Living on nothing but Steem, Day 1: The Beginning

in #money8 years ago (edited)

(FIRST STEEM PIZZA! https://steemit.com/money/@ma3/the-first-pizza-payed-for-by-steem-livingoffnothingbutsteem)

I awoke to find sunshine piercing through my windows, it was a day just like any other day really, except..it wasn't.

Today was the day I started my 30 day Steem challenge!

(That's me btw!)

In case you didn't get a chance to view my post yesterday. I've decided to live of Steem currency ALONE for the next 30 days, what does this mean exactly?

  1. I won't be using any physical/electronic money for transactions except, only Steem.
  2. I will be posting daily blogs about my progress.
  3. If I fail...I will get the Steem logo tattooed on my arm! 100% serious here. so um, let's make sure that doesn't happen?

Now with that out of the way...onto my day.

I woke up, brushed my teeth and cleaned my face. I passed the kitchen on the way, it will be tough having so much non-steem food around me, luckily I have a few friends on here IRL who will be keeping me inline!

Whilst I was at the gym, I had a genius realization!

I'm going to have to make promoting Steem, my 9 - 5 job, I'm going to draft some colored pamphlets and book a space outside the local mall handing them out, hopefully i'll find atleast a few new people who will sell me stuff for Steem. (If anyone has any ideas, or experience in advertising I wouldn't say no to some advice on that :P)

Now i'ma be honest, I'm hoping this picks up a bit of traction, i'd be a shame if I ended up having to get the tattoo and no one was around to laugh at me :(

Anyway guys, i'll be updating this throughout the day!, i'm going to need a pizza later...so if anyone in New Zealand can help me out i'll send you some Steem!

Cheers guys and hope you enjoy

Update 1: This took off faster then I expected, i'm off to try and find a place to get some pamphlets printed, i'll check back in an hour or two!

Update 2: I've found a place that can make our Steemit pamphlets! It can be hard to find places like this in my country, but after a little bit of wandering I found one hidden in the back streets.

I'm doubting we can convince them to accept Steem on email alone, and i'm a bit worried to put their email out in case trolls harass them. So what if I got the quote, and I pay someone in Steem to purchase it?

Also in other news! I found my first Steem meal, not far from home either.

Brought it off my little brother as he walked through the door, 6 Steem sounds like he got a good bargain eh?
I'm transferring my Steem from Bittrex to Steemit as we speak, let's hope tomorrow goes just as well!

Thanks for staying tuned :P

Sort:  

This website let you buy gift cards with bitcoin it might come in handy. I have used it and it worked. https://app.gyft.com

Awsome!, i'd probably be able to pay someone in Steem to order me something from there, thanks man!

in-fact there is an option to gift the card via email bar-code so they could defiantly do that.

Dont forget me when your a whale...

Yep. NO WAY he doesn't become a whale after this 30 day challenge.

I don't know about that, have you seen the size of some of those whales wallets? :P

But steem isnt bitcoin, so would that be cheating?

Yeah, that's why someone will buy the gift cards, then i'll buy it off them for whatever the best offer in Steem is :)

Use Steem Dollars, it might work better for you.

This is some serious dedication! people like you are what is going to make steemit it big!

Thanks man :) I have so much passion for this project i'm willing to do almost anything to spread it to others!

Good luck! Keep us updated! 😄

Will do, first one coming soon!

Good luck with the project !! can't wait to read the updates

Thanks Ydm!, just done a small one now!

SICK challenge! Love it. I will be following up!

Thanks man, first update coming in a few minutes!

Bold! I'm excited to hear your updates.

Thanks, i'll try find new ways to integrate Steem into everyday life when I can, and like I promised when I can't continue anymore i'll be getting the Steem logo tattooed ;)

Fun times ahead no matter what lol.

Haha thanks, tbh they are hella old, who knows maybe I can buy some new shoes with steem? ;)

I'm right there with ya!

Just did this like 10 minutes ago at the store :D

I just grab any business card on the counter and write the link on the back but I wondered if we could just go down to Staples and print us off some Steemit business cards :/

That's the plan, i'm hoping to find a place which can print some nice pamphlets.

Once I find them, us lot may need to email them a few times so they know my offer of "steem" means something xD

I've even told some of the bigger people I'm subscribed to on Youtube I would send them Steem Dollars if they would just sign up and send me their Username :/

I also have emailed some big youtubers rofl.

lol well I guess I'm gonna start my own will you check it out please and let me know what you think.. I've never done Vlogs :/

https://steemit.com/new/@stealthtrader/steemit-vlog-2

Hell I use to door to door sell.. Let's just all print up doorhangers :D

Hmm, that's not a bad idea tbh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.45
ETH 3566.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11