African Drumming Workshop at Wonderfruit Festival, Thailand.

in #music7 years ago

One of the things I loved about the Wonderfruit festival, was the number of varied workshops, talks and activities they hosted during the day. One of the most popular, was without doubt the "African Drumming Workshop".



THE SHARING SPACE


The sharing space was a great idea. Not only did they offer free food and drinks (for a donation) all weekend, but they offered completely free workshops througout the day. Simply sign up. You can see the list of workshops here.


AFRICAN DRUMMING WORKSHOP

This was clearly one of the more popular workshops. As I used to beat the skins a little when I was younger I thought I would swing by and check it out. Unfortunately for me the time clashed with another workshop I was attending so I didn't get to join but it looked like a lot of fun.



The drumming was being led by Kru Tom (Teacher Tom) who was skillfully increasing and slowing the tempo, and drumming louder and softer, and having the others follow. There were a variety of different types of drums and percussion instruments, some being hit with hands others sticks and others shook. The variety of tones and sounds was really very pleasant to the ear. I applaud the initiative and hope next year I will get to join in the fun. I hope you enjoy my pics, scroll to the bottom of the page for links to other Wonderfruit posts i have made...



Muay Thai Legend Buakaw Destroys a Banana Tree
Wonderfruit Night Lights
Wonderfruit Have a Drink, Plant a Tree


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Sort:  

I've missed it this year, next I'll be there for sure, thanks for the photos and share, amazing place and environment :)

Great! Let me know if you go next year, I plan to be there.

Great post @bkkshadow - thoroughly enjoyed it - upped and namaste!

glad you liked it, and thanks for your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87