HBro's Album Review #3 - From A Room by Chris Stapleton

in #music7 years ago

How’s It Hangin’ Steemians? - @IAmHBroS

Here is the third album review. I am a lover of music and especially love taking a journey through an album. I am the guy that enjoys sitting down with an album and listening through it. So I thought, "Why not do some album reviews?"
Now, I am not the most accredited album reviewing person in the world but these are just my thoughts.
Also, this will be more of a 'what I like" more than a what I dislike. (Unless I really dislike something)
Some albums that I reviewed I will be an avid follower of the artists music while others I just may be starting to listening to them or maybe I have never heard an artist before. I feel like that will make some things interesting in the future.

BTW I am loving the support from doing these album reviews! Make sure to request some albums so I can do what you guys want!

This weeks album is “From A Room: Volume 1” by Chris Stapleton!

What Do I Know About The Artist?

Chris Stapleton has taken the country world by storm in the last couple of years. To add to it he has even impressed many other fans of different genres because he is a great songwriter and a great singer. Vocals and words are what move people and he has them as loaded weapons in his pockets ready to use and woo any crowd that listens to him. He has 2 grammys for best country album and best country solo performance, but those grammy are not the only awards. He has been nominated for over 80 awards and has won the majority of them. As for Chris Stapleton as a musician he is a triple threat with guitar, vocals, and songwriting and he can put on a show that can change your life. He came to do a show in my hometown and I didn’t get to go see him because the show sold out in about a week. So if you asked me if I respect this man, I would say yes without question.

What do I Know About The Album?

This album was released May 5, 2017 and I honestly didn’t know about it until about a month after that it was released. I started to notice Stapleton when he started getting big in the country music scene and saw that he only had one album out for, what seemed like, forever. I kept coming back and checking and then one day it was there and it didn’t disappoint. I see now that He has volume two coming out and I cannot wait!!!

Track 1 - “Broken Halos

A good mid tempo country jive starts out this album setting the tone and the pace. Stapleton’s voice has a sad but understanding tone in the way he is singing. His wife who is the backup singer compliments his voice very well. Very concise song and a good one to listen to! The drums on this song sound so fat and it sounds great! I really enjoy this song and I recommend you give it a listen.

Track 2 - “Last Thing I Needed, The First Thing This Morning”

This song is sad and slow and has a ¾ time to it giving it the endless loop feel. The electric guitar that plays through the whole song has a cool modulation effect that I like. Great harmonica, it really compliments the sadness. The solo in this song walks all over the place! Great Song!

Track 3 - “ Second One to Know”

Really great crunch to the electric that is starting this song out! The spring reverb on is a lot but is sounds so awesome that I don’t even care! This song in essence is just a good rockin country tune! The solo is a little plain. Normally I like simple solos but this one is just a little too simple.

Track 4 - “Up to no Good Livin’”

This song starts out with your classic country intro and talks about about a classic country problem. You can answer that problem yourself. The steel guitar sweeps through this song and is ooey gooey awesome! The song itself is pretty simple when it comes to rhythm and music but it’s a good solid song. This is a song that you will hear in the background of any bar in the South!!

Track 5 - “Either Way”

This is my number one song on this album. I covered this song in Steemit Open Mic and tried to do it some justice in the process. If you want to see it click here. Anyways this song is soft, saft and very emotional. You can feel the pain from Stapleton in the way that he plays and the way that he sings. If you haven’t noticed yet, he is pretty good at that. The sliding Drop D acoustic really brings you down in the dumps. It’s sad; it’s confusing; it’s sadly great and gets you in all of the feels.

Track 6 - “I Was Wrong”

This song is kind of unexpected from my point of view. There is not really a lot of country style in this song. It has a more soulful, bluesy, R&B style that comes with it and it is tasty. When Stapleton whines in the chorus it screams desperation that you almost feel like he is begging for you back! Once again Stapleton adds in another solo that is not too much, but just enough. I really commend him for this because most guitar players get prideful and want to show you everything that they have when it is not necessary. This song is definitely a favorite of mine.

Track 7 - “Without Your Love”

This song is a unique song to me. It starts very mysterious and dark and when the chorus comes it it becomes very major and happy, then it weaves its way back into the mysterious. I really like that about this song because that is hard to do and make sound natural. Overall this song has great lyrics and the electric guitar pulling the song through into a mist of confusion. Not my number one, but it is a good song.

Track 8 - “Them Stems”

This is a fun song! I don’t really know what he is talk about when it comes to “stems” but maybe your Steemian anarchist do! ;) This song is rock and has some pretty bad solos in it to. Stapleton’s vocals really put some soul into it as well. It rocks it gets rowdy and it gets people dancing because of the shuffling feel.

Track 9 - “Death Row”

This song has quickly become a favorite of mine. It’s dark and bluesy and it sad. The lyrics in this song are extremely impressive and it makes you want to cringe because of the grinding metal at the beginning. This song is cold but warm at the same time. The darkness can make you relate to someone who thinks that way.

My Final Thoughts

I’ll give this album a solid 8 out of 10.This album was great and Chris Stapleton is a great musician all around and you can see this all over the album. I enjoyed listening to it and I know that you will too!

Don't Agree With Something I Said?

Let me know in the comments.

Have An Album You Want Me To Listen To?

Let me know in the comments,

Like What You Read?

Give me and up vote or a resteem!!

Check out my other album reviews

Album Review 1 : Foo Fighters
Album Review 2: John Mayer
nametagpngsteemit.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43