Brown Pelican - Animals Thursday - Monomad

in #monomad6 years ago

pelican5_BW_Final.jpg

This is my entry for the Monomad Animal Thursday Challenge.

Every year that we go to the Outer Banks, there is always a 'theme'. This year was undoubtedly 'the pelicans'! It was an amazing sight to see them gliding so gracefully and effortlessly across the sky. I was actually 'obsessing' on them - determined to get that 'perfect' shot or see them up close. I had my kids on pelican watch to alert me when they were flying by.

When we were on a guided tour of the wild horses, I heard the guide (under his breath) say the pelicans congregate a mile or two down the road. Bah ha ha! It was a little trek but this was the sweet spot. I was absolutely mesmerized and could have stayed there for an eternity watching them. Such interesting birds.

Category(ANIMALS THURSDAY)
Camera(Nikon P900)
Location(Corolla, NC)
Sort:  

Great photo! The pelican has always been a favorite bird of mine. Only rivaled by the tucan when it comes to beaks.

Thank you, @abitcoinskeptic Yes, I suppose the pelican and toucan have a similar energy to them - funny little guys! I also like the puffins :) One of my favorites.

Your determination has paid off.... Great shot !!!

It sure did! Thank you, @lastravage

What a cool image, I have never seen a brown pelican, he has magnificent colourings.

You are going to love the other photos I took of the pelicans and other sea birds. They were all sitting on these pylons together - the sea bird social spot! I could have stayed there forever watching them. The hardest part will be deciding which photos get shared because they're all interesting. I really lucked out finding the spot.

@youhavewings did you share them in another post? if so what's the link and I would love to check them out :)

No, not yet. I have at least a hundred photos to go through and hundreds more from other parts of the trip. I'll probably share on another 'animal' photography day. I'll let you know when I post it - we're also finishing up with the kids' art camp this week - JUST FINISHED. I'll have more time to share next week.

I think you will really enjoy them though....they are truly interesting and different - each one. And there are some strange sea birds that have their eyes on their beak - I had to look them up. They are very cool. I wish I would have taken video of them! Maybe next year.

@youhavewings It gets a bit like that, I have so many images sometimes I find it hard to filter through to find the ones I want to post with.

You actually saw the beak eye birds? I will now need to look these up too as they sound super cool! Feel free to tag me when you do get the post up and happening and then gina will let me now so I don't miss it :)

It's called a Double-crested Cormorant - really unusual looking

https://search.macaulaylibrary.org/catalog?taxonCode=doccor&mediaType=Photo&sort=rating_desc

I will definitely tag you :)

@youhavewings Super cool bird, thanks for the DM and the images you caught some great ones :)

It's really nice bird. ☺

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

wow, great edit of this photo... The looks in his eyes are if he wanted to say 'Hey, leave me will you' lol... great job..

Thank you, @verhp11 and could be what he was thinking.

Congratulations @youhavewings! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well caught! I love to watch them too. It used to be really easy to photograph them on the fishing pier near my home, but then it was forbidden for the fishermen to feed them scraps. Now we don't see them hanging around like they used to. It's probably better that they find their own food, but I miss that guaranteed up close and personal shots I used to get!

Thank you :)

Oh, what a shame that they left. They seem to be very sweet birds.

I must have got a hundred shots of these birds (and other sea birds). It's going to be hard to pick just a few to share ;) I just fell in love with them.

Maybe you'll find another spot to photograph them. I hope so!

Oh, they haven't left. They fly in formation all the time over the beach and they dive for their own fish! They just don't sit on the pier waiting to be fed anymore!

Awwww I do love to watch them fly, too. Amazing how graceful they are. I found it difficult to get a clear shot of them in flight.

Yes, they are great to watch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54733.25
ETH 2475.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15