HBro's Album Review #2 - "Born & Raised" by John Mayer

in #music7 years ago (edited)

What Is Up Steemians - @IAmHBroS

Here is the second album review. I am a lover of music and especially love taking a journey through an album. I am the guy that enjoys sitting down with an album and listening through it. So I thought, "Why not do some album reviews?"
Now, I am not the most accredited album reviewing person in the world but these are just my thoughts.
Also, this will be more of a 'what I like" more than a what I dislike. (Unless I really dislike something)
Some albums that I reviewed I will be an avid follower of the artists music while others I just may be starting to listening to them or maybe I have never heard an artist before. I feel like that will make some things interesting in the future.

album review steemit2.jpg

This weeks article is on John Mayer’s “Born and Raised” album!

What Do I Know About The Artist?

The real question should be what don’t about the artist. I am a big John Mayer fan. I have followed him through every genre that he has been and been pleased with about 90% of his albums. I can even give him some credit for me picking up a guitar in the first place. I look up to him as a songwriter and a guitar player. I will admit he has some personal issues but I don’t let that taint his music.

What do I Know About The Album?

This album way released May 22, 2012 (which doesn’t seem like that long ago.) As of 2017 JM is in the Pop genre but in 2012 he ventured into the Folk genre and that is what this album is centered around. It has a soft simple “folky” vibe throughout.

Track 1 - “Queen of California”

The opening song of the album starts out with a nice picking pattern on the acoustic guitar. I feel like the Acoustic guitar is acting as the rhythm section because that picking pattern seems to be pulling everything along in the song the whole way through through, relentless like a chugging choo-choo train. The electric adds some beautiful little fills that contribute greatly to this song and even has a very tasteful solo in the middle of the song. JM’s vocal is dry, soft, and simple complementing this folk tune. Great song and is my 6th favorite on this album.

Track 2 - “The Age of Worry”

This song has another great acoustic picking intro that you later find is incorporated with the vocal melody. This song has some pop sound seeping through but it is a tasteful amount to compliment the song. It is a shorter song than most but short and simple seem to get the job done with this song. Good song!

Track 3 - “ Shadow Days”

This intro brings us into a medium speed headnod where we can sway with the beat. Even though I focus on music, the lyrics in this song are simple and relatable which Causes me to commend JM because simple can sometimes sound cheesy and in this case it doesn’t. The steel guitar throughout the song really give the simple beat and gooey and fluid feel. I didn’t enjoy the electric guitar solo, It was probably meant to be different but I wasn’t really feeling it but it does not ruin the song for me. I recommend this song and it is my 4th favorite on this album.

Track 4 - “Speak For Me”

Here we are again with the acoustic guitar intro. To be honest I am getting tired of it but I guess that is a major part of the folk genre so it’s fine. I really like JM’s vocal performance on this track. It does have the raw feeling but the softness appeals to me for some reason. The end of the song is really my favorite because it flows and makes you feel good. I recommend this song and it is my 5th favorite on the album,

Track 5 - “Something Like Olivia”

Just as a disclaimer, this is one of my all time favorite songs so I might seemed extremely bias but bear with me. This song starts with a beautiful electric guitar with just a sprinkle of dirt on it to get your head bobbing. Then the whole band comes in and you get up and have to start dancing because the groove is so strong. Then after JM’s soulful verse and chorus you hear a electric guitar solo that has tone for dayzzzzz. Really all the instruments in this song contribute to its greatness you have a groovin’ bass, guitar, organ, rhodes, and drum kit. The song has a simple message that hits straight home. Highly recommend this song and it is my 2nd favorite song on the album.

Track 6 - “Born and Raised”

Being the title track of the album I had high expectations for this song and it did not disappoint. This is an awesome slow song with another simple message. The harmonica in this song has so much emotion that comes with it in a display that I have honestly never heard before. The Harmonica even sings with the choir towards the end of the song and it sounds awesome.
The sounds in this song are so warm that you’d be sweating if you wore it like a jacket. It’s just a good sad song that is relatable and can connect with a lot of people. Great song and is my 3nd favorite on the album.

Track 7 - “If I Ever Get Around To Living”

This song has grown on me as I have listened to it. It starts with a mysterious acoustic picking pattern that makes you feel like you’re sad and stuck which consequently goes along with the title of the song.(crazy) One thing I want to point out is the control of JM’s voice as he goes into falsetto. It is impressive and great. The end of the song is were I really start digging the song. It has a great clean guitar solo towards the end as well and the Rhodes really gives an awesome element to the song. Good song

Track 8 - “Love Is A Verb”

Slow jam right off the bat that seems to push the vocal or lyrics to the forefront of the song which I think JM did on purpose to push the message of the song. (Hey, Love each other!) I also like the soulfull feel that this song has with the brushes on the drumset and the hint of Electric guitar. The song is short and sweet and gets the point across so you gotta love it. Great song

Track 9 - “Walt Grace’s Submarine Test January 1967”

I’m not really sure what this song it about. It gives me happy vibes all the way through and I want to say I hear a little bit of a Beatles feel to it and no i’m not just saying that because it talks about a submarine. The ambient clean electric guitar is heavenly.
JM’s Vocal sounds great and thats really it for this song. It really has never caught me. Decent Song.

Track 10 - “Whiskey, Whiskey, Whiskey

To start off this is my #1 favorite song on the album. Another good sad relatable song by JM. My top songs will always be sad songs because they convey so much more emotion and that it was grabs people. The harmonica once again really makes this song for me. It sounds so smooth and slick. And the Vocals just make you want to keep drinking. Great Song and I highly recommend.

Track 11 - “A Face To Call Home”

This song has also grown on me as I have listened to it and I really love the rhythm of vocal melody in the chorus. The simple kick snare beat really gets your head bobbing (but in a sad way). This song is very simple at first but it has an awesome ending where the ambient guitar is screaming over a Coldplay sounding instrumental. Awesome ending. Good song.

Track 12 - “Born and Raised (Reprise)”

I feel like this song is giving you a farewell from the album which I like but I feel like it should have been named something else because it is terrible in comparison to the original “Born and Raised” song on this album. Nice harmonica though that’s about all I have to say about this song because it’s that short and repetitive.

Track 13 - “Fool To Love You”

I really dig this song because it has a creative message that make a lot of sense when we fall in love. The musicality of this song is simple but the message is awesome. Those upper harmonies get me every time too. Great song

My Final Thoughts

I’ll give this album a solid 7 out of 10. It was a solid album but didn’t really wow me out of my seat. JM did a wonderful job in the folk genre and I would recommend this album to any folk, indie, or John Mayer fan because it really is quality music whether you like him or not you have it give this album a listen.

nametagpngsteemit.png

Don't Agree With Something I Said?

Let me know in the comments.

Have An Album You Want Me To Listen To?

Let me know in the comments,

Like What You Read?

Give me and up vote or a resteem!!

Sort:  

This is an amazing review. Your content is praise-worthy.

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @iamhbros to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you sir! I’m glad you liked it!

Hi, I saw some language mistakes in this post. Can you please correct them? then I will resteem it. thanks.

Thanks for holding me accountable @sbd.giveaway I looked through and made corrections!

Your post up is impressive. Followed @iamhbros

I Congratulate you on this great blog
Keep going my friend
Steemit_Music_Gif.gif

Thank you!!!

Great review,really enjoyed the effort you have put into this review.I will definitely check out the album.Keep up the great reviews.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57810.45
ETH 3116.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43