"Broken Mirror Jig" Original Fiddle Tune

in #music7 years ago

I LOVE writing music. Yepper, I do. But I don't do it nearly enough. Sometimes I write for client's projects or as a favour for friends who need a piece of music, but I don't write enough just for the sake of doing it. So when I saw @meno's new songwriting contest I thought, "This is great. I can force myself to write something for each week."

Fist and Fiddle 1 small.jpg

You can read more about @meno's excellent contest here:
https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/open-mic-songwriters-challenge-week-2-lost-and-found

Now this contest is for singers/songwriters. I want to focus on my fiddle writing, so I do not qualify. No big deal, I just want an excuse to write. So here we go :)

hand on face.jpeg

You have to have a sense of humour when you are writing your own material. It can easily fall into a self-loathing spiral :) No one enjoys that. LOL So when I write I try and keep things sounding a little on the weird side. I can then pull it back as I near completion. This keeps me from taking things too seriously and keeps my mind open to new explorations during the writing process.

I love jigs. I play them a lot and I rarely play them the same way twice. There is great deal of room for interpretation in the jig genre.

Jigs are in 6/8 time which means that there are 6 eighth notes in each bar. Try counting 123456 123456. That's a jig. Now put a slight emphasis on count 1 and 4. That gives the dance step of a jig. Those two pulses have a slightly longer hang time than the other counts. Doing this gives us the 'lilt' of a jig. It is an uneven skip or hop. Getting this right can make the song have a nice forward moving pulse while maintaining a solid down beat on the 1 and 4.

You can check out my recording of the jig "The Humours of Glendart" here - https://steemit.com/openmic/@buckydurddle/steemit-openmic-week-60-cover-humours-of-glendart-irish-fiddle-jig

My father and I ofter talk about how much lilt is right or wrong. It is a matter of taste, but can result in some pointed discussions amongst musicians. :) Love it!

me and dad playing.jpeg
((Me and Dad rocking out in a recording session for a CD project a couple of years ago))

Many jigs have and A B form. Both the A and B parts are repeated - AA BB AA BB. That is generally the way it is done.

With respect to tempo, jigs can be performed in a wide range. Playing a jig slow can let you play with a variety of lilt to give it a great deal of groove. Playing a jig fast can be exciting and great to dance to while showing the prowess of the fiddler.

I hope enjoy this jig I've written, "Broken Mirror Jig." It took me an afternoon to write and polish it up. Here are the final pencil/paper version I did. If you like it feel free to play along with me or do a version of your own :)

Broken Mirror Jig.jpg

Enjoy :)

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM -UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @buckydurddle

Cheers,
BuckyDurddle

LEGEND_20171112_050553.gif

Sort:  

Bucky that was super awesome... I had to get home and listen on my desktop!!!

Freaking loved it brother

Thanks @meno. Much appreciated. I'll try to follow along the contest to get some material written. Looks like some fantastic entries :)
Cheers,
Bucky

Awesome jig Bucky, I feel like I need to have a beer with that :D also that face your making in the thumbnail is priceless!

Haha thanks Julia. Beer and fiddle music go well together!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

This post received a 20% vote by @msp-canada courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57856.68
ETH 2352.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43