Jealously Anyone?

in #music5 years ago (edited)

Have you ever become jealous of someone?

I am sure everyone can answer yes to this question at some point in your life. Most recently, I have become jealous of musicians. Why musicians you ask? Well, let me me tell you.

For the past couple of weeks I have really started listening to Kid Cudi a lot. If you have never listened to him I highly encourage you to look him up and check out some of his music. Some of my favorite songs are Cudder Is Back, Soundtrack To My Life and Just What I Am.

Listening to his music is what pushed me over the ledge to start blogging and putting myself out there. Typically I keep my thoughts very internal, so internal in fact that it is difficult for me to share them with people that are close to me. I am still trying to figure out why I am reluctant to share this information but I think starting this blog is a great first step.

What I really like about Kid Cudi's music is I feel like I can relate to what he is saying. It made me feel like I am not the only one who has some of the thoughts I do. Also, listening to his music really made me want to dig deeper into some of my favorite musicians lyrics to see why I liked their songs.

For example, I really like the Red Hot Chili Peppers song Scar Tissue. I have listened to and have sung (or thought I was singing this song) hundreds of times. Then one day while belching out the lyrics my wife turned and looked at me like I was crazy. The reason for the weird look? I totally butchered a few lines in the song.

When we got back home I decided to look at the lyrics to save myself from this embarrassment the next time around. Wow, was I in for a wake up call. I have always known that I didn't know a few of the lyrics but I was surprised by how much I didn't know any of the lyrics to this particular song.

Since this awakening I have really found it fun to play songs along with the lyrics on the screen. It is amazing how much more you can get out of song when you sit there and watch the lyrics scroll across the screen. By doing this you really get an idea of what the song is about and the emotions the musician was feeling.

To wrap this up, the reason I mention being jealous is because I admire how these individuals can express themselves in this manner. This is their profession. It is hard enough for me to put my thoughts and feelings out there and these people get to make millions for expressing themselves!

Obviously, I know that there is a lot more to it than that but I still find it cool that this is their career while I sit here and work my 9 to 5.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cali.sky! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

nicely written ... how you enjoying your time on Steem?

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

@shadowspub Thank you! The community has been great so far. Can’t wait to learn more about how Steemit works in the coming weeks.

have you found discord yet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43