You can't make your heart feel something it won't (Bonnie Raitt - Can't make you love me - Cover)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Unrequited love. 


This is what Bonnie Rait's Can't make you love me is all about. Love unreturned. One-sided love.

Most of us have felt this, this horrible feeling of loving someone but not getting the same kind or amount of love back. I know this, not only because I myself have felt this. I know this because there are thousands of songs written because of love that is only one-sided. It's interesting how a song can be so powerful, because even if we're all different people, it's as if we went through the same exact things when we listen to songs written and sung by people we don't even know. 

I am always a writer, and I've always marveled at how one can weave such beautiful things with the right words. Whether these words are the most perplexing or just the most plain, I love the ability of words to capture and express feelings that can awaken, heal, even break one's heart. This is why this Bonnie Raitt classic never fails to blow my mind every time. Even with words so simple,  the pain still gets you to the core. 

I've had my fair share of heartbreaks. Some were petty. Others, broke me real hard.  But, one thing I've learned from all the heartbreaks I've experienced is that each season is important. Each season, no matter how annoying and painful, is necessary for our growth. 

This is why I kept telling myself before, when the wounds caused by the heartbreaks were still so deep, "This shall pass.". 

Over and over. 

With tears in my eyes, with some occasional snot-drippings too (okay, too much info? haha)...I kept repeating that, over and over. 

Repeat, repeat, repeat. 

Repeat until you believe it.

And then, one day, I didn't have to repeat it anymore, because I finally believed, with all my heart. I didn't have to repeat it anymore, because I am finally convinced.

I am so amazed that it's possible. That at one point, "Can't make you love me" was the song of my season. But, seasons come and go. 

And when it's a new season, you get to sing a new song.  

Sort:  

This is the first time I heard this song I had to listen to the original first. Your version made my heart feel the hurt in the song. You have a wonderful voice. Hoping to see more covers from you.

Pero...

Ang sakit sakit ate!!! T_T

Thank you so much for the appreciation! I guess when you really experienced what you are singing about, you are able to translate that pain in the way you sing. :)

Simple pero tagos yung sakit no?

Beautiful song and wistful cover. Really pretty and felt deeply :) Much love - Carl

Hello Carl! Thank you so much! I appreciate it. :)

Wow! So beautiful, and your voice is so relaxing. Amazing cover.

Thank you so much! I appreciate it. :)


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-resteem ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17