Motherhood: The New Dream Job

in #motherhood7 years ago (edited)

So I don't know about you fellow Stay At Home Parents (SAHP) but on most days, amidst the chaos that is raising 2 children and a puppy, I find myself looking down at my clothes and can't help but think, "Thank God these aren't my good yoga pants!"

Source: www.redtricycle.com
Covered in snot, spit-up, mashed sweet potatoes, play dough and dog drool, I'm reminded how far I am from the once simpler and more stylish times of my life before children. Now I know that wiser and older parents (even my inner voice) will say "Oh enjoy it while you can" or "They grow so quickly" but when you're in the trenches of parenthood battling it out against a sassy 4 year old or cringing as your baby cluster nurses for the tenth time, the idea of having your old life back seems enticing.
Like a lot of STAHP, I had a relatively thriving career before kids. My days consisted of sleeping in till 10, a leisurely morning enjoying my coffee with my puppies, prepping lesson plans for work, putzing around, most likely a nap and then an hour getting ready before heading to my shift at 4. I got to dress up in mostly black, try out the new trends in beauty, interact with my coworkers who were also my friends and the most rewarding part, teaching. The teaching was the most fulfilling aspect of my life at the time. It used most of my natural, God given talents and I loved every minute of it. I mean how fun it was to listen to music, help my students develop their skills, and test my comedic abilities while giving lectures. With this role of leadership, I was also able to help mold them into professional, well spoken and responsible adults. It was my dream job.

Source: My Facebook account, me doing makeup for a work event
That being said, I'm also remembering the downsides too. Working for a large company that over worked and underpaid the instructors, putting time and energy into students who just couldn't seem to get out of their own way and the free time spent with family and friends I gave up working nights. There were times where I would meet STAHMs and think "Wow, that must be the life, staying home, being a homemaker and taking care of kids." Something I had always wanted growing up. Side note: before becoming an instructor, I was a full time nanny for a few great families and started babysitting when I was 12, taking care of kids just came natural to me.

Source: weknowmemes.com
Even though the reality of being a SAHM often looks like this meme, I know that motherhood, while sucking every ounce out of you, really is the most rewarding job. Cliche, but true. Sure, watching some 20 year old master the perfect roller set is great, but it doesn't touch the feeling of pride that comes from watching your own flesh and blood learn and grow every day and the realization that you had something to do with it!
So no matter how many times I end up covered in bodily fluids that aren't my own, watching the same kids movie for the 12th day in a row, eating bits of a pb and j off a Hello Kitty plate with a baby attached to me, I will remind myself that this, this is my dream job!

Source: Selfie taken with 4yo "gently" brushing my hair, while my son pinches
the softest part of my arm nursing!

Sort:  

Congratulations @momminainteasy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @momminainteasy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56747.23
ETH 3007.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19