Steemit OpenMic Week 60 (cover) - Humours of Glendart - Irish Fiddle Jig

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I've been playing this old jig for years and it is always evolving. Seems every time I play it I feel a new phrase or rhythm. Great songs have that effect.

Bow and Brow.jpg

My father is a great fiddler and he showed me how to play this tune when I was young. I never really latched onto it until I was in my 30's, but now it is one of my favourites.

Here is a photo of my father in the 1970's playing for my sister and cousin in our kitchen here in Newfoundland.

Scan-120305-0001.jpg

If you would like to learn to play Humours or Glendart here are some resources to help.

https://thesession.org/tunes/45
http://slowplayers.org/2014/06/11/humours-of-glendart-d/

Thanks for listening and be sure to upvote, resteem and follow :)
Cheers,
Bucky

Sort:  

Way to brave the cold, Bucky! Nice background story and image of your Dad...

Thanks PG. Braving the cold is just one of the things we do for the music ;) My father is a great player. He's forgotten more songs than I will ever know :)
Thanks for listening!

A great piece Bucky! Nice photo of your dad. It's funny how we come back to things we were taught when we were younger...

Yes, many of those old pieces really take me back. I can remember when I learned pieces and where I was when I performed them. Good stuff. I am a sucker for nostalgia. So these old tunes mean a lot to me :)

Thanks for listening. Glad you liked it :)

Love that your musical talent runs in the family!

Haha thanks @melinda010100. There was always music in the house. I think my daughter is experiencing the same steeping :) Thanks for listening.

Wow! You are very talented, that was a really cool performance! I love the old photo of your dad playing the fiddle!! :-)

Thanks @pixelminx. That photo was a LONG time ago :) Dad is in his late 70s now and still rockin' the fiddle. :)

Congratulations @buckydurddle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Thanks for listening GA :)

Bucky you're a champ!!And yeah it got freezing here as well, and all of a sudden....my fingers well are unavailable...damn chilblains hahah

haha I am with you. Another 5 mins outside and my fingers would have abandoned me. Just before a rolled on this one my E-string peg popped and dropped around a fifth :) So tuning was questionable, but then again my tuning is always questionable ;)
Thanks for listening @hz432creations

I'm all about questionable tunings lol, you're welcome!!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @buckydurddle to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30