A Shirt on Sunday: E.L.O. – 18/10/2018 – O2 ArenasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music6 years ago (edited)

20181018 ELO O2 200181118.jpg
Two years after their last gigs at the O2, Jeff Lynne’s ELO revival were back, without original keyboard player Richard Tandy but with otherwise the same band and essentially the same set-list as in April 2016. That month I saw them twice, and the second night was essentially the same as the first, except for one song, and me being in Row G! This year I was half way back on the first block, which is still pretty good.

As I’ve said before, ELO were a favourite band of my childhood. The idea of a string section being part of the band, rather than just session musicians brought into the studio gave them a legitimacy I wouldn’t offer other pop music. What confused me was that the band of ‘Shine A Little Love’ and ‘Diary of Horace Wimp’ was the same band whose cover of ‘Roll Over Beethoven’ was on my favourite compilation cassette for playing in the car on long journeys. The difference was Roy Wood, who after a couple of ELO albums headed off to revisit the sound of The Move by forming Wizzard and penning a Christmas novelty hit. The post-Wood ELO was purely Jeff Lynne’s backing band, and allowed him to indulge his Beatles fixation as a producer and create a decade of pop masterpieces.

For the gig I was joined by Drew who spent the day limbering up with a cassette (!) of ‘A New World Record’. Can’t argue with that. We had a meal and some drinks and made our way into the arena to catch the support act. Whoever he was, we lasted a verse of ‘earnest young bloke with piano’ before I declared the bar to be more entertaining.

One beer later we headed down to our seats. As the audience were filling in, the ELO spaceship bobbed around the top of the video screens like a nervous puppy.

Waiting.jpg

Lights out, heads up, and here come the band. They kicked off with the intro to ‘Concerto for a Rainy Day’. Interesting, I thought – plays side 3 of Out of The Blue and get ‘Mr Blue Sky’ out of the way early. Except they didn’t. ‘Standin’ in The Rain’ went into ‘Evil Woman’ and we were into the standard greatest hits set. Drew was bedside himself when they did ‘All Over the World’, even though Olivia Newton John totally failed to roller-skate onto the stage.

The band is a bunch of seasoned session players who play with enthusiasm and the requisite skill. The string section, which in the original band was a bunch of hairy middle-aged blokes, is now a bunch of young women; with hair, but not hairy. The female backing singer delivers a mean old cadenza for ‘Rockaria’ and her male companion fills in the notes which Jeff Lynne can’t reach. There was a bit of a train wreck in one song, I think it was ‘Sweet Talkin’ Woman’, where half the band paused for a moment and looked confused before picking up on the rhythm section and heading into the verse again. A very smooth recovery.

Jeff Lynne's ELO 2018Jeff Lynne's ELO, 2018 vintage

The set list was in a slightly different order and a few variations. ‘Do Ya’ is one of my favourites and one I used to hammer on guitar as a teenager. ‘Handle With Care’ was a surprise – the Travelling Wilbury’s hit single allowed various singers in the band to do their appropriate vocal impersonations and worked really well.

About this time I started feeling an occasional breeze at the back of my head. Then I leaned back too far and got whopped around the back of the head by the guy behind me. He who was leaning forwards while clapping very enthusiastically, so we grinned and both took more care.

They played the obligatory new song from the 2016 album and all the audience sat straight down. Except for one bloke and his slightly embarrassed mate:

There's always oneThere's always one. Or in this case, two.

We seemed to be in the tall section anyway as a couple of rows in front of us was a man Drew decided was ‘The Mountain’ from Game of Thrones. He was enormous and the poor woman behind him probably watched the video screens all evening.

The staging consisted of the same videos as we saw on the previous tour, which is not a totally bad thing (but I’d prefer the original ‘Wild West Hero’ video). For the fourth ‘new’ song, we learned that the ‘Last Train to London’ travels through Battlestar Galactica launch tubes, which I hadn’t noticed on my daily commute! The stage floor was also a video screen, which must be really disconcerting for the players when a bit of solid floor turns into a star-field, or a spinning record.

All-in-all it was a great night out – a pleasure to go to a gig with Drew again, about 20 years since we’d seen Janis Ian in the Basement in Sydney.

Video

I didn't take any videos, just the photos above. This video was ripped off the internet and is from a different night, but gives a nice impression of how it all went...

Sort:  

Wow, I've never been to a stadium concert before! The best I have done was in pubs and stuff like that... ELO I remember well from when I was studying, I had a friend who was completely into them! Love the shirt (and the CDs) collection, do you get one from every concert you go to?

I have featured you and this post for a Curation contest here:

https://steemit.com/curation/@bengy/payitforwardentry-week33-w4823hoaoi

You can join the fun here:

https://steemit.com/payitforward/@pifc/week-33-pay-it-forward-curation-contest-fca939e2ae3d5est

Hi Bengy, given that you play concerts, I tip my hat to you.
Normally I go to small venues, but sometimes you have to take the venue the band is playing in.
I do sound for TwickFolk - a club run on Sunday nights in The Cabbage Patch in Twickenham. As the name suggests it's mainly folk music, with an audience of 15 - 70 people (count and age).
The shirt collection is over 300 - been posting them on Fceb*k for a while now. I cottoned on to them being a good hook to write about music and other things.
If there's a shirt, I'll buy it. But, for instance tonight at Shepherd's Bush Empire, Hothouse Flowers didn't have any merch, so I'll need another angle to blog about it.

Holy crap! 300 shirts! That's some impressive concert going there! You seem to have a wide range of tastes if you do the local Folk music club and also the big stadium concerts!

Pub concerts are the best though... although, often I find they pump the volume a little bit too much for a small venue...

Great article on your experience. I really enjoyed this.

I found you thanks to @bengy's entry into the Pay it Forward contest this week. Keep up the great work!

Thanks Lori, John

wow wow wow i ove this blog and teh concert in a grand arena are huge and great, we have them in amsterdam and in rotterdam, i found your blog through @bengy in the @pifc good luck and keep steeming
greetz
britt

Thanks Britt! The big gigs are mind blowing, but so are the little ones in bars. Live music IS original content :)

Great post and photos. Thanks for sharing.

I was just in the awesome new album presentation of Лоуна, at the Adrenaline Stadium in Moscow and it was a crazy experience!

1020285.jpg

I love going to concerts of great bands. 😃

PS: I have found your post because @bengy featured you in his entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

Hi Trincowski, thanks for stopping by. I've not encountered Louna - tried to search for them and got bogged down in Cyrillic. The Russian spelling reminds me of 70s punk princess Toyah, but I figure that's the only similarity! Tractor Bowling is an awesome band name, so I want to hear them as well. Will have to look into the whole Russian heavy metal thing.
Apologies if I've used 'Russian' incorrectly anywhere.

Hi there. That is the same trouble I had, before I learned the alphabet. Hint: it's easier than it appears.

Well, I think you were on the right track. Louna and Tracktor Bowling had one thing in common, the vocalist: Lousine Govarkian

Anyway, here's a nice live video from Louna:

Tracktor Bowling, unfortunately, have put down their boots and ended their career after 20 years. Here's a clip of them:

Hope you enjoy.

Had a watch and a listen on Spotify.
Great bands both, but definitely prefer Louna - more trad than the Tracktors.
Thanks Trincowski - I'll have to see if they come to the UK...

Great band, was a big fan when they were in their prime.

Congratulations @hockney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54