The planetary fungal mass part 2.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #mushrooms5 years ago (edited)

Here's part 2 of the planetary fungal mass where it gets put into some kind of weird lasagne concoction. This is part 1 https://partiko.app/sketch.and.jam/the-planetary-fungal-mass-cbts36ju?referrer=sketch.and.jam

Here's the giant puffball as I lopped it in half.

I also wanted to include some baby bellas just to add more flavor.

These ufo squashes were added for some noodle-like texture.

I put some custom made lamb meatsauce underneath the first layer of puffball and bellas.

Here's another layer showing some ricotta, olives and home grown oregano and basil.

Here's some of the ufo squashes peeking out of the sauce.

The top layer is a thick combo of white cheddar, mozarella and parmesan cheese.

I baked it about 30 minutes at 350.

Here's the smaller pan.

Two lasagnes and I still have half of the puffball. Maybe i'll make pizza crust or flour out of the remaining planetary fungal mass :-).

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That looks really delicious! There is so much to eat from a single puffball! I am excited for you to enjoy all that puffball!

I like puffball pizza crusts. I slice the raw puffball pretty thin for the crusts. Once I've cooked them, they freeze and re-heat really well. Better than freezing raw puffball slices, at least in my experience. Puffballs smell super strong while they are drying in a dehydrator -- almost too strong. But then they are delicious, like freeze-dried ice cream, only mushroom flavored. Enjoy your puffball!

Cooking a crust:
xDSC09382.jpg

With regular Italian-style pizza toppings (tomato sauce, basil, peppers, cheese)
xDSC09815.jpg

With ham, artichoke heart tapenade, and romano cheese -- super delicious!
xDSC00119.jpg

You are getting me all excited about the autumn mushroom season, for sure! Here's to lots of puffballs for everybody -- and all white inside, too. :D

I've also read that you can dry it and crumble it into a fine flour for bread.

Do you have any lobster mushrooms in your area? I've read they are plentiful in oregon in the mountains.

Posted using Partiko Android

There are lobsters out there, for sure! Here's some I got at the Oregon coast in August. I have found them even into November. They are one of my absolute favorite mushrooms to find. They can be so different in shape, but they are easy to identify. And they can be big, nearly a pound. That's not as big as your Giant Puffball, but still nice.

xDSC03235.jpg

Here are some posts I"ve made about Lobster mushrooms:
Finding them: Walk With Me [6 - Part 2] - Big Logs, Mushroom Babies and Lobsters! - Foraging in Oregon's Coastal Forest

Identifying them: How To Eat Wild Forest Lobsters -- Lobster Mushrooms, That Is!

Cooking with them for the Steemit Iron Chef Contest: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #04 : Grilled Squash Blossoms Stuffed with Wild Lobster Mushrooms

I should get to posting more about Lobster mushrooms. I've got a variety of videos in the works, too. You should have some Lobsters in your area, too. They really are all over the place, where there are stable forests. I've been seeing reports of them from Minnesota, Wisconsin, and upstate New York, so their season is moving south. Happy mushroom hunting!

Wow what a treasure trove. Thanks for the info, i might have to take a mushroom hunting vacation there during the right season.

Posted using Partiko Android

I still have ~4 kilos left in the freezer from last year, and it's almost time to find more LOL.

Just finished drying the rest of that mushroom, stank up the house but at least it didn't go to waste.

Posted using Partiko Android

I have made some vegetarian lasagna that I have left to suck my fingers, although I am not vegan my tendency is to include vegetables at meals.

This one had lamb in it, this would cause a vegan to melt into a puddle lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahahaha I have vegan friends who have tried my lasagna and I could not disguise the animal protein.

I made stuffed mushrooms with bacon in them and gave it to my vegan sister after a while she caught on that it had bacon in it. Now she raises her own goats, and pigs on a little farm for food lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahahaha to please them I added soy meat and we are all happy


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

The only thing that went wrong was the squash made alot of extra juice that needed to be drained. Next time i might cook the squash before hand.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks good, I love the taste of mushrooms. But most wild mushrooms in my area are dangerous and I'm no expert in them.

I bet there are a few easily identifiable edible ones over there. Trick is to look for the easiest ones ie morels. Then look up the potential poisonous lookalikes. Much easier traits to id than say rare coins...

Posted using Partiko Android

Morels are the easiest but very few to find in my area, I can presume someones already beat me to them, glad my kids hate mushrooms.

Same here people beat me to the morels all the time here.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 5.45% upvote from us for your 665 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 29% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

You’ve been visited by @nateonsteemit on behalf of Natural Medicine!

That looks so good! I love your use of multiple food sources!

Did you know that Natural Medicine now has it's own token, rewarding natural healing and health wisdoms? You can check out our front end, www.naturalmedicine.io! If you've been involved in our community over the last year, check your wallets for tokens and stake them on Steem Engine to start curating with Lotuscoin!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Discord green_heart Delegate Here

I find only L. gemmatum (also known as L. perlatum) hereabouts. Very afflicted with size envy atm...

Thanks!

Yeah this is inevif the bigger good specimens i've found. I've seen a few almost twice this size but they were already sporing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66899.66
ETH 3464.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80