Steemit Burnout and Trying to Fight It.

in #music6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/iamevilradio-steemit-burnout-and-trying-to-fight-it-ua4mjwbi-1542689189579.png

I feel like I’ve run into a bit of a problem with Steemit for me personally that is having me considering powering down and moving on from the platform. I don’t know where I’m going with this but I’ll start off with saying that I’m relatively sure I’m going to be staying here, it’s just I think what I really want here is to get some advice on what I should be focusing on.

I’ll be honest. I’ve never been here because I’ve had some great plans of making a ton of money on here. Just not my goal.

Instead what I saw was a burgeoning community full of activity and potential. Particularly in electronic music. I was pretty enthusiastic early one but mostly just enjoying interacting with other users on here and seeing what they were doing.

Cut to almost a year later and much of this is gone. I know this has a lot to do with the current state of crypto, but... and I’ll put it gently, Steemit really has just started to feel like a place where people go to talk about Steemit lately and it’s been leaving me feeling a little lost on here. Like if I logged onto Facebook and all people were talking about was Facebook. It’s been frustrating and it’s caused these gaps in my interactions with the platform that I don’t like because I really do believe in this whole thing.

So here is my question to the people out here following me, what could I be doing to help break this spell? Why would you like to see more of? Maybe production tutorials? Music reviews? DJ mixes? Ableton Live Streams?

Honestly, I’m just trying to fix myself on here before I burnout.

Feedback welcome.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I don't really have much advice, but I want to offer some moral support. :) I say just do what you want to do and post it... not that my lack of success is anything you want to emulate, but it seems like a good way to avoid burnout.

It's hard bro. I feel you need to have passion for your work beyond Steemit. I find my interactions for my videos on You Tube. If Steemit was the motivation for my content I would of quit. I'd try to stick it out but 100% understand if you need to step away. The interaction here is barren in many niches. =(

Sadly, I find myself engaged in fewer conversations than a year ago. I hope people can go beyond talking about how great the platform is or how it is stinking. The platform is the people so let's talk about people stuff!

Yeah, this is how I feel. Sometimes comment sections just read like a load of sycophants circle jerking. I’m going to stick it out, I just know I gotta find something that works for me. Adapt and overcome or something.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thats a cool blue record-player on the top shelf. I got one similar to that at Second and Charles last year.

Thanks. Honestly I love the thing. It’s portable and easy to move around for going thrifting and listening to records. Also easily does audio over USB for sampling. I have better turntables, but find myself using this the most.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think that the beauty of Steemit is exactly in the possibility of doing whatever you want. I had also the similar episode and moment of a breakdown, but then I realized that my work in this moment shouldn't be focus on earning money but on the building a community. I started to think that if there is not enough comments under my posts, perhaps there is a way to reconstruct a content to gain more attention and force the community to wake up or just simply interact with other steemians under their articles. It helped me to find a find a few interesting people, some not even related with music, but still worth to know and follow. Steemit again became an interesting place and burnout somehow disappeared ;)

I feel ya man. I liked what you did though making your own electronic music channel.

Anything about music, stories, fun stuff, experiences and so on :)

Agree with you, somehow the spark is out of Steemit. I concentrate on curation and SteemHunt, and from time to time post music with some story I want...interestingly, almost nobody reads it, or at least, I think it is not read, but after almost 2 years on Steemit, everyday I get multiple triggers for which I think "I shall write about that!"; from a none blogger to an addicted blogger in less than 2 years hahaha

You got a good point. I think I’m undervaluing exactly what regularly music blogging does for me. Forces me into discovering new music. Sharpens my writing. Gets me back into the record digging that I used to love so much. I think I’ve been frustrated at engagement and not knowing if I’m talking into a hole or if all of my engagement is just bots, but I think at the least I can learn to just appreciate what this does for me personally. Thanks for this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yep, Fully Agree. And even when not seeing someone on your post the same or the next day, you may see them after weeks, like this one here hahahaha. Same as you, Steemit drives me to discover new music, and I also created a whole list of interesting artists and music I've seen on Steemit. Need to go through it mostly, but Steemit certainly enhances my life, even when nobody reads it. The funny thing is, from time to time I see votes coming in on really old posts. I suppose some new Steemians are using the search apps on the blockchain like esteem.search (actually a quite good search services). I think asksteem stopped their search service.

Congratulations @iamevilradio! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 400 replies. Your next target is to reach 500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hahaha I know that feeling:) just conquer it after getting a nice time out first.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60228.69
ETH 2428.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45