How an introvert survives in a concert

in #music6 years ago (edited)

20180414_212228.jpg

This coming Saturday, Panic! at the Disco will be visiting the Philippines as part of their Pray for The Wicked Tour. Panic! has been one of the artists that is a mainstay in my playlist after all these years. Their latest album, Pray for the Wicked, is already their sixth album. But even if Panic had been around for quite a while, I haven't had the chance to watch them live yet for 2 reasons: finances (was still a student when the previous albums were released) and my aversion to crowds.

PATD Live in MNL.jpg

As of this time, I think I have only been able to watch the following artists live: Simple Plan (my first concert ever), Bamboo/Yeng Constantino, Hillsong United, Passion, Jason Mraz, Coldplay, and The Script. These artists make up that really short list of artists that can make me forget my discomfort when in a crowd. Of course, I survived in their concerts because my love for these artists trumped what I felt about crowds. But still, I had a little help.

Let me share some hacks that I make sure to abide by to ensure my well-being and survival in concerts:

1. Find a worthy concert buddy


While I do not intend to invalidate the experience of those who enjoy watching a concert alone, I still think that there are certain things that are much more enjoyable and awesome when you get to share it with your people. If you’re an introvert like me, having a concert buddy means survival. For non-introverts, a concert buddy takes the fun level up a notch. Your buddy can be as big of a fan of the artist or the band as you are. Or, you can totally use the concert as an excuse (although, an expensive one at that) to convince your buddy to start appreciating the artist or band that you will be seeing. One of the best days of my life was when I watched Coldplay (best band evaaaah!!!) with my brother, who is both a musician and a Coldplay fan as well. Not only did he help me survive in the crowd, his being a musician and a Coldplay fan made the experience even more memorable. As he was making sure that the crowd doesn’t get too overwhelming for me, he would also be spazzing out with me as Coldplay showed off every insane arrangement and every tiny but mindblowing detail for all their well-loved songs. Just a few months ago, I was able to see The Script, one of my favorite bands, live in Manila. I watched The Script with two of my closest friends, who were not musicians, but were bigger fans of The Script than I am. Though we didn’t bond over the technical details of each song and though there were songs that I didn’t even know, we still enjoyed singing and dancing our hearts out. They didn’t judge me when I didn’t know a song, in fact, they even helped me get familiarized with some of the songs that were new to me. My point is, your concert buddy does not need to be the biggest fan of the artist. Just go find someone you know you can have fun with (and fangirl or fanboy with).
image1539697134525.png

2. Create and utilize playlists


Sure, you may be the biggest fan of this artist or band that you’re planning to see, and you know ALL the words of ALL their songs by heart. It would definitely still be a wiser decision to utilize playlists because, chances are, not all songs will make it to the setlist. Artists would usually go on tour when they have released a new album to, what else, promote said album. Violet Hill is one of my favorite Coldplay songs, and in fact, this is one of their very famous songs too. But, Violet Hill did not make the setlist in Coldplay's A Head Full of Dreams Tour because, obviously, the tour would include more songs from Coldplay’s latest album. When you’re about to see an artist or a band live, it helps when you go on Youtube and watch videos taken by people who have already watched live from the same tour. That way, you get to have an idea which songs are most probably included in their setlist. Artists like to mix things up, of course, depending on the country they will be visiting. So, when curating your playlist, think about which songs of that artist are popular in your country because these will most likely be part of their setlist for when they visit your country.

PATD Live in MNL Setlist.jpg

3. Wear comfortable clothes


Shouting. Headbanging. Dancing. CROWDS. So yeah, this is a no-brainer.
42782856_324069698172717_447080291350085632_n.jpg
Image Source: Sweetcastle on Facebook

4. Refrain from filming the entire concert


Go ahead, record that guitar solo, or that unbelievable high note, or that surreal sound of the crowd singing, but please, do not even think about filming the entire concert. The sight of a sea of screens is not really a pretty sight, not just for the people at the back, but most especially for the artists performing on stage. I understand there may be some of your loved ones who would’ve wanted to come to the concert but couldn’t, but please explain that a 1-minute (or less) recording should suffice. Because not only is this annoying for other concert-goers, but recording for a long time will get tiring eventually. You will get cranky, everyone else will get cranky, and then, all your experiences will be ruined. If you really promised a loved one to record something from the concert , ask your loved one which parts they’d like best to be recorded. Film that part, and then put down your device/s, and then start living the moment.

Image Source: Dan Gold in Unsplash

5. Live the moment


Most of my favorite bands have included at least one slow song in their records. I am so thankful for this, because I find this to be really smart, especially when these artists will have to allot a downtime in their setlist in concerts. Usually, these slow songs are strategically placed in between upbeat songs not only to allow the audience to take a break from the loud instruments, but to also give way to the band's slight rest, or to let the crowd's voices echo throughout the venue. For Coldplay, these "downtime" songs are usually Til Kingdom Come, The Scientist, Fix you, and Everglow. I distinctly remember myself closing my eyes for almost the entire duration of Fix you. I recorded a few seconds of my favorite part, and then I tucked my phone away and closed my eyes again. I knew Fix you by heart, every part and every word. But during the concert, I wasn't singing, at least for the most part. I was just closing my eyes, living in the moment, listening to Coldplay, listening to the crowd, thanking God for the opportunity to see and hear in person one of the most wonderful bands that have graced the Earth. It was one of the most beautiful and exhilarating feelings I've ever felt in my life. I will never trade it for anything. Please, put your devices down. You will never get to recreate this moment anymore. You owe it to yourself.
anthony-delanoix-15928-unsplash.jpg

Image Source: Anthony Delanoix in Unsplash

Sort:  

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94