Paddington 2 - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago

image.png

Today's free movie, courtesy of Moviepass, is Paddington 2. I enjoyed the first feature length Paddington movie, which premiered in 2014. It was a solid movie, but had room for improvement. I am always concerned about sequels, which often only capitalize off the success of a previous film. In this case, the sequel found that room for improvement from the first film and delivered. The sequel is a better film all the way around.

image.png

Paddington 2 picks up with some additional backstory. In the first film, we learn a bit about how Paddington ended up traveling halfway around the world to land in London. The sequels starts a bit earlier, showing us how Paddington (Ben Whishaw) came into the care of "Aunt Lucy" (Imelda Staunton) to begin with. Aunt Lucy, its seems, is about to celebrate her 100th birthday. Paddington wants to send her a gift that will make up for her never having been able to visit London. He finds that gift in Mr. Gruber's (Jim Broadbent) antique store. A pop-up book of London that has pop ups of a dozen famous London landmarks.

Paddington takes up some odd jobs to pay for the book. When the book is stolen from the shop, Paddington is framed for the theft. His family, Mary (Sally Hawkins), Henry (Hugh Bonneville), Judy (Madeleine Harris) and Jonathan (Samuel Joslin) set out to clear his name by piecing together clues. Meanwhile, Paddington is sent to the big house, where he teams up with a ragtag group of convicts that includes the time-hardened Nuckels (Brendan Gleeson). Will Paddington serve his ten-year sentence? Will his aunt get her 100th birthday gift? And why is the pop up book so important? To answer these questions, you have to watch the film!

image.png

Director Paul King is back at director for the sequel. He co-wrote the screenplay with Simon Farnaby, who also worked on the first film. The plot in the sequel had substance. It was an interesting tale (tail?) augmented by an amazing use of media. The film utilizes fantasy sequences that incorporates several different types of media. The effect is seamless, creating an exceptional, engaging illusion. The characters are interesting, although many are there as role-players. The film is predictable in many ways, as well. But the great pacing, intriguing action sequences and zany antics gave this film enough umph to exceed it's predecessor.

image.png

Paddington 2 starts out with an award winning cast. What might ordinarily be average characters becomes enhanced when you cast guys like Jim Broadbent in the minor role of Mr. Gruber. Or Hugh Grant as Phoenix Buchanan. Or Brendan Gleeson as Nuckels. Throw in Sally Hawkins and you have a handful of Oscars and Oscar nominations. The film is bursting with talent. The roles were well cast, intentionally leaning toward comical characters to support this fun trip. It is two hours of getting carried away with good old fashioned fun. The people actors did an exceptional job of interacting with the animation, as well.

image.png

The MPAA gave Paddington 2 a kid-friendly PG rating. The film runs 1 hour and 43 minutes, which seemed just about right. I was never bored. The pacing was steady, with nice action sequences scattered throughout. The film has the typical kid-oriented laugh lines and visual humor. Things like a bear washing a window with his behind. Overall, about as tame as you are going to find at the theater. More tame than the average evening television program. Good fun for the entire family.

image.png

Paddington 2 gets a recommendation. The question is: "Should I see it at the theater?" Why not? If you are planning to visit the theater anyway, this is one of the best films on screen right now. It is an excellent film. If you have kids, they are bound to be delighted by this film. My wife and I, long removed from childhood, although young-at-heart, loved this movie. While a bit predictable and a few flat characters, the film is crazy fun. It has an interesting plot, great pacing, awesome animation, great use of multi-media styles and a lovable cast. Definitely recommended. 8/10.

Sort:  

Plus what a fun review :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #17 (1/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

good review, I also have concerns about sequals usually.

Im deffinently gonna watch this with my kids, they very much liked the first one.

So glad you liked the second movie... I don't know why I hated the first one, but luckily I read a review about the second one being quite good so we went to see it!

Yeah. I recall that the first one seemed to leave a lot of opportunity on the table. Glad you got to see it. I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did!

This sounds like a cute movie. I was looking at the STEEM Engine last night and saw this one. My kids were sitting there and they were really interested in it. I wonder if we can find it on Netflix. They liked Paddington, so it sounds like they would really like this one! Thanks for sharing the review.

Paddington 2 was just released in theaters. I would imagine it will be a couple of weeks before you can pay to stream it. It will likely be free on one of the streaming services by late summer I would imagine.

Yeah, I'm insane. I read it wrong. I thought you said it came out in 2014 and then I reread at the end and saw that was Paddington original. They would probably have it in our theaters, but I'm assuming they would all be in Spanish. We aren't to that point yet (paying to watch a movie in Spanish). ;) So hopefully we'll catch it in English when it comes to Netflix. :)

Great review, I enjoyed reading about the film, and also your thoughts about it. I haven't seen the first one. but I understand your concerns about sequels. Glad to hear that they got it right this time and actually improved upon the earlier film.

Very well done. I think, even though I'm grown, I'm goin' to have to watch this flick. My girlfriend was just talking about movie reviews on here, cool! Thank you for sharing.

OK, so being as I'm from England, Paddington is an absolute favorite of mine. I loved the books by Michael Bond, then the British TV shows and now the movies. Thank you for writing such an informative review... I think I'll go and have a marmalade sandwich now :)

Marmalade. Well played. When my daughter was little, she had the books as well as a paddington bedroom.

@coldsteem

My two teens rolled their eyes at even the mention of it. 😞 I guess I’ll habe to watch it when it comes out on dvd.

@jeejee

Lol. Nice. Typical teens. They wouldn't want to admit they actually liked it, I bet. If you ever got them to actually watch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84