"CUT THE RUG!" - Harvest Home - Irish Fiddle Tune - Open MicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago (edited)

There is an Irish fiddler named Pete Cooper. Many years ago my father gave me a book of Pete Cooper's fiddle music. I wore it out :) There were so many great tunes in there and they are not too difficult to play.

Today I am playing the great Irish tune "Harvest Home." I love this song and I especially like the downward spiralling runs. This pattern shows up in many fiddle tunes.

I sometimes play this song very slowly and sometimes quite quick - however the mood strikes me :) Today it is on the high side of medium - Hold on ;)

I think the publisher of the Pete Cooper book was MelBay if you want to pick it up somewhere, but I have a feeling that it is out of print :(

If you like this song check out some of my other music on Steemit:
Somewhere over the Rainbow - https://steemit.com/music/@buckydurddle/steem-sun-rainbow-somewhere-over-the-rainbow-violin-cover-openmic

I'se the By - https://steemit.com/music/@buckydurddle/he-moves-like-a-codfish-i-se-the-by-that-builds-the-boat-irish-newfoundland-jig-fiddle-violin

Minuet for Uncle Boom - https://steemit.com/life/@buckydurddle/an-fitting-accompaniment-for-uncle-boom-a-k-a-meesterboom

Can't Help Falling in Love - https://steemit.com/music/@buckydurddle/elvis-has-left-the-patio-can-t-help-falling-in-love-violin-cover-open-mic-21-pilots

3 Jigs - https://steemit.com/openmic/@buckydurddle/steemit-open-mic-week-48-3-irish-newfoundland-jigs-on-the-fiddle

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM -UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @buckydurddle

Copyright 2017 BuckyDurddle
I own all rights to the text and image in this post.

Cheers,
BuckyDurddle

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @buckydurddle. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @buckydurddle to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond Please consider upvoting this comment as this project is supported only by your upvotes!

Love Irish folk music! I have a little irish in me ^_^

:) I think we all do. It is a great style. Lots of energy and life in this music. You gotta love it, @domcrypto
Cheers,
Bucky

meep meeeeep meep, meep. meep meep MEEP meep meep.

meep meep,
meep

P.S.
meep

loved this one too - something so familiar and comforting in those tunes

I know what you mean @johnjgeddes . These pieces are at the core of much of 'western music' along with Bach, Beethoven, etc. All are the building blocks of what we listen to today.

👍I like the Irish. Thank you.

Thanks @keuudeip I appreciate you watching :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99