Boulders and Mountains of Cascadia

in #mountainmonday6 years ago (edited)

Today I have some photos for #bouldersunday by @shasta and for #mountainmonday, hosted by me, @keithboone.

This is your invitation to share anything you like about mountains - Tag your post #mountainmonday and drop me a link in the comments below and I will do my best to upvote and resteem your post.

kwj5ulvt1p.jpg

Above: Mount Baker, Washington, 75 miles east of Victoria, BC. This photo was taken just after sunset from Mt. Tolmie. Mt. Tolmie is not a real mountain, not like Baker I mean. Tolmie is just a hill with a parking lot at the top - but it's a great place to photograph the sunset.

uz2c70zws6.jpg

A long exposure photo of some boulders just offshore, and the Olympic Mountains on the horizon. This was a 30 second long exposure - just an experiment. I think it's kind of cool that during that time the seagulls barely moved.

ji4165xcq7.jpg

One more boulder for @shasta, and some more mountains on the horizon, covered in clouds.

wapds9pjrv.jpg]

Good night from Vic. Remember to click for a full screen view. Have a great Monday my friends!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

wow sir Keith...stunning photos!

Thanks very much, @janton!

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Beautiful Sunday, Sublime With A Touch Of Color And Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

What a wonderful view, such a beautiful sunset mountain!
Mt. Tolmie looks like a great go to spot to see mountains
and boulders oh my! :-)
Thank you so much for these awesome boulders
🗻 @keithboone!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

You call those marvellous, majestic mountains, 'Boulders' Keith? Hmmmmmm, I think I will go to the store, buy a plastic spade, head to the beach and build myself a huge mountain of sand, cover it with icing sugar, take a photo and enter it into your mountain monday challenge and see what sort of comments I get. (lol)

You can attempt to minimise your mountains all you like my friend, but they will all look magnificent to me. Your photos never disappoint. Wonderful images as usual.

No, I'm doing a combo boulder/mountain thing. It's all a matter of scale in any case :) #bouldersunday is by @shasta, and #mountainmonday by me. One day me and Cathy will get on one these Alaska cruise ships and go up the coast to visit, taking photos of boulders and mountains all along the way... maybe get a whale sighting or two along the way :)

Thanks so much, Trudee! Wishing you a great week ahead! :)

DSC_9561-.jpg

Oh......thank you for reminding me abut Shasta's boulder challenge. Boulders I can do! But I need to be a magician to produce anything that resembles a mountain near me unless I get in the car an go look for one.

I really hope you and Cathy can go on an Alaskan Cruise. My sister has done one and apparently it was truly awesome. I can just imagine the beautiful photos you'd take to bring back and share with us here.

I hope you have a wonderful week too my friend. Thanks very much! (U & R)

The mountains are amazing as always. A good day!

Thanks so much! Have a great week :)

Keith your mountain view is just stunning, I can only imagine how beautiful it was to see the sun setting over such a splended place.

Thanks so much, @sunscape, glad you liked the photos ;) Have a great Monday!

Oh, no!! We don't want to get into what is a mountain and not, do we?

I like the subtle lighting on Mount Baker in the first shot and the boulder shots are awesome. We don't have that kind of landscape in the water around here, but, I do admire it.

I truly love the shot you use to close out the post. Wonderful shots. Keith! @keithboone Thanks for sharing your work with us.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks so much @dswigle! The difference between the boulders and mountains is merely a matter of perspective. If the sea level were to drop we would discover that all of Vancouver Island is just a little plateau on the slopes of Cascade mountain chain.

That final shot is from a strange angle with a long lens that really distorts perspective. The distance from the lit-up dome on the left to the cranes on the right is several miles - and the ocean cuts across the scene twice between those two points, but it's completely invisible. Those cranes are on the navy base... there's an ocean there!

Thanks again for all your support, Denise :)

Wow. Perspective is everything, isn't it?

Always a pleasure, Keith.

Well, I finally got around to posting today! It won't let me vote again, but it will let me throw another !tip down!

Here is my link: https://steemit.com/monochromemonday/@dswigle/mountain-monday-goes-monochrome

Awesome, I really appreciate it, thank you for sharing! I loved your post, beautiful mountains!

Thanks, Keith @keithboone I have so few mountain shots! I am going to have to start telling stories about them! ;)

Absolutely, that would be very cool :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48