Untold Truth of Motherhood

in #motherhood6 years ago (edited)

18 Years ago I had the task of bringing a mechanical baby home and caring for it, I requested to have the baby for a holiday week rather than the 2 required days for each child. I named the baby boy (don't ask me what his name was) and cared for him. To take care of the baby you had a key that was strapped on to your wrist, and when it cried you needed to place the key in the back and wait for it to stop. It had different cries, just like a real baby. I had to take him to work with me, and care for it during my work hours. The day I had to give him back, I cried, I was so sad to give it back. Everyone thought I was crazy, including the teacher. What 15 year old would WANT to care for a child?

Me.

I needed to have something in my life that was mine, that I could care for and show love to. Like I have said in a previous post, I didn't have a terrible childhood, I just needed words of affirmation and didn't get that at home. My dad never knew how to treat a lady, so I didn't get the treatment I was looking for from him...so I searched.

I went through boyfriend after boyfriend slowly dwindling down to what I KNEW I needed as a partner in my life. I was very smart and careful with my boyfriends..it wasn't like I was floozy. I just dated a bunch of guys.

A year later I was half way through my sophomore yr (10th grade) when I pinpointed on the man I knew would be the one who would complete my soul. At 16 young years, I knew exactly what my heart needed. DV and I began dating and a few months later knew we were perfect for each other, we dated for 3 months when we found out we were expecting our son, and married two months later. I FINALLY had it!! I was going to have the thing I had yearned for just a year previous, a baby of my own!

Fast forward 2 more months and we were devastated by the attack on US Soil. We knew at that point our dreams would take a different course. To read more head back to an old post of mine on this in more detail https://steemit.com/blog/@faitherz33/through-the-trodden-path

We had our handsome baby boy and I had all I had ever wanted in my arms and by my side.
I watched as Wes fell in love with our creation and my heart burst with joy, I was complete.
We were blessed with one Angel baby and a sweet baby girl to raise.

There is definitely no manual to raising kids, but I knew how I was raised and how my friends were raised and KNEW I didn't want to raise my kids either way I had seen. Rylan was an easy baby, he slept great, ate great, was funny, and just a happy kid all around. Addie was a bit more difficult, but she just loves comfort and having her back scratched, she always has. (Now we know her main love language is physical touch and quality time...which makes sense) Read "5 Love Languages" By Gary Chapman if you are curious about this profiling.

As Rylan got older, he was just the comic relief I needed as @derangedvisions was off protecting our country more often than not https://steemit.com/life/@derangedvisions/my-lifeline
Rylan was a daring goof ball that was always finding a laugh


18358856_10154383122396965_1231218513402369320_o.jpg
Picture taken by me after he had emptied out an entire giant bottle of baby powder


18301308_10154380621646965_1933611445134352083_n.jpg
as you can see he hasn't changed a bit, he exploded a can of spray paint by bashing it with a rock....

Addie was our ham from the get go, she was always looking for a smile and a laugh. She has continued this trend even into her teens :)


18403946_10154383067176965_1568746631008555498_o.jpg
the kids were getting ready to play in the sprinklers in the Texas heat


31277610_10155266560401965_1907508552268775424_o.jpg
Addie rocking her 13th Birthday this year


I cannot say I have all the pieces to raising kids, but one thing I know is Wes and I make a great team! Our kids have grown up into two of our very best friends and into quite incredible young adults! We have tried to be strict, but not too strict, and give them a line of trust...just enough so they know where we stand and how to NOT lose that trust.

The Untold Truth of Motherhood (really parenthood in general) Is this. It is HARD to raise kids, it is also the MOST rewarding thing a human can do. My heart is complete with each day they succeed and it breaks with every heart ache they receive. Our kids have shown us what it is to live unselfishly, to be who you are and THAT is ok! And most of all the unconditional love when you aren't at your very best. Being a mother is the greatest gift I could have ever wished for, I am so very grateful for the opportunity to be a mother to our two children, and have the opportunity to have carried our angel baby for a short time. I learned a lot of lessons with that baby as well.

I sit here writing while our Addie is painting my toes and rubbing my feet, blessed is the only way I can describe my life as a mom and wife!


14883483_10153859251456965_7267925875669056376_o.jpg


14890499_10153859251696965_4447012810125773257_o.jpg


14939457_10153859250531965_3138829563389791826_o.jpg


@derangedvisions, thank you for helping me create my dreams! I cannot wait to see what more we can do and create in the coming years! I love you!!

PS ALL pictures are taken by me or by DV

PPS THANK YOU for reading this very long post :) I love appreciate each one of you who supports my blogging journey!!

Sort:  

What a fascinating and beautiful story! You have lovely children and thank you for being so transparent with your life. I enjoyed reading this article and I totally relate. I cannot say that I had a bad upbringing, but I certainly make sure to change some things in my parenting. I love my children deeply and make sure to develop a lasting relationship, too.

Kids are the best! Being transparent is the best way to heal through life's ups and downs!! Thank you for taking time to read my post!

Happy mothers day to you! ~ a bit late... sorry :p

Having kids is the best reward life could give! Doing the best we can in the world we live, having our little ones give us a smile, a hug and saying I love you at the end of the day, makes me feel like I am doing it right.
I hope you and the family had a great weekend :)

Thank you so much!! I hope you had a great mother's day as well! It takes a whole village to raise children, I am thankful I have found a village that can help lift me up through all our trials! Have a great day!

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66