Billy's Peak California

in #mountainmonday6 years ago

iovoccae2018nov5th74billyspeak7io.jpg

Near the town of Coffee Creek along hwy 3
pulled off on East Side road to take this photo.
Looking to the north west on June 2nd 2013.

Beautiful country up in the Trinity Alps

Can you see the hwy sign?

Mondays are sweet with
#mountainmonday by @keithboone
Thank you for making this day grand!

° ° °
This post & photo by @iovoccae
November 5th 2018
Camera Pentax WG-1

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=iovoccae
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=billy-s-peak-california


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That's awesome, thanks for entering #mountainmonday. I think I've been there, or at least somewhere very close... maybe you'll know the road I mean... There is a road that goes from Yreka to the coast, coming out somewhere near the Redwood Forest. It crosses Klamath Nat'l Forest. I've been there twice and there was kind of a fork in the road, a rest stop... Anyway, if you stayed right everything was cool, lovely drive. I think it's super popular for motorcycle touring. On the other hand, if you follow the GPS like I did and turn left near that rest stop it takes you 150 miles over the scariest road I have ever seen in my life! Narrow, twisty, sheer cliffs and no guard rails. I remember passing a snowplow at one point that was clearing fallen rocks off the road... Sure wish I could remember the name of that road, I still have nightmares!

Love your photo, thanks for sharing. resteemed! :)

Thanks so much @keithboone! Would that be hwy 96 to
Happy Camp? or Scott bar to Fort Jones, any of those
names ring a bell? A very fun road south of there
is hwy 36 west is real nice windy in spots, great for
motor bikes and even big trucks lol
Lots of beautiful and fun roads in northern California.
Sounds like a exciting road you were on, I like those kind :-)
Very much appreciate the resteem, thank you!

I think 96 might be the good road that I turned off to get on that smaller road. I remember miles and miles of crazy switchbacks and cliff-hangers and I came down into a flat valley and there was a bar there. I went in for a coffee and asked if that was the end of the mountains and they said no, I had another 100 miles to go. It was almost full dark when I came out to the coast on a single lane road through the redwoods and came that close to hitting a nice size buck that leaped through my headlights crossing the road. It seems to me I hit the coast somewhere north of Eureka. It was raining through much of this and I was driving solo in a Dodge minivan and scared to death in places! Good times... :)

Can imagine the look on your face when
they said ''another 100 miles to go!''
Oh my goodness those deer, have had many a close call.
Somes Bar to Weitchpec then a road called
Bald Hills road looks like it has some major
switchbacks! GMap view.
Comes out in a town called Orick, north of Eureka.
I wonder if this could be your road? :-)

That is a lovely view! Now I'm wondering who Billy was!

Thank you @melinda010100
I wonder also, will have to check around
see if I can find something about it.
There must be some info, names don't come
lightly, always some meaning, story :-)

Let me know if you find out!

Congratulations @iovoccae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @iovoccae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @iovoccae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @iovoccae! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71