(Not a) Morning Coffee Song: "Rocks" by Primal Scream

in #music6 years ago

Today, I was taking a look at Steemit posts when I stumbled across a post from @mrprofessor were he tells us what kind of music listens in the morning, actually he tells us that he listens to music because it brings him a lot of positivity. And gives a perfect example of songs which listens in the morning, "Gimme Shelter" by The Rolling Stones. I can't agree more with this selection, what a great song Arthur!

He did this post inspired by another post from my mate(s) @twolittlebirds who in this post did some questions:

Do you listen to music in the morning?
Which type of music do you prefer and do you have a favorite song for that presently?
Share it with me in the comments or write your own "Morning Coffee Song"-post and share it in the comments!

So let me tell you something about it, actually it's not a morning coffee song: when I was living alone in another place, I had a cd player that has the option to be an alarm clock. So let's wake up with some music I though. It wasn't easy to choose a song to wake up every morning, I didn't want to be a song that I love a lot because listening to it every morning when you wake up coul have turn into hate the song 😂😂

So finally I chose "Rocks" by Primal Scream. This band gives me different feelings. The fourth album of the band "Give Out But Don't Give Up" is an old time rock'n'roll gem. But after this album they turned completely to electronic sounds and I didn't follow the band anymore.

What gave me "Rocks" to wake me up? It starts with a lovely drum sound to go into a simple and awesome guitar riff. Then it comes the vocals line, the backing vocals and the horns section, and finally the honky tonk piano. It's the quintessence of an old time rock & roll song. It seems to be composed by a computer, all the ingredients are in its place, all goes into build a perfect rock & roll song. Bud sadly it was only in this album, the following albums have nothing in common with this album.

I remember that most of the times, when I woke up, it gave me good feelings and hapiness, so it was a good energy pill to start the day! Of course, other times was like "Shut Up!", "Stop playin' this fuckin' song and let me sleep!" 😴😴

When I changed my place and I moved to another city, I put that "alarm clock" in the dinning room so haven't use it again to wake me up. But maybe I have to think about it again, don't you think?

Thanks to @twolittlebirds and @mrprofessor, this post have taken to me to younger days!


Tag your original concert photos w/ #myconcertphotos and you'll have an upvote from me

Yes, I know, my upvote right now is only 0.01$ but it is more than nothing, isn't it?
WARNING: The use of images that are not your own on which you claim the ownership will be flagged and/or reported to @steemcleaners
The purpose of this tag is make Steemit music community growing.

And remember: every Wednesday new "Album Covers Contest" with SBD prizes

Let's rock! with @calisay



Sort:  

Epic, I've also tried waking up with a song, however I've changed that. Nothing like waking up naturally and then turning on the radio.

All my working schedule is done so I can wake up as natural as possible, be it at 7,8 or 9 in the morning. The worst thing is to force this, who here likes to wake up without having a proper sleep? haha

Hope I could wake up without an alarm clock... but I can't, the most naturally thing is to wake up with a birds singing alarm clock that is what I actually do!

couldn't get the video to play

Haha the first seconds the song started I thought Fucked up World from The Pretty Reckless will be played.
Good choice, can imagine you jumping out of the bed and using your toothbrush as a microphone - like those morning summaries in the movies 😁

I also find it very risky to use songs I like as alarm ring because I really started hating them in the past (same you wrote). So I only use standard alarms of my phone the last years. They are so horrible, i guess they were made for hating them :D

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44