THE FATE OF MUSIC ON STEEMIT

in #music5 years ago (edited)

logo-big.png

When I arrived on Steemit, I really failed to see how I could contribute to the platform, as my main skill is to make music, I didn't know how I would be able to add to the Steem ecosystem.

That's until I discovered @dsound, which became for me much more than a platform, it really enabled my creativity and my talent in ways that I still really cannot believe even a year later.
I had the chance to work with mind blowing producers, to buy equipment, to feed my family, to buy some new clothes, to fix my tooth, to take care of my wife, to have quite a decent life.

Of course, we artists, we are used to be broke, so it was just an incredible blessing that a musician like @prc created @dsound, found value in our work, and thanks to its delegation was able to carry a whole movement on his shoulders and gave a steady income for a year.

Yesterday, @dsound lost its delegation from Steemit Inc, and it's very bad for the music community. We already had a decrease of artists posting, it will discourage newcomers, new artists, talents, producers, and they are the creative core of this platform...

So I really wonder, if @ned with his guitar was all an act, and if he actually have a clue of what it is like to be a musician in 2019, and how difficult it is to have a consistent revenue.

I can't help but thinking that this creative force, might eventually look for greener pasture on other platforms where talents is being rewarded, and I can tell you that there's other great projects out there that appreciate our skills and already courting us.

I can speak on the behalf of the music community, we want this social media blockchain, to work, like all of you. We still love STEEM, let's hope that STEEM equally loves music.

What can be done ?(Short term)

I've just delegated 1000SP to @dsound, and if 1000 people do the same, we might be able to help the Dapp to support the incredible musicians we have on the Steem blockchain, and it will allow us to come up with longer term ideas that could sustain our ecosystem.

Delegate to @dsound on: http://steemworld.org

Thanks for reading, and let me know what music means to you...

Sort:  

what about setting up curation teams who give votes on review, ie manually? I curate/review/vote for more than one and half year with Curie vote train support. It could happen Curie will also remove support due to their biggest follow on voter in power down status; Hence I'm looking for ways to continue my curation work, maybe by setting up my own vote train. I personally believe in manual curation/review/vote over auto-voting.

Note: those who are not posting anymore in DSOUND because their vote is worth less, are those who are here for the money and it is not a loss for our community imho.

I love @curie, they doing an excellent job !
I m in charge of the curation for @artzone, we have another account called @artzone.curators with 30k SP combined, I was writing 3 manual curation posts a week, right now it's been quite slow since @dsound lost the curation, we actually have much less people posting songs and using the tag artzone. If you're interested to cure for @artzone in the future let me know.
I already saw a big drop in uploads, and it's quite understandable. I mean it was more than 500+ musicians that were getting upvotes daily from @dsound, it's the entire music ecosystem that just disappeared overnight.

Note: those who are not posting anymore in DSOUND because their vote is worth less, are those who are here for the money and it is not a loss for our community imho.

You have to understand from the perspective of a full time musician/producer/songwriter. Some of the tremendous musical talents on Steemit have to think wisely on how to use their time.
In other words, is it worth spending days working on something that won't get rewarded for, or should you focus your time on other activities like ghost writing or doing gigs.
It's never been "charity work", @prc the creator of @dsound knows he needs great musos for his project to work, because nobody will listen to mediocre music.
Good musicians need good money, this is the free market where skills get rewarded.

Are you on Discord? I like to discuss manual curation further with you.

Sure! Ed Privat #1762

with you bro!!! This means big changes indeed for what I do too. I still have never taken anything out of steem and I am now wondering how you actualy converted into 'real money'? That said, I am def in this way of thinking for the long haul!!! This is just the beginning and together we are strong!!!!! If it is business for steemit, then it should be business for us and we should not be sentimental. ned and his guitar??? I would slap da fuk out of him if he even thought about playing that in my presence!! It was a dark comedy to watch!! haha.
The irony is, we wouldnt be relying on generous upvotes from things like dsound if it wasnt so hard for new users to get accounts and we could actualy get the followers we already have on to this platform!!!

Huge shout out to @prc - TRUE HERO!!!! ... and everyone keeping it real!!!

It was a dark comedy to watch!! haha.

Hahaha the King of cringe!!!

If you need help to take some money out, I can guide you. If you need help to delegate I can help too.
Keep in mind we might just need the delegation for a week up until things get better, at least that's how I see it, and I think honestly I am gonna power down a little in case of SHTF.
I know people are shouting " but it's good for us these 34 millions STEEM can be potentially be bought" but at the end of the day, I am thinking of how we gonna feed the kids right now, not tomorrow, not the day after, NOW...

thanks for the update im going to up my delegation too. keep up the awesome work bro love all your music...

Stay positive and constructive even during tough times and keep working towards something better.

be well


Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Soundcloud / YouTube / Goggle / Krazypoet.com

Amen to that brother :)
we're indeed need to stick together, and stay positive, thanks for contributing I love your work too :D

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



That's so nice of you @pennsif!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48