Have a Drink, Plant a Tree - Offset Carbon Emissions by Enjoying a Cold Drink at Wonderfruit Festival.

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

I recently returned from the Wonderfruit Festival in Thailand, and while there I witnessed this piece of slick marketing combined with corporate social responsibility.



ONE DRINK, ONE TREE

One of the ethos of the festival was to focus sustainability. It was for this reason that the major alcohol sponsor (Johnnie Walker) decided to run this interesting campagin. For every "Mangrove Drink" that was purchased at the festival they pledged to plant a mangrove tree in Thor Heyerdahl Climate Park in Myanmar. Mangroves are amazing as they have the ability to absorb and mitigate up to a ton of Carbon-dioxide over their lifespan, which is up to five times the rate of dry forests.



#WEWILLKEEPWALKING
Now, I quite enjoy a nice drink, and I like doing things that benefit my world and the ocean in particular, and while i recognize this as stealthy liquor advertising I also know that mangroves in developing regions help to protect communities from flooding, filter water for healthy coral reefs, and they act as a biodiversity nursery. I once witnessed about 5 baby black-tip sharks using the roots of the mangroves tree for protection as they found their way in the world. So, as I walked around the festival, I made sure to stop and buy a drink whenever I saw this sign.



So, I enjoyed the festival, enjoyed my drinks, and knew that a little bit of good was being done at the same time.
PEACE...


Click here to:
dd8bd8753d41da7.gif

Extra images: http://wonderfruitfestival.com
Sort:  

Discernment is important, too... even when something might feel like sneaky advertising, it can sometimes be promoting something that is actually for the good, in the long run.

Im having a drink paid with Steem!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62483.85
ETH 2444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62