because Bic was a superstar at the time and Chuck was from England.

Like when I first arrived in Auckland and we were having brunch outside a cafe. Across the street, Lucy Lawless was also outside having brunch at a cafe with her partner and daughter. and I said, "HOLY SHIT! IT"S XEEEEEEEEEEEEEENAAAAA!!!!!!!!!"

I didn't even have a tv but I knew who she was, she was so famous at the time (mid 90s). And my Kiwi mates all said, "Yeah, meh. She's just a Kiwi."

You guys.... ;)

Sort:  

Yeah, kiwis know the art of the understatement. That's not quite the phrase I'm looking for, but you know what I mean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53