You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Your Favourite David Bowie Song? [Pay It Forward, Round One, Day Two]

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Bowie was never one of my favourite "musicians" yet remains an integral part of the fabric of the culture I grew up in. I have to name at least 3 songs off the top of my head, but the last garners my vote in honour of this radical culturejammer and artist.

Firstly the captivating Space Oddity which haunted me and an era when released (in my early teens.)

Young Americans still gets me belting out the chorus whenever I hear it, with its jubilant backing vocals and sax.

But Bowie's farewell act defines him in my view, as a genius, taking on the ultimate personal and human nemesis face to face. I love him for that - the music of Blackstar is not an easy listen, but tremendously rewarding and my vote for favourite bowie song of the moment has to go to the extraordinary Lazarus

Sort:  

Thank you very much for your insight.

I admit I am not familiar with Lazarus. I will listen to it now.

Thank you again!

Hope you enjoyed that (and watched his wild and prescient video posted at foot of my comment there) - pretty outlandish!

I did enjoy it - in a sad way. A real artist to his very end in this realm.

Beautiful, so beautiful and sad. An artist in life and death. How very brave of him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37