Travels With Connie #18 Moab, Utah

in #motorcycle7 years ago

Sometimes I know exactly where I am going. In that case it’s easy, pick a route and go.

More often I have an idea where I’d like to end up, and generally speaking a direction to go.

Once in a while I just follow the front wheel and see where it takes me.



Camping at Moab

Moab is probably best known for motorsports, and the red rocks area where the extreme Jeep people play. It's close to as well known as a mountain biking capitol and Colorado River sports. It really is a Mecca for people that like outdoor sports. Lots of tourist activities, sometimes to the point of distraction. Galleries, specialty shops and Fly Fishing equipment shops abound.

Amid the hustle and bustle we found this beautiful little commerical campground that is the picture of peace and quiet. Shady, grassy, quiet, perfect.




Arches National Park and Canyonlands National Park almost extend into town. Capitol Reef National Park is near as are several National Monuments and recreation areas. It is no doubt one of the most senic areas that you can find.

We are going to travel the road less taken and see another side of the area. There is an ancient volcano and caldera that offers some spectacular roads and interesting viewing. And nobody goes there.



Heading to the Sky from Moab

You start right in town and immediately start climbing. It isn't long and the landscape turns green. It's like you've entered a different zone that has nothing to do with the desert.



The first view of the Caldera

It's a switch back, curvy, wonderful motorcycle road that finally rewards you with a peek at the Volcanic Caldera. Not far to go to get a really good look at the scope and scale of the place.



My Kind of Road

Almost there, we are running out of mountain. Another couple of corners and you see this:



View of the Caldera

From here, and only here, can you get a feel for the scope of the Caldera. It's over 30 miles across, the explosion must have been stunning. It's an incredible site, and here in Moab it is mostly forgotten amid all the other stunning things to see, I'm glad we went.

All words and photographs in this post are mine. For better or worse

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

I am a huge fan of the Minnow Support Project and Adsactly. Both have had an enormous impact on my success here at Steemit. You might want to check them out…


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

Wow your choice is so beautiful
Amazing place
I like this place
I wait you next blog
All the best

You are the full-time adventure. Thank you @bigtom13 for your travel blogs.

Thank you. I get near as much pleasure sharing them as having them.

nice post dear thanks for sharing such post...

Great travel story and nice photographs.

This was beautiful. Where I live, all we have adw thick forests and rivers. This is why I love the northern part of my country. The open spaces are breathtaking.

Thank you. I love the spaces too.

The pictures really gave me a feel for the place. Love the contrasting lushness and the sweeping mountainous views. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I'm glad you got a feel for the place, it's mostly know for rock and desert but that area is completely different.

I like post your

Seems like you are an adventurous person and love to explore the world :)
Those are amazing views of that wonderful place. Eye soothing, and bring positive health effet too :)

There is nothing I'd rather see than what is on the other side of the next hill. Thank you for the kind words.

Aside from being on a top of volcano, your trip looks like a fairytale. Just for the notice, I really really dislike volcanoes.

Ahahaha As a much younger man I spent quite a lot of time on Mt. Saint Helens. Before it became a smoking crater... The Moab caldera is ancient and considered dead.

The four corners area is just a fairytale area. Incredible.

Aside from being on a top of volcano, your trip looks like a fairytale. Just for the notice, I really really dislike volcanoes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43