"3 Lessons to Life's Challenges..." - Motivation Moment #25

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

One of my key challenges this year apart from business sustainability, is my focus on "how best" to influence, impact and input into my 3 children's life. It's been a difficult season for the family as I've been an in-and-out-father, (60% of my time in Malaysia and 40% of my time in Australia) since Dec 2016.

Through this season, I have learnt the value of TIME. Everyday, my children are growing up. Everyday they are faced with so much environmental push and pull factors -- that are both positive and negative. Everyday they are changing and becoming someone new (through the process of conditioning overtime).

But this is my challenge. As a Father, I have to face the music and not blame anyone or anything. I have made choices with my wife (and children included) and we have decided for a life such as this. I have to now just make the BEST of everything that comes my way.

a9ccd7cd1c4267a50c67ac0bd7180172_L.jpeg
Source

I don't know what challenges you are facing. But I'm sure they are real, and they are not easy to face alone.

Whatever it may be, all I know is that each of us need challenges in our life... to "shake-up our status quo".

3 Lessons to Life's Challenges

1. A Time for CHANGE
Challenges sometimes Show Up and Show Us, areas where we have refused to be flexible and perhaps areas that we could be lacking as well. So instead of just blaming how 'this or that' happened to you, sometimes it's about CHANGING our habits, attitudes, perspectives and overall outlook. For example, I have stopped blaming why my children behave in a certain way, and instead be conscious about my role modelling when I'm with them (there's a Rub Off Effect all the time!).

2. A Time for GROWTH
Challenges remind me that it's time to get out of my current shell and move into a BIGGER shell. We can't stay in the same spot and expect everything around us to accomodate to our needs. For example, I enjoy being served (a little) when I come home to Melbourne after working hard for weeks away in Kuala Lumpur, but I can't just expect that to happen all the time! At times, I must be the one to get involved in cooking, fetching the kids to their activities plus lead other house chores, as we GROW to exchange roles this new season (my wife has gone back to part-time employment!).

3. A Time for PRESSING ON
Challenges to me are like little barriers that come our way to motivate us to progress forward. There's a Kid's song that comes to mind... Can't Get Over It, Can't Get Under It, You've Gotta Get Through It. So true isn't it. Some seasons, we need to NOT GIVE UP so easily and go through it till the season ends! For example, my travels has left a vacuum of the Father's Love (Discipline, Care, Boundaries and Affirmation). At times, my poor wife has to play two roles with my children. And so, what I will make sure I do is two things before I leave;

  • Have personal One-On-One time with each of the Children,
  • RESET the Bar and Expectations at home,
  • Endeavour to Connect with them on a Frequent Basis to Check In on them (via Whatsapp or FaceTime).

A Much Longer POST today. But I hope my no-holds-barred sharing about my real challenges today has encouraged you to be able to FACE your Challenges Full-On.

Over to you.


Stay tuned for more "Motivation Moments"...

Mel @coachmelleow

MotivationMomentWithMel.jpg

Everyone needs a little push, a little encouragement, a little inspiration ~ every single day.

That's why I created Motivation Moments to help you move forward.

If you benefited from this post, please give it an Upvote or Resteem it...Thank you! 😊

Sharing is caring.

Get your Past Motivation Moments here...

Sort:  

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Great post. It doesn't seem like you are getting the likes it deserves though. Have you checked out the upvote communities? You should check out steemengine. or steemfollower.com.

Thank you, your article has given me a new impetus to be able to better face the ambiguity of life!
A newcomer from China @chineseman
谢谢,你的文章让我有了一股新的动力,能够更好的去面对生活的苟且!
一个来自中国的新手@chineseman

Hey @coachmelleow, loving your perspective in being such a responsible dad!

No blaming, no whining - just doing what you do best. Awesome!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68