Is it Worth it? Bohemian Rhapsody

in #movies6 years ago

Is Bohemian Rhapsody worth spending your hard earned money to see in the theater? Yes, yes it is. This movie was great. The casting was perfect, the story was fun and engaging, and by the end you really care about the four guys that founded one of the greatest rock bands of all time. You should see this movie as soon as possible.

 The reason  I wanted to get this out there is I've been seeing a lot of the usual suspects( movie critics) saying that the movie is boring, inaccurate, and a dishonor to the legacy of Freddie Mercury. Let's go over these criticisms point by point. First off " It's boring, it's like reading the Queen Wikipedia page". Now, I don't know about you, but when I watch a movie that's intended to tell a story about a person or group, I would like to have some information about them. Do many of the events in the movie appear on the Wikipedia page for Queen? Yes because it's a movie about Queen! How exactly is showing the events in a dramatic, funny, and emotionally impactful way negated by the fact that you could get the information somewhere else? For instance what if I said, "Man that Omaha beach scene at the beginning of Saving Private Ryan is really boring, it's like reading a book about D-Day". Doesn't make much sense does it? Bohemian Rhapsody is far from boring, in fact it felt shorter to me at 2 hours and 15 minutes than Halloween(2018) felt at 1 hour and 44 minutes. If there was really one criticism I never expected to be leveled at this movie it was this one.

 Next we have inaccuracies. Do all movies take licenses with events to make them more dramatic? Of course they do. However all surviving members of Queen were involved ( Brian May and  Roger Taylor heavily so) so events that were compressed or blended together were mostly likely done with their consent. As far as Mercury's life goes, I couldn't find any major differences in his movie portrayal and his biography. This one kind of blends into the last criticism that it somehow dishonors Freddie's legacy As far a representation of his legacy I would be proud to be associated with this film, and while it does show him breaking up the band to go solo, and doing drugs, and throwing extravagant parties it's because he did all of those things. How can you criticize a movie on one hand for inaccuracies and on the other for showing too much truth?

 I think that this movie will go down as a great music movie, maybe even one of the best, and I know it will make a whole new generation crazy for Queen. As far as a legacy goes, that doesn't sound too bad to me. Thanks for reading, now go see this movie!

 

Sort:  

Nice review, I'll definitely be watching this film now! I know it's not as good of an experience but I like to watch films from the comfort of my bed! 🛌

I have been hearing mixed things. I know some reviewers were saying that it was marketed deceptively but I haven't seen it so I can't speak to that. I am not super into biopics though but I might check it out when it hits HBO or something.

You just got a @topnails upvote!
For you to say, it will never be too old to have a new goal or to dream a new dream.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

Congratulations @darthnihilus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!
Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You just planted 0.12 tree(s)!


Thanks to @darthnihilus

We have planted already 6123.85 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 26110.05
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @darthnihilus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @darthnihilus! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62835.39
ETH 3401.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39