What Is Your Favourite David Bowie Song? [Pay It Forward, Round One, Day Two]

in #music8 years ago (edited)

A year ago today, David Bowie has moved on. He was a singer, a poet, a musician, an artist, a performer, an actor, a friend, a family man, a good person. He has played many roles in his life. A lot of them were controversial, ahead of his time.

David Bowie

His music will forever sing a beautiful song of his life.

David, thank you for everything.

What Is Your Favourite David Bowie Song?

There are some many of special David's songs that it is really hard to pick only one. I've chosen, quite predictably, the Space Oddity. It is his trademark - off of this world yet full of love for it. Beautiful!


Enough of sadness. Let's move forward.

Let's Pay It Forward!

This article is a part of Pay It Forward initiative by @dragosroua.

I invite you to open yourself and share your thoughts, your feelings, your reactions, ... About David Bowie, about his music and life, about this post, about anything else if you don't feel inclined to write about the topic.

Everything counts! As long as it is inspiring, funny or sad, controversial or straight to the point, down to the ground or ethereal, ...

The best comment - in my personal opinion - will receive the award according to the rules. The time limit is 24 hours after the publishing of this article which is 07:45 UTC on Jan-10-2017.


Pay It Forward - Round One, Day Two

DayPostAuthorWinner
Root / 1Pay It Forward - Let The Games Of Blogchain Begin!@dragosroua@ervin-lemark
2What Is Your Favourite David Bowie Song? [Pay It Forward, Round One, Day Two]@ervin-lemark@nik9

And the winner is.... @nik9!

Motivation: the comment was thorough and honest. It pushed me into further listening and discovering of new depths od David's life and work. Thank you very much!

I transferred full liquid rewards for this post! The proof:

@nik9, please copy and paste your table into your post, modify the title by replacing Day Two with Day Three and add to it the link to your own post, your nickname and the nickname of the winner after you pick him/her. Full instructions and rules are available in Dragos's original post.

Sort:  

Bowie was never one of my favourite "musicians" yet remains an integral part of the fabric of the culture I grew up in. I have to name at least 3 songs off the top of my head, but the last garners my vote in honour of this radical culturejammer and artist.

Firstly the captivating Space Oddity which haunted me and an era when released (in my early teens.)

Young Americans still gets me belting out the chorus whenever I hear it, with its jubilant backing vocals and sax.

But Bowie's farewell act defines him in my view, as a genius, taking on the ultimate personal and human nemesis face to face. I love him for that - the music of Blackstar is not an easy listen, but tremendously rewarding and my vote for favourite bowie song of the moment has to go to the extraordinary Lazarus

Thank you very much for your insight.

I admit I am not familiar with Lazarus. I will listen to it now.

Thank you again!

Hope you enjoyed that (and watched his wild and prescient video posted at foot of my comment there) - pretty outlandish!

I did enjoy it - in a sad way. A real artist to his very end in this realm.

Beautiful, so beautiful and sad. An artist in life and death. How very brave of him.

Obviously, all of them. Glad you're keeping the vibe going on, man! Let's hope it will generate a lot of rewards for the winner!

Good morning to you too :)

Gladly and with enthusiasm!

Let's keep this ball rolling.

BTW, I was in doubt ... is this post day two or three?

Chronologically it is three but it is two in sequence...

Two. We count in sequence. A "day" is a 24 hours interval in which comments can be posted. Obviously, it will overlap with a calendar day, but that's ok.

Morning.

Winner chosen. I also left a message under latest @nik9's article.

Good morning.

:)

Exactly. I'll be listening to his songs all day long... And tomorrow!

every bowie song? lol

Why not? :)

I love his recent worth a lot. For example The Stars (Are Out Tonight). Check this:

Stars are never sleeping
Dead ones and the living

...

Their jealousy's spilling down
The stars must stick together
We will never be rid of these stars
But I hope they live forever

When I first heard it struck me that he was writing his obituary :(

Oops - I thank you, very much - but the resulting protocol is way over my head at this time. (I tried copying and pasting the table as requested but haven't figured out how to maintain/format it, etc.) It really was not apparent to me the involvement necessary having only read the content of this post, to which I responded directly. I feel terrible for not following this through, but the commitment required was not clear to me and I must humbly petition for a fork in this chain. Yikes :(

:) No problem.

Let's make a compromise, shall we?

You make a post, I will put a table in a comment under your post.

After one day you nominate the winner and I will accordingly edit the table.

Then we (@dragosroua and I) will help you with liquid rewards and transfer to the winner.

Deal?

PS: Welcome to Steemit. You've made a great start :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55262.33
ETH 2465.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18