Las Lajas Sanctuary, Colombia

When I crossed the border from Ecuador into Colombia it was already late in the day, so I decided to stay in the town of Ipiales on the Colombian side of the border. Close to Ipiales, there is an impressive sight: The Las Lajas Sanctuary, a basilica built inside a canyon as a bridge. It certainly is one of the most impressive churches in Latin America.

While some people claim that a clever local priest wanted to attract pilgrims to Ipiales, many believe in a local legend according to which Virgin Mary appeared to a mother and her daughter while they were hiding in a cave at the place where the sanctuary is standing now. On sight of a picture of Virgin Mary painted into the cave, the deaf-mute girl gained the ability to talk.

01-jpp-20151130.jpg
24mm, f7.1, 1/200; Click on image to enlarge

Nowadays, tourists who want to have Virgin Mary appearing to them or think of founding their own sanctuary can buy this teacup that projects an image of Virgin Mary into the steam.

01-jpp-20151130-2.jpg
Click on image to enlarge

Camera Gear

The camera I used for these photos is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.

Check out my Recent Posts

By the time you read this, this post or some of the posts below may be older than 7 days so you can not vote for them anymore. If you want to support me, please consider voting on one my recent photo posts!

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

All my photos are @originalworks. I am just getting started on Steemit and have many more great photos to offer, so if you like my content please follow, upvote and resteem. All my photos are also available for licensing, please contact me through my Website or Steemit chat @jpphotography.

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

Sort:  

Wooow! I wrote an article about this church! It looks so unearthly beautiful! :) Its official Julian, YOU HAVE BEEN EVERYWHERE :D

Yes, Im thinking about same thing, but I know one place that you have never been - SLOVAKIA ;) :D

That's actually true! Except for the Czech Republic and Poland, I haven't been to Eastern Europe at all, but when I go, Slovakia will be on my itinerary!

Haha, btw, I have been to Yucatan as well! I think I never told you the story of how I ended there. I had booked a flight to Cancún because it was the cheapest 6-day stopover on way from Colombia to Cuba and I only figured out that Cancún was in Yucatan a few days before my flight! :D It must be a fantastic place to live in for some months!

I have some question looking at first picture . Did you go inside? Is the main entrance from the bridge isn't it ? the other side (or other bank) is there another entrance from another road? I agree with you it's impressive as well as the cup with hot liquid show the image of the Virgin.

I did go inside, the inside is less spectacular than the outside though! If I remember correctly, only the main entrance was opened when I visited; if you look closely you will see a staircase leading from the road to the "bridge".

Fair enough Thanks for your response!

But that's...that's crazy! Never seen anything like that before.

Not the most obious place to build a basilica I guess :D

What an amazing building. It's stunning! Great photo too.

Did you go inside it?

I did, but it is actually most spectacular from the outside!

What a beautiful basilica! It somehow reminds me a lot of Hogwarts from the Harry Potter series.

I see what you mean, there certainly are some similarities! Thanks for your comment!

Great photo traveling to this place has been on my bucket list for the longest time. Thanks for sharing your pictures are amazing.

Thank you! Colombia is a beautiful country!

This place looks like in a video game!
Amazing shot!

Thank you! You are right, I can picture it in some video game!

lovely photo, I have to visit this place one day, looks really interesting

Thanks! Really a beautiful place and Colombia is an amazing country to visit!

thats great!!! magestuoso!!!

Siempre a tu orden, espero este año poder visitar a Colombia está en mi to do list jejeje

Colombia está un país hermoso, me encanta mucho!

Asi es soy travelholic y Colombia está en mi lista jejeje

Wow! Spectacular! I would have never imagined it is Bolivia! And the scenery, the greenery! Fascinating place, I would love to visit one day! 😍

This is actually Colombia, not in Bolivia :p But the scenery is really amazing and the basilica is such a fascinating place to visit!

Hahaha, sorry, somehow I missed that one! I assumed those articles were all about the Bolivia in the "La Paz, Bolivia: The City that Found a Solution to Traffic Jams" post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43