Monomad Silhouette of Sydney Opera House

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

The Sydney Opera House is not only one of the world's best known architectural landmarks, but also a direct neighbor to the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge which you can see rising behind the opera house in the photo below.

When plans were made to build the opera house, in 1957 the government ran a design competition which was won by the Danish architect Jørn Utzon. However, since the costs of the project skyrocketed, the government refused to pay the architect. Jørn Utzon left Australia and has never returned to see his most famous project completed.

01-jpp-20160805.jpg
40mm, f9, 1/1000; Click on image to enlarge

Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

Hi @jpphotography...ahhh your posts are so stunning! I have decided to reach out to those I follow to just send a heartfelt follow up. You make it easy with your beautiful pictures and posts...as always! Thank you again for your time and great work! You do such an awesome job!

Thank you so much for your comment, this makes it easy to keep me motivated to post on Steemit!

You should stay motivated...you have great posts!

That's a great composition! I didn't realise you could take a picture of the Opera House and the Bridge at the same time. Do you need a camera (rather than a phone to do that)? I wonder if I have the bridge in mine too and didn't notice. Obviously, not as distinctive as yours. I wouldn't have missed that! 😁

I think it has nothing to do with the camera :D

Interesting. I'll have to take a closer look at my photos! 😊

Love the Opera House, went to a concert insight and been to Sydney 3times, like the Rocks area

Wow, I bet the concert was an amazing experience! I missed this oportunity, but I have only been to Sydney once and might return one day.

Two landmarks with only one shot!

Exactly :D Thanks for your comment!

Great shot, I like that you’ve tried to find a more unique angle on such an iconic location!

Exactly, I find taking the same standard shots as thousands of people before me kind of pointless. Thanks for your comment!

You're welcome! Absolutely, it just seems like you're diluting the photography talent pool if you do the same as everyone else! I'd rather make something shit but at least try to make something different than just come away with average shots every time!

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 20:42:17
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2083.81/3200.00
Total Photos: 88
Total comments: 56
Total contest wins: 39
And have also received a 2.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=monomad-silhouette-of-sydney-opera-house


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60740.76
ETH 3388.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52